We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern hotel - sleek room - nice view of the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Garni Muralto
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
91 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel - sleek room - nice view of the lake”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very pleasant experience overall. The breakfast could have been a bit more varied, but I got the impression that the hotel caters basically for travellers in transit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalkanEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    86
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
88
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Good location, within a walking distance from the train station. The hotel was nicely decorated with very pleasant color tones and Italian touches were all over the place. Breakfast was excellent, we liked having it at the patio outside, just add an omlet stand and i would say it would match breakfasts in much more expensive 5 star hotels. The bathroom was nice as well i especially liked the twisting shower door.

My only remark is that they did not have English movie or Arabic news channels.

Room Tip: the room we took was towards the back, but the hotel faces the lake, ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MansourQabandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Garni Muralto has been very tastefully decorated with modern fixtures and fittings and good quality linens and towels. The hotel was spotlessly clean, bright and airy. The hotel is in a great location just a 2 minute walk from the station and town centre. Unfortunately during our stay there was construction work next to and across from the hotel. This meant there was substantial noise from 7:30 am till around 5pm. I know the hotel can't help construction taking place however it would have been courteous of the hotel to mention it on or before check in and offer a token apology for the inconvenience. We chose a suite on the top floor, which I would highly recommend if staying here. The room was spacious and the view from the balcony was lovely. It was especially pleasant sitting out on the balcony in the evening (during the day the experience was slightly spoiled due to the construction - both from the noise and a reduction in privacy). The bathroom contained a separate shower and bath which is always a nice treat in a hotel. The internet connection was good enough for my husband to use for business purposes. The only negative comments about the room would be that the air conditioning was not very powerful and there was no tea and coffee making facilities in room which is very unusual for 4 star accommodation. Breakfast was OK but nothing special, just a standard continental. For a 4 star you would expect a wider choice and perhaps some hot options. It is a small property and so doesn't have the facilities of a larger hotel, no gym, restaurant etc however this was not a problem for us. We previously spent 1 night in the much larger Ramada Arcadia, which has more facilities, but had a truly terrible experience. The staff at Garni Muralto could not have been any more pleasant or helpful. They were keen to answer any questions and always greeted you with a smile. We would definitely chose to stay at the Garni Muralto in the future.

Room Tip: If you can, pay the extra and stay in the suite on the top floor for lovely lake views from the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I was nervous about booking this hotel because it only had three stars and was not extensively reviewed. It turned out to be better than three of the four-star hotels we stayed in. We booked a suite and were pleasantly surprised that it was newly and beautifully furnished. It had tons of storage space, air conditioning and an awesome, furnished outdoor balcony overlooking Lago Maggiore. The room was impeccably clean and the bathroom was wonderful. Location was also great...just two blocks from train station. The only downside is that the beds are platforms with a mattress...no box spring makes for a hard bed. At least the bedding was cushy and comfortable, however. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again myself! Hotel offers a decent continental breakfast for free. It doesn't have a full serice restaurant, a concierge or porter service, but if you can live without those amenities, this is a terrific hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sconner28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

To keep it short: The hotel appears very fresh and trendy - from the interior and the exterior. We had a room on the fifth floor which was a little bit more exspensive but the panoramic view was well worth the extra money. TVs could have been chosen a bit bigger - but who comes to Ticino for watching TV anyhow. The Receptionists were not only very friendly and helpful but very pretty and charming, too. Breakfast buffet was a okay-standard. Nothing fancy but just what you need to start well into the new day. Summa summarum - I wouldn't hesitate to chose the Hotel Garni Muralto again for my next trip to Switzerland's exciting south.

Room Tip: Get a fantastic viwe from the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FindingRemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was a great hotel. Beautiful and spacious room, well designed and decorated.

The location is great, within short walking distance to town. They had parking facilities (about 12 euro) but you really don't need a car.

The breakfast was excellent - the home made jams are to die for!

The staff were very friendly and informative. All in all a great hotel, and excellent value for the price.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leyla774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Clean, friendly, simple, priced right in good location.

RECOMMEND- Get a junior suite on the 5th floor. These rooms feature a generous sized balcony with sun chairs, chairs and small table. AMAZING views!

PROS-
1. Walking distance to everything, no car needed.
2. Rooms are simple, modern, clean and very comfy beds.
3. Breakfast is nice- breads, meats, cereals, yogurt etc...
4. Wifi- Ask front desk for code. 5fr. Flat charge for unlimited use.
5. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

CONS
1. The only con affects those who are severely out of shape or those who have a physical disability involving feet/ legs. The location of this hotel is excellent. However, to access Piazza Grande and all shops/ restaurants, a walk down a somewhat steep hill is necessary. The hotel is situated on a street which sits on an upper level of the town. For those who are in reasonable shape, this should not be a problem.

FROM TRAIN STATION- 4 Min. Walk. Exit station and walk towards the FM Bar/ Pizza restaurant. This is via Sempione. Make left on via Sempione- road will go towards a residential area-uphill. Make first right onto via Gian Battista Pioda. Go up the hill. You will see the hotel from the top of the street.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbischof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.4 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Millennium
Hotel Garni Millennium
#11 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Muralto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Muralto

Property: Hotel Garni Muralto
Address: via Sempione 10, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Muralto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garni Muralto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing