We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lake view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Garni Muralto
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great lake view”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I had booked a standard north facing room for 2 nights, when we got to the hotel they upgraded us to a lake view on the 4th floor and we liked it so much that we ended up staying 4 nights.
Hotel is lovely very clean, big room, good beds, good bathroom with large shower.
location is very good, 5 minutes from the train station and old town. It was quiet at night.
Breakfast is good, there was a wide choice and lots of it.
The staff were excellent, very helpful nothing was a problem for them.
We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view, it really is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    86
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
88
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

It is great value for money, good views if your room is on the lake side, clean and pretty modern in design. 2 min slightly uphill walk from the trainstation and 3 min walk to locarno center and the piazza grande or the to embarcation point to go for a nice boatride on the lake to for instance Ascona. Breakfast is nothing too fancy but does the job. Friendly people.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for just one night at end of May...booked almost last minute via booking.com and got the last double room available which has no lake view but faces a wall. The room is very quiet though.

The room is clean and modern, reasonably sized. The bathroom appears to have been recently renovated, however the shower screen door is extremely hard to pull open and close.

Breakfast is included and is standard - no hot cooked food but adequate.

Good wifi reception in room. Paid parking in garage or on street in front of the hotel.

Good location - within walking distance from the train station and Locarno center.

Note that check-in is until 23:00 - inform the hotel in advance in case of late arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavender11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Finding a reasonable hotel in a Swiss resort place has never been easy, but the Muralto Garni is an exception. It had all I needed, a covered garage right beside the hotel entrance, free wi-fi connection, central location, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. The beds are comfortable and the place is kept spic and span for you. I had to be in Zurich for the next day, which meant departing from Locarno rail station at 07.03 in the morning. That is no problem with this hotel which is operational from 6am only five minutes walk above the rail station. The nightly rates are very modest and include breakfast.. Everything in Locarno, the lake, the Piazza Grande and restaurants are just around the corner, which makes it a most practible place for any purpose, Shall use it again.

Room Tip: it may be worthwhile to ask for a south side room with balcony which must offer a great scenery of m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAUDE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Easy to walk uphill from the Railway station to this hotel. Good welcome and modern comfortable room. All the normal faciltites you would expect..... except, no plug for the sink so difficult to shave or wash, had to use the top of my shave cream to keep the water in. Receptionist very helpful and came and had a look but thought that as the sink had no overflow this was normal.
Breakfast was functional continental.
Steps to the left of the front of the hotel lead up the hill to the Madonna del Sasso overlooking the town. We caught the Funicular railway up and then followed the signs to Muralto to walk down not realising how close we would end up to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BidBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This hotel is only about 2 blocks from the train station and the lake. But, it is uphill. It is in a convenient location to walk around the old town and stroll along the lake. The hotel is very well appointed. Clean and modern. I booked a standard room (cheapest). The room we were checked into was very small without a view. So, if you want the large room shown in the pictures, you'll need to upgrade to the lake view (king bed) which is what we did. It has a wonderful balcony with a sitting bench and small view to the lake.

Beds were very comfortable, room was clean and fresh. There is a very nice lobby with great big windows if you like to sit out somewhere other than your room.

Breakfast was okay. It was continental but did not have much variety. Maybe two types of cereal, some bread, cold cuts and cheese with croissants and some whole fruits. Butter, jam and nutella. Coffee and Juice. But, the breakfast room is great with floor to ceiling windows and a great outdoor patio to sit out and relax for the morning.

I would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a lake view or a king bed. Queen rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 312AnnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel was an amazing surprise in the best possible way. It is a newly rebuilt building with modern fit out that has been done to a great standard. We were on the corner of the 4th floor and the view was exceptional. As it is up the hill a little bit it looked out over the buildings in the foreground and was a wider view than you get closer to the water. Location was great, an easy walk to the shops, restaurants and waterfront. Breakfast was a good quality and fresh which we found as good as we had elsewhere. Rooms were spotless, staff very pleasant and helpful and spoke good English as well as other languages. It is a place we would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.4 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Millennium
Hotel Garni Millennium
#11 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Muralto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Muralto

Property: Hotel Garni Muralto
Address: via Sempione 10, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Muralto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garni Muralto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing