We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belvedere Locarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed in the middle of June in a junior suite. Overall the service was good and the room was adequate, quite large with a balcony and air conditioning.
We don't give it an excellent rating, because the bathroom was on the small side, fittings looked a bit old, and the service was a bit patchy. For example, the bar area staff were very friendly and informative, but were sometimes too busy.
The food in the restaurant was good, however breakfast could have been improved with freshly cooked items to order.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveboots_willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    95
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
116
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
122 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This resort does it right - everything works and the service is super friendly, breakfast is wonderful, the rooms are nicely appointed and have all the amenities one would look for in a 4 star hotel.
The location of this hotel is very convenient - the views from the room i occupied were stunning and The center of the city was a 10 minute walk away.
All in all very nice and super friendly

Room Tip: I had a room looking out over the lake - I would recommend that.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewaldbiemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned from a 11 night stay at this hotel. We thought it excellent, the service from all the staff was first class. The resturant manager was superb, he always remembered our names, and language to speak, bearing in mind he had to remember whether it was German, Italian, French or English. Food is first class, presented really well. wine is expensive, but we knew Switzerland to be expensive. Rooms were spotless, and the complimentary bowl of fruit kept being replenished. Pool and spa facilities also excellent. Location of the hotel is up,a hill, we found the walk easy, but someone with mobility problems may struggle. However the fenicular is nearby. We did lots of walking, cable car and chair lift offer excellent views, and walks. All are well sign posted. We would also recommend using the local buses which go up the valleys.

Room Tip: Higher you are, the better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

we stayed here last week for a 4 night stay. we had a 1 bed suite and a seperate 1 bed room adjacent. lots of positives about the hotel. staff were generally very welcoming. one or two non smilers but i suppose noone is perfect.
rooms were quite dated. not shabby at all, just a little old looking, but well within the quality range you expect for 4 stars in such a nice place.
location. excellent, overlooking the town, a little cooler in the night due to the altitude, which was welcome
rooms. ok. a little dated as said, but overall nice and quality AC is a plus.
Spa. quite nice. good pool with an indoor and outdoor area, lovely adjacent grounds around spa
Food. included breakfast was ok. good quality but the poorest choice I have seen in a swiss hotel. very limited. i asked for an omelette in stead of the pre-perpared stuff. it arrived but was assembled badly. raw onions. a bit odd. food in the restaurants in the evening was excellent. very good quality and in fact very reasonable compared to normal hotel 25% markup.

Building itself is a bit odd. long walk to first lifts, and then another set of lifts to get to your room. odd layout, but not a showstopper.

overall good value and not a bad experience at all.

Room Tip: try a room in the old building. the ones in the new were a pain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Handad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel has a great view and if you ask for it, you even get a small balcony. Rooms are very spacious, although not design (which is good for me). The berakfast has different hot, cold, salty, sugar choices. The hotel also offers a range of fitness activities. All well.
The only thing is that there is nowhere water to drink, except in the mini-bar.

Room Tip: take sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We arrived late (10pm) due to flight problems, but we phoned the hotel whilst travelling and they met us at the station, hotel is up a hill form station, and also provided a cold meat salad plate in our room as we'd missed our half-board dinner, which was well received after a very tiring day travelling.
We had a superior room which is up from the main hotel, but the views over Locarno and Lake Maggiore are excellent. Room was a good size with a balcony. Rooms were clean and well equipped.
The hotel has a funicular railway stop next to it, which takes you into the town, or the top of the local mountain.
During early July Locarno stages a number of outdoor pop concerts which go on until around 11pm, which can be heard at the hotel, so not the place for a quiet time at this particular time.

We were on half-board, and the choice of food was limited. Breakfasts did not offer the variety often seen currently, and the dinners were disaapointing, particularly the main courses. There are a large number of small restaurants in the town and nearby Ascona, although with Swiss prices this may be an expensive alternative.
Reception staff were welcoming and helpful, but the bar / restaurant staff were less so.

Room Tip: High rooms, mostly superior, give great views of area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonytourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel is beautifully situated above Locarno, with panoramic views of the lake. The city (including access to trains and boats) is an easy 10 minute walk away with the return uphill journey eliminated by the funicular railway, with its own private Belvedere request stop. Reduced tickets for 2 journeys can be purchased at reception for CHF 3.60. Our room was spacious, with a wide balcony enjoying lakeside views. In a week when temperatures were 30 degrees+ the air conditioning showed itself to be very efficient. As half board guests we were treated to some very fine, superbly presented food. The wine list included a wide range of local Ticino wines. These are of excellent quality, but not cheap, although it is easy to make a bottle last 2 or 3 nights as the staff will keep it for you, and ensure that it is waiting for you at your table the next evening. Staff were friendly, efficient and always welcoming from the moment you are picked up by the free hotel taxi at the railway station. Fruit was provided free in our room, but as British guests the thing that would have been even more welcome would have been tea making facilities, we knew this was not likely in Switzerland so we took our own, thus making our stay complete!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plantlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locarno
0.2 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#3 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#3 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
1.5 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#2 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Locarno

Property: Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Address: via ai Monti 44, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belvedere Locarno 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the hill which overlooks the city of Locarno, the Hotel Belvedere offers a breathtaking view on Lake Maggiore and its surrounding mountains, making it the ideal place for a wonderful stay in Ticino all year round. Only a seven-minute walk away from Piazza Grande, the train station and the lake side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing