We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is a gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garni Muralto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni Muralto
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This hotel is a gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I was nervous about booking this hotel because it only had three stars and was not extensively reviewed. It turned out to be better than three of the four-star hotels we stayed in. We booked a suite and were pleasantly surprised that it was newly and beautifully furnished. It had tons of storage space, air conditioning and an awesome, furnished outdoor balcony overlooking Lago Maggiore. The room was impeccably clean and the bathroom was wonderful. Location was also great...just two blocks from train station. The only downside is that the beds are platforms with a mattress...no box spring makes for a hard bed. At least the bedding was cushy and comfortable, however. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again myself! Hotel offers a decent continental breakfast for free. It doesn't have a full serice restaurant, a concierge or porter service, but if you can live without those amenities, this is a terrific hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sconner28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    83
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
83
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

To keep it short: The hotel appears very fresh and trendy - from the interior and the exterior. We had a room on the fifth floor which was a little bit more exspensive but the panoramic view was well worth the extra money. TVs could have been chosen a bit bigger - but who comes to Ticino for watching TV anyhow. The Receptionists were not only very friendly and helpful but very pretty and charming, too. Breakfast buffet was a okay-standard. Nothing fancy but just what you need to start well into the new day. Summa summarum - I wouldn't hesitate to chose the Hotel Garni Muralto again for my next trip to Switzerland's exciting south.

Room Tip: Get a fantastic viwe from the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FindingRemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was a great hotel. Beautiful and spacious room, well designed and decorated.

The location is great, within short walking distance to town. They had parking facilities (about 12 euro) but you really don't need a car.

The breakfast was excellent - the home made jams are to die for!

The staff were very friendly and informative. All in all a great hotel, and excellent value for the price.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leyla774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Clean, friendly, simple, priced right in good location.

RECOMMEND- Get a junior suite on the 5th floor. These rooms feature a generous sized balcony with sun chairs, chairs and small table. AMAZING views!

PROS-
1. Walking distance to everything, no car needed.
2. Rooms are simple, modern, clean and very comfy beds.
3. Breakfast is nice- breads, meats, cereals, yogurt etc...
4. Wifi- Ask front desk for code. 5fr. Flat charge for unlimited use.
5. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

CONS
1. The only con affects those who are severely out of shape or those who have a physical disability involving feet/ legs. The location of this hotel is excellent. However, to access Piazza Grande and all shops/ restaurants, a walk down a somewhat steep hill is necessary. The hotel is situated on a street which sits on an upper level of the town. For those who are in reasonable shape, this should not be a problem.

FROM TRAIN STATION- 4 Min. Walk. Exit station and walk towards the FM Bar/ Pizza restaurant. This is via Sempione. Make left on via Sempione- road will go towards a residential area-uphill. Make first right onto via Gian Battista Pioda. Go up the hill. You will see the hotel from the top of the street.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbischof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

one night trip and I will definitely come back there, I called directly the hotel to get a lake view room and they still offer us the internet rates and the room was amazing.

very clean, spacious and stunning view, air conditing not very efficient but not so important and we will recommend it to friends and family and we are alreday planning to come back next summer !!

friendly staff aswell.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonyme37_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

I spent a single night at this hotel and I was quite satisfied. I had already been reccomended by a friend of mine who had already been there.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location, despite not being right at the centre of Locarno, is quite convenient and very close to the lake. The rooms are simple but quite modern and very clean and fully equipped with large terraces. There are some free Parking places right in front of the hotel, but not many. Very complete breakfast.

The only "bad" thing I could say is that, appart from the lack of much parking space, it is a bit noisy since it is facing one main avenue, but the rooms are well soundproof.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed for one night during the Moon & Stars Festival and it was ideal for us. The rooms are modern, we had a nice balcony, it's a 5min walk to the train station, 5min to the lake and city centre. Not much serive and unfortunatly the internet isn't free but otherwise we were very satisfied. The breakfast buffet is ok. Not a huge variety but enough to not be hungry anymore.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crashburny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#3 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Millennium
Hotel Garni Millennium
#9 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Muralto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Muralto

Property: Hotel Garni Muralto
Address: via Sempione 10, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Muralto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Muralto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing