We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean hotel”
Review of ibis Locarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Locarno
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

For me typical Ibis, good price for a good stay. Moreover well located, close the small centre and lake promenade. Breakfast is standard, so unless you are extremely picky i must be good for you.
The only issue i had is that eventhough i paid the entire price at the leave, they still kept the prepaid deposit blocked more than a week (by law they can do so for 10day workdays in case you pay with non-local credit card). I had to contact my bank to reach the hotel to return the money immediately. I got it back in 10mins..You may experience such things if you travel abroad..
Otherwise i'm fine with this hotel - i've already been there twice ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielSlovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for ibis Locarno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank obartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2013

POSITIVE: room are swiss-standard clean, fresh and with good look. the ground floor lounge is fresh and with good light. Sleep quality is high.
In terms of value we must consider that Locarno is a touristic and fine swill destination -average prices are high and the IBIS is definitely not a rip-off, considering the competition -often consisting of outdated smoky ex-posh hotels.
NEGATIVE: we're in Locarno, a lake side place. How can you plan a small windows-hotel? We're in Switzerland, standards should be high: how can you plan such a tiny entrance with reception desk attached to the bar? Also floors' corridors are very narrow -but rooms remain pretty small. That just make this fine and fresh hotel look cheap.
CONCLUSIONS:
I was here for a concert-sleep over and this hotel was an excellent choice for this purpose. I saw several business men and some summer-tourists. Personally, I wouldn't enjoy many days here as it lacks open space. But for a future sleep over I will come back.
Another note: we weren't served at breakfast in a cheerful way, not at all. That also must be accounted in Swiss hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just stayed 2 nights in Ibis Locarno. It is very fine. Simple but modern furniture, spacious bathroom, nice shower, comfortable bed.

Importantly, the hotel is really well located, just 2 blocks from the central piazza. It doesn't get better than that. The parking of the hotel was full, but they have a deal with a parking just 1 block away, for 16 francs per day. All good!

The only reason I am giving a 3 is because of the A/C. IT was over 30 degrees in that weekend, and the A/C just didn't do the job. We called reception and they came to check, but said that this was the maximum that it would do. "The central A/C is working, but it doesn't get very cold unfortunately". It was not boiling hot, but it was enough to disturb my sleep, I woke up many times during the night.

I don't want to say it was boiling hot, but if it is a warm summer day and if you like cold rooms, this might be an issue for you. Other than that, the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: Pics are from room 335.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caio_Grynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is very well located, just 50 meters from the Lake and very close to some good restaurants and pizzerias. The hotel is very modern and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. With the windows closed you will not ear any outside noise.

The room has a very odd bathroom where there is no toilet brush, there is no hand towel and the door needs some firm pull to close.

There are plenty of channels on its 32 inch flat TV but sadly all are local only a couple of news channels in English (nothing too different from the rest of the Hotels in Europe).

Like all Accor group this IBIS hotel offers everything as a extra price, there is a car park but unless you book it in advance there won't be much change of you getting a parking space. If you do you will need to fork 16 Swiss francs per day.

The breakfast is 15 francs per day but I must say they are worth the money you get a reasonable buffet breakfast will ham, cheese, all sorts of machine type coffees, orange and mix fruit juices, local bread, croissants, muesli, yogurt, fruit salad etc. For this part of Switzerland it was a very good value for money experience.

You have free wifi and an acceptable speed, good perk. Ther is also a small gym room and free sauna for those who like to relax.

Just outside the hotel we found a pizzeria called Universo that do some of the best pizzas we had in a long time and a good price too. Ask for the normal size ones and you will be surprized.
The Staff is very helpful.

Overall it was a very good stay we will stay there again when revisiting the town in the future.

Room Tip: Room 423 was very quiet as it was facing the back wher there was a car park. But I'm guessing th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsoncerqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Italy and had previously booked a room which was a relief as we were seriously delayed by road works on the approach to the Gotthard Tunnel. This is a small 2 storey modern hotel near a quiet residential area. It provides clean, comfortable and basic accommodation with a good breakfast including d-i-y freshly squeezed orange juice. The only snag is the parking but there is on street parking close-by. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Hotel Dell'Angelo
#23 of 27 in Locarno
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Locarno

Address: via Giuseppe Cattori 6, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range: £86 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Locarno 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Locarno hotel is located in the heart of the town of Locarno, just a few minutes' walk from the lake, the ferry terminal, the Piazza Grande and the casino. It is 100% non-smoking. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has 83 rooms, of which 4 are for people with reduced mobility and 3 are suites. There is also a 24-hour bar serving snacks, a sauna, a business corner, a welcoming breakfast area and an indoor paying car park. Free WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing