We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!”
Review of Hotel Dell'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
madison wi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
Reviewed 12 October 2007

The hotel clerk spoke mostly Italian, no English and was very loud. The room was small but adequate, I found it hard to sleep due to the outside bar noise. The breakfast was limited and the staff was noisy. The location was great and the price was right.
Would not stay here again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank midwestgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    128
    110
    53
    59
See reviews for
92
145
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2006

The hotel is in an absolutely brilliant location - and the lake is beautiful! We were there for the National Swiss Holiday and so were lucky enough to see all the fireworks going off around the lake. But the hotel was just SO disappointing. Our room was small, the heat was stifling and there was no air conditioning. We had a little door to a very small balcony (only room for one chair) and had to leave it open all night. The room was not particularly clean - and the bath and shower were stained. The receptionist was quite rude and certainly not very welcoming.. We were glad that we were only there for 2 nights. Oh, and just one more thing. It wasn't rowdy teenagers that kept us awake - but all those church bells!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Our room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't choose this hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Locarno hotels

Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2006

This hotel is right on the Piazza Grande. We never had to use public transportation within the city; the train station was within walking distance. Our room was ready when we checked in and was adequate. Their breakfast, which is included, was pretty standard European fare. The only drawback was the bar across the street which our window faced. The people kind of spilled onto the street and were very loud at night, so it was difficult to sleep. We never had a problem with language. Also, the menu was pretty extensive at dinner. The other review maybe was talking about lunch? Not sure. If you do go to Locarno, make sure you see Lavertezzo...just a short bus ride away.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pruegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London E7
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2006

Don't stay at this hotel unless you speak Italian, French or German! The receptionist speaks no English at all - neither do any of the staff except the patron who is not always around. Fine, unless you have a problem and our luggage had gone awol and we were faced with a night without our things and with no-one around to help us. Eventually we found the manager and he was extremely helpful, but the whole experience upset my elderly mother. Then there was the menu! We stayed for 5 nights and every night the (set) menu was veal! We made a joke of it in the end, but really, couldn't they have tried chicken or fish just once?? Rooms are small but well appointed, clean and cool. Bit noisy at night - mainly due to the fact there is a bar over the road that caters for the youth hostel nearby - but nothing excessive. Good value for money but would never stay there again

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2005

The room was fairly clean and not too small, bathroom was a bit too small, breakfast was okay, good location and affordable. The woman at the the front desk is friendly but speaks only Italian and German.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 November 2005

Just returned from a weekend break at the Hotel Dell'Angelo and loved it. This hotel is not the most modern hotel in Locarno but it is immaculately maintained and very spacious. The restaraunt downstairs makes a wonderful pizza and you are steps from many wonderful places to eat. For the money, this place cannot be beat.

Two negatives to note. There is a bar around the corner from the hotel that is very popular with young people and it can be a bit loud at night. It didn't bother my wife, my dog or I in the slightest but I've noticed some members can bit a bit uptight about noise (and I emphasis uptight!)

Also, (and this is a silly personal issue) I will not stay there again. I was there for Halloween and three absolutely adorable girls around age 7 or 8 dressed in costume walked into the restaraunt trick or treating. They never once bothered a customer but they were treated as if they were a nuisance. After about ten minutes of being directed to the front desk, who then direct them back to the restaraunt, they were shoed out of the hotel empty handed. The youngest girl sadly looked up and said "Nothing?" in Italian. That broke my heart. Any hotel that would send away such an adorable young thing empty handed on Halloween, despite its lack of popularity in Europe, will not see another dime from me. It's a silly reason to not stay here as you can't beat the hotel for the money but for me it is enough.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2005

We got a great deal for the hotel Dell'Angelo. The hotel itseld is located in the very center of Locarno. That way it makes it very easy to walk every where. Shops, restaurants, etc, are all around and the lake is only 5 minute walk. This hotel is small yet very cute and nicely decorated. It has been recently renovated so everything is new and clean. Our room and the bathroom were quite small - especially the shower, but other than that we had no reasons to complain. Free breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was absolutely delicious. Everything was fresh and there was large variety of things to eat. Over all, we were quit happy with hotel Dell'Angelo.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Da Vinci B&B
Casa Da Vinci B&B
#16 of 28 in Locarno
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
0.0 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#10 of 28 in Locarno
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dell'Angelo

Property: Hotel Dell'Angelo
Address: Piazza Grande, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dell'Angelo is an historic building, located in the centre of town, in the most important area of Locarno, Piazza Grande, just a few minutes from the station and the lake.Combining the charm of the past with all modern comforts, the hotel offers a family atmosphere, carefully supervised cuisine with traditional Ticinese and Italian dishes (pizzeria with wood-burning oven) and a cellar stocked with regional and classic wines. The first-floor banqueting room can seat up to 140 people.All 55 rooms are equipped with private bathroom/toilet/shower, hair-dryer, satellite TV, radio, telephone and safe; some rooms also have a balcony. In just a few words: the ideal holiday location in a lovely hotel at attractive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dell Angelo
Dell Angelo Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing