We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic Lago Maggiore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magic Lago Maggiore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Would have been 4 star in its day - but definitely 3 star plus today. Management, reception and wait staff all very friendly and multilingual. Breakfast buffet was huge, and included in our room rate. Our first floor room turned out to be self catering. Although devoid of cutlery and appliances, there was plenty of crockery and glassware, plus a fridge and two electric hot plates. Located at the rear of the hotel, our balcony looked out over a very leafy and quite street. Our spacious room was divided into kitchenette, bathroom, bedroom and lounge/dining area - more than adequate for our 4 day stay. From our observation, the rooms at the front of the hotel (overlooking the lake) are grander. A seven minute walk from the train station, close to ferries and restaurants, on the lake edge and away from town centre noise - suited me beautifully.

Room Tip: Ask about appliances and cutlery if you want to avail yourself of self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zug1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Manager at H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much indeed for all your comments
Best regards
J.Paulo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    86
    36
    14
    3
See reviews for
62
79
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I would like to know who is responsible for giving this rating as it is both undeserving and very misleading.I almost laughed when I walked into our 330 CHF per night room (price didn't include parking, breakfast or internet access). The only good thing I can say about it was that it was a good size and had a nice view. The decor was like stepping back in time to the 70's. It hadn't been tastefully refurbished in a 70's style it actually looks like it hasn't been decorated since then. The furniture and carpets looked extremely dated and grubby. This hotel has not been upgraded in many, many years. It even had an avocado bathroom suite!!! I was glad we had only booked one night as we definitely would not have stayed another night. I guess you're paying for being located right on the waterfront! The balcony had almost no privacy at all with only semi-opaque perplex glass dividing each balcony. The glass did not even cover the full breadth of the balcony so you could easily see through to adjacent balconies. I have stayed in 2 Star accommodation with a higher standard of furnishing, linen, toiletries etc. Just because a hotel has a pool and a restaurant should not justify it receiving a higher star rating. If you have 330 CHF per night to spend on a room you could easily find a better alternative in Locarno. I'm still in disbelief that it has a 4 Star rating, I would struggle to rate it a 2 Star. If this was the only hotel available in Locarno I still wouldn't stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Professional reception. Underground parking for cars and bikes. Clean suites and bathrooms with enough space and spacious balcony with lake view. Swimming pool and fitness possibilities included. Professional and friendly roomservice and, a grand breakfast buffet with relaxing atmosphere on the sunny terrace. And everything a few minutes walk to heart of Locarno.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view are great to relax and to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HP_Onit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We chose the Ramada Arcadia because we wanted a lake view balcony, and we couldn't have been happier; a massive terrace on the 5th (top) floor with a stunning view over the lake, the mountains and the town.

The lake view rooms are booked as a special booking category, 40 francs more expensive than normal rooms at the back. Actually they are not "rooms" but one bedroom timeshare apartments that are rented as hotel rooms when the normal guests are not there. So they are huge, with a large bedroom & a large kitchen/living room area, and glass doors from both out to the large balcony/terrace (with a table and chairs).

The décor is as others have mentioned quite dated. Our bed was comfortable and the room was clean, but both the bathroom and the living room furniture looked very 70's/80's.

The kitchen area had cupboards with plates and glasses etc, but I understood from the receptionist that the actual cooking stove can only be used by the permanent time share owners (not by hotel guests), so ask about this if you want to cook.

The hotel location is fantastic in the town center and right on the water front (but with a road in between). There is a small swimming pool and a play area for kids in the hotel garden and it does look perfect for families with kids. We didn't try the swimming pool but enjoyed our lake view from the 5th floor (even on the 2nd/3rd floor the views would be pretty nice).

Breakfast is expensive; it's CHF 25 for the full buffet and the same price if you prefer continental breakfast in the room. We opted for the latter and enjoyed breakfast in the sun with a spectacular lake view. Room service brought a second pot of coffee for free so overall it was a nice experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamingmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinzia B, Manager at H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We rely on you to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments: Thank you for giving me the Chance to explain that we have 2 different Apartment kategories: the one ist the confort apartment and the other one is the deluxe, renovated in 2014-2015. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

The hotel is one of the few in Switzerland offering apartment like rooms for families and does not follow the general thinking that children sleep best in the parent's room. Unfortunately, the 2 room apartment we had was quite dated, and the 20 century type air conditioning was only available in the master bedroom, not very comfortable for the children sleeping in the other room in a south facing room. The equipment of the rooms was, although not modern, fine and the rooms were large. The plus is the big terrace, facing Laggio Magiore. Very nice!

Otherwise the hotel faces on all sides towards roads that are well used. So, even if it cooler outside, leaving the windows open is not an option.

The pool is rather small, and becomes soon crowded.

Breakfast is charged at an outrageous extra (25 CHF/person) compared to a full 3-course lunch including water and coffee served at 19 CHF/person. There is a minimal option consisting of coffee and crossaint&bread for 9 CHF which nobody except we took.

The hotel is well placed in the city (in walking distance to all attractions (including Moon&Stars). However, we would recommend to avoid the hotel in hot summer days, because simply sleeping is not possible on warm nights. Also beware that the parking situation in the garage is very peculiar and requires experienced drivers (small slots and lifts to accommodate 2 cars per lot)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SofieZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinzia B, Manager at H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your informative online feedback. We always try to fulfill our guests' requests upon their Arrival: sorry but we were fully booked and could not offer you a deluxe Apartment renovated instead of the confort one that you booked. Breakfast is included in the rate.We still hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Talk about kid freindly, this hotel caters on every angle. They have a dedicated kinder centre on level 1 for Children with two large rooms dedicated to fun.

We stayed with our 2.5 yr old and 8 week old baby, and stayed in a 80sm apartment style room with a small kitchette. A spacious living room and dining table and huge balcony (Accessable from the bedroom and living area) overlooking Lake Maggiorre.

The restaurant offered a half board option that was value for money with Breakfast and dinner, and enable the hasle free aspect of not having to find a restaurant to eat in that allowed chilren to be themselves. The staff were friendly from the reception, to the wait staff in the restaurant and the housekeeper was always greeting us with a smile.

The only downside is the decor, which is a throwback from the 70s in mustard yellow lounge and brown 70s dining table and chairs, but very comfortable for its age without any sag. I understand that this is due for a makeover this year, so this should lift it to the 2010 era.

At 350 chf a night, its a bit on the high side, but given the room size, meals and location, it is good value, and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinzia B, Manager at H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your great review with us and with the other guests. We are very happy to read that you had a good experience at the RAMADA Hotel Arcadia. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for the entire team. Thank you very much and do not Forget to book a Deluxe or Superior room next time instead of a confort one! We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip to Locarno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
0.1 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#3 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geranio au Lac
Hotel Geranio au Lac
#16 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno

Property: H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Address: Lungolago Giuseppe Motta, Locarno 6601, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Arcadia Locarno)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our RAMADA Hotel Arcadia Locarno is located right on the promenade of Lake Maggiore and is just 0.5 km from the centre of Locarno and the famous Piazza Grande. Experience Locarno's many cultural, scenic and historical charms and enjoy the region's unrivalled Mediterranean climate. Locarno is considered to be the warmest place in Switzerland. The hotel offers a total of 90 rooms, which are available as one-room and two-room apartments and equipped with individually controlled air conditioning as well as a balcony or terrace. During the high season, we offer childcare, a playground, a video corner, a games and soft-play room and our pool in the garden, which is great fun in summer. Enjoy our hotel as an ideal base for your holiday plans, whether they involve hiking, climbing or e-biking. You might plan to visit highlights such as the Moon and Stars festival or the jazz festival, make an excursion to Ascona or just visit Locarno's Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Locarno
Ramada Hotel Locarno
Locarno Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing