We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
85
122
47
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
122
47
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice pool lake view pool area half board option coffee machine spacious room excellent location large balcony breakfast buffet the ground floor nice hotel hotel is located train station kitchenette maggiore reception switzerland
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Loved this hotel, from arrival to departure the staff were really kind and helpful. My colleague and I had two separate suites, the view was amazing, the rooms were clean and big plus the aircon was great. Will definitely return with the family one day. Thank you

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinzia B, Manager at H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Richard,

It is with great pleasure that I read about your stay in May 2017 in our H4 Hotel Arcadia.
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from arrival to departure. It is also delightful to know that you felt well cared by our great team of service professionals. Many thanks for the amazing feedback!
I truly look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to meet your family next time!

Kind regards from Locarno

Cinzia Belingheri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Booked directly with hotel, on a B&B basis. Quick check in process, with friendly staff.
Fortunately we did not book half board option, did not look very appetising!
Room overlooked lake and small swimming pool.
There were no pool towels, asked at reception, waited for half an hour, no towels arrived!
Small bathroom, with bath and shower, nice fluffy towels. Never stayed in a 4* hotel before, when the toiletries were supplied in industrial size containers.
Cleanliness not great, long black hairs stuck to tiles.
Bed and pillows very comfortable, but only after removing the waterproof mattress protectors.
Small fridge with complimentary soft drinks and water, nice touch.
Breakfast buffet with plenty of choice, long queues for coffee machine though.
All in all, good location, but not really with the price charged.

Room Tip: Room overlooking lake
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinzia B, Manager at H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Karen

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We noticed with joyce that you appreciated most of the aspects of your holiday.
We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments regarding cleanliness and the coffee machine and will forward your feddback to the people in charge of those departments.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again here in Locarno and convice you of our hotel!

Kind regards
Cinzia Belingheri
General Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We booked 3 nights with half board through booking.com. The hotel itself is reasonable well equipped, with an outside (probably unheated) pool, a ground floor breakfast restaurant that spills out onto a terrace in front of the pool with the rooms above.
We had a so called "luxury"room with a balcony overlooking the lake, but when one compares it with other hotels, there is nothing really luxury about it, it's good, comfortable, well equipped, but not luxury. I suspect that the 4 star swiss hotel rating system is not the equivalent of that of other countries.
The hotel is geared up to accommodate German speakers and has great difficulty dealing with other languages, we experienced difficulty in being understood in both english and french. Even the reception staff give the impression of understanding but clearly don't.
The restaurant is promoted as some sort of Italian buffet and pasta restaurant, probably to attract a non residential clients, except it doesn't. We made a mistake of booking half board, which limited us to a really awful buffet salad entrée, followed by a mediocre main course and a choice of one of there desserts. There are too few serving staff, leading to unacceptable time between courses, they also only really understand german and Italian. We tried to cancel the half board part of the booking, but were unable to do so, because of the contractual arrangement between the hotel and booking.com.
There is lesson to be learn with these hotel booking sites, never book the half board in advance, unless you have already been to the hotel, you can always add it on, but you can't subtract it.
On a positive note, the breakfast is very good, with excellent quality scrambled eggs and since its self service there are no staff problems.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

It's true this hotel isn't in some classic pre-war building but it holds its own as it matches the ambiance of Locarno and the Italian region in general. Someone complained the check-in process was slow but we found it to be quick as Erica checked us in fairly quickly.

Hotel itself is located on Lake Maggiore which in itself gigantic and very underrated. Train/bus stations is walking distance and easy to get to as long as you don't have heavy bags.

Normally a hotel like this we could give 3 or 4 stars. But because it functioned well and the staff was nice we are giving it 5 starts especially two standouts that made a huge difference.

Locarno is a nice town and the Ticino region is beautiful. We got to see Mt Cardada. Bellinzona Castles, Island Botanical Gardens, and the Verzasca Valley to see the famous Contra Dam(famous from James Bond's Goldeneye).

One of the nights we could not go out due to the rain and only food we can have is in the hotel. My parents do not eat beef or pork but needed to have something. So this Albanian waiter we don't remember his name offered to make us chicken nuggets and fries. We really appreciated the effort and were able to have something.

Another person was Berkan. We needed a taxi to St. Moritiz and we did not want to transfer 2-3 times with the various train and bus transfers with our suitcases but he knew of a company that does direct private rides. His help was incredibly crucial for us as it saved us time and energy.

We will truly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daryldixongun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinzia B, Manager at H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very positive and detailed feedback concerning your stay at our Hotel and thanks for sharing your trips in the region with other potential visitors.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a good experience with our emplyees. We will share your answer with all our staff members and of course with Erica, Berkan and Alexandra, as a lovely compliment like yours is the best motivation for all of them. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in our H4 Hotel Arcadia, next time you come to Europe.

In the meantime we wish you and your parents all the best.

Cinzia Belingheri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a familyroom on the 5:th floor with a large balcony facing Lago Maggiore and the mountains. One large room for us adults and another spacious room for the kids. Also a small kitchen. A small but clean, nice and cosy pool area in a green garden. Huge and great breakfast buffet. Quiet roof top terrass. Friendly staff. The hotel is located right on the boardwalk and it takes less then 5-10 minutes to walk to restaurants, cafés and boat sightseeing. 20 minutes walk away you'll find a large and popular spa with inside/outside pool area connected to the lake.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinzia B, Manager at H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Linda,

With great pleasure I read about your stay. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit: size and facilities of your appartment, breakfast, pool, waking distance of the hotel from the centre... It is also delightful to know that you felt well cared for by our great team. Many thanks for the amazing feedback, which I will share with our team.
I really hope to have the chance to welcome you and your family again!

Cinzia Belingheri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews