We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dell'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Good location and rooms very clean and tidy. Breakfast was good continental one.

Breakfast Staff should be more helpful and perhaps smile a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pommyygozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    126
    106
    53
    58
See reviews for
90
144
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hotel dell'Angelo for 2 nights. We mainly spent most of our time outside so can say little about every detail of the hotel.

Good:
- clean room
- not too noisy (depends on the other guests)
- good location in town
- spacey safe

Bad:
- some breakfast items obviously expired, choice rather limited (no vegetables)
- staff quite impolite (e.g. waiter just dropped menu on table, receptionist ignored us for some time at desk, waiter gave an attitude when asked for things and brought wrong things)
- dinner items potentially undercooked
- limited remote control for TV (could not choose languages for programs)
- wifi only available in lobby/restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for king size bed or end up with two single beds pushed together (move easily when active in bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronRubinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed for two nights in the hotel during a trip to Locarno & Lugano.
The hotel is in a great location, about 10 -15 minute walk from the train station. It is at the farther (from the station) end of Piazza Grande. It is a typical small Swiss hotel. Clean and basic which is all you need when one is out exploring the area all day.
I booked a single but was given a double room which was nice.

Good points:
The safe in the room was large enough for me to leave my laptop.
Breakfast was a good continental one with excellent selection of bread & hams, cheeses etc.
Very clean
English speaking TV channels - something not to take for granted in continental Europe

Not great:
Wifi didn't work
Bed & pillows were the hardest I have come across in a long time. I think the pillows are so old the feathers are just completely compressed and all air gone out of them
Tiled public corridors meant a lot of echo whenever anyone was walking, talking or/and dragging luggage around.

Room Tip: Corner / end of corridor so you are less affected by noise when people are walking in the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertQueen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I booked a room at fairly short notice for my sister and I. There obviously weren't many left as we ended up with an interestingly shaped room in the roof with five beds! So we had plenty of space, it was very quiet up there and of course we were very grateful for the lift.

The hotel is clean, staff are not overly friendly but do accommodate requests, for example to deposit luggage etc. The location is good, about ten minutes walk from the train station and lake, and on the end of the main square in Locarno; you can go to the terrace on the fourth floor and watch the world going by. There is plenty to choose from at breakfast, but didn't spot anything cooked.

All in all, a good place for a couple of night's stay but probably not for a whole holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are probably quieter, as well as those not facing the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inselaffe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My girlfriend and me spent two days in Locarno at the Hotel Dell'Angelo. We had a nice, clean Room. The hotel provides a very good breakfast buffet (with sugar-free jam what I appreciate as a diabetic) and friendly staff. Free WiFi in the lobby and the bar (you have to pay for the access in the room).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koch82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The hotel is at a great location and it's fairly clean. But that's where the good things to say about it end. I won't stick to the details that make this hotel unreasonably priced, they've been covered by others. Our biggest nuances where that the staff is very noisy, starting at 0700 in the morning and the breakfast is simply awful (croissants where refrigerated since ice age).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greek_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Locarno hotels

Saint-Prex, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We choose this hotel for its location, right on the city main square Piazza Grande and good price. If you are looking for that as well and you are not bothered with noise and "passé" decoration, this hotel is a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
#10 of 28 in Locarno
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Millennium
Hotel Garni Millennium
#11 of 28 in Locarno
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dell'Angelo

Property: Hotel Dell'Angelo
Address: Piazza Grande, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dell'Angelo is an historic building, located in the centre of town, in the most important area of Locarno, Piazza Grande, just a few minutes from the station and the lake.Combining the charm of the past with all modern comforts, the hotel offers a family atmosphere, carefully supervised cuisine with traditional Ticinese and Italian dishes (pizzeria with wood-burning oven) and a cellar stocked with regional and classic wines. The first-floor banqueting room can seat up to 140 people.All 55 rooms are equipped with private bathroom/toilet/shower, hair-dryer, satellite TV, radio, telephone and safe; some rooms also have a balcony. In just a few words: the ideal holiday location in a lovely hotel at attractive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dell Angelo
Dell Angelo Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing