We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garni Muralto
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was a great hotel. Beautiful and spacious room, well designed and decorated.

The location is great, within short walking distance to town. They had parking facilities (about 12 euro) but you really don't need a car.

The breakfast was excellent - the home made jams are to die for!

The staff were very friendly and informative. All in all a great hotel, and excellent value for the price.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leyla774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    87
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
92
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Clean, friendly, simple, priced right in good location.

RECOMMEND- Get a junior suite on the 5th floor. These rooms feature a generous sized balcony with sun chairs, chairs and small table. AMAZING views!

PROS-
1. Walking distance to everything, no car needed.
2. Rooms are simple, modern, clean and very comfy beds.
3. Breakfast is nice- breads, meats, cereals, yogurt etc...
4. Wifi- Ask front desk for code. 5fr. Flat charge for unlimited use.
5. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

CONS
1. The only con affects those who are severely out of shape or those who have a physical disability involving feet/ legs. The location of this hotel is excellent. However, to access Piazza Grande and all shops/ restaurants, a walk down a somewhat steep hill is necessary. The hotel is situated on a street which sits on an upper level of the town. For those who are in reasonable shape, this should not be a problem.

FROM TRAIN STATION- 4 Min. Walk. Exit station and walk towards the FM Bar/ Pizza restaurant. This is via Sempione. Make left on via Sempione- road will go towards a residential area-uphill. Make first right onto via Gian Battista Pioda. Go up the hill. You will see the hotel from the top of the street.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbischof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

one night trip and I will definitely come back there, I called directly the hotel to get a lake view room and they still offer us the internet rates and the room was amazing.

very clean, spacious and stunning view, air conditing not very efficient but not so important and we will recommend it to friends and family and we are alreday planning to come back next summer !!

friendly staff aswell.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonyme37_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I spent a single night at this hotel and I was quite satisfied. I had already been reccomended by a friend of mine who had already been there.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location, despite not being right at the centre of Locarno, is quite convenient and very close to the lake. The rooms are simple but quite modern and very clean and fully equipped with large terraces. There are some free Parking places right in front of the hotel, but not many. Very complete breakfast.

The only "bad" thing I could say is that, appart from the lack of much parking space, it is a bit noisy since it is facing one main avenue, but the rooms are well soundproof.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed for one night during the Moon & Stars Festival and it was ideal for us. The rooms are modern, we had a nice balcony, it's a 5min walk to the train station, 5min to the lake and city centre. Not much serive and unfortunatly the internet isn't free but otherwise we were very satisfied. The breakfast buffet is ok. Not a huge variety but enough to not be hungry anymore.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crashburny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great location, short walking distance from the train station and nice view over the lake.
Very nice hotel, and reasonable prices. Will go there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiarina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed in this hotel for nine nights, and were totally satisfied with the room and facilities provided. I booked direct with the hotel, and was offered a 10% discount due to the length of stay. At the time of booking I requested a room with a lake view if possible, and was not disappointed. Our fourth floor room had a large balcony with a superb view of the lake and mountains. It was spacious with comfortable twin beds, and was spotlessly clean. The reception staff were all very helpful, and there was a pleasant laid back atmosphere generally in the hotel. It will certainly get a return visit when we visit Locarno again, as the town is a great base for a holiday whatever your interests.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guineapigs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 28 in Locarno
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.3 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Muralto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Muralto

Property: Hotel Garni Muralto
Address: via Sempione 10, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Muralto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garni Muralto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing