We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has character”
Review of Hotel Dell'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Has character”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel's location was very good, it was relatively cheap but the rooms are quite old and have a distinctive smell. I cannot say I had my best sleep but it was still fine. The bathroom was shared but we didn't encounter anyone during our stay so that was all fine, and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    130
    113
    56
    61
See reviews for
96
147
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

It was the high season of tourism in Locarno when i had walked into Dell Angelou after having stayed twice already with my children for 40 franks a night.
I had been staying outside Locarno and wanted to stay a bit longer, the lady at reception
wanted 100 franks and 10 franks for dog
I moved in after agreeing on 85 since the lady claimed the film festival means it is more expensive even though two years ago i had paid 40 franks at exactly the same time, the Locarno international film festival.
I checked in Late Thursday night woke up and spent the whole day at the Locarno film festival going from one film to another finally returning to my room at 23.00 finding to my horror that someone else is in my room and all my belongings gone!
I went to reception where the lady said that the room i was staying in was unfortunately booked already, something she NEVER mentioned when i had checked in but that she would be happy to give me another room for MORE money
well, they say there is a sucker born every minute but not one whose belongings are taken out of the hotel room, i had jewelery , Labtop ,etc. not to mention someone touching my underwears socks clothes, all personal belongings
I refused to be blackmailed to paying more after the hotel staff removed my personal belongings and so i found myself in an overbooked overpriced Locarno train station at 14.00 after the city closed down for the night spending the night on a bench at the train station with my small dog
till the first train out of Locarno at 5.30
I had gone to the local police station not before having been told by the very arrogant Locarno young security workers i had to walk all around the square with my luggage and two bags since my dog was not allowed to walk the 50 meters where they had blocked off the piazza Grande even though i had an expensive film ticket to go in and the dog is tiny and old and blind.
A young security guard old enough to be my son told me "shut up" when i argued that i am tired and can not walk the whole area around among the many masses that would step over my dog.

The hotel staff by the way never apologized and said they tried to call me, of course my phone was shut off as i was in the film festival and if the room was booked that night they should have told me when i checked in which they DID NOT

It was also astonishing knowing i had been there twice before for a few days and was a loyal client though two years ago i paid HALF the amount and inflation is not that bad.

It is a beautiful old restored hotel but the attitude of the staff can only be called CRIMINAL and Locarno film festival was also a bit of a nightmare with security enough to guard a national monument not a flat screen showing very violent films this year ...

BOTH very not recommended for those not willing to robbed by the moonlight

Room Tip: Stay away from overpriced Locarno stay away from this hotel, i have filed a complaint with Locarno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titiana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Locarno hotels

Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

After traveling from Bellagio Italy, (boat, bus, train) to see a concert in Locarno, we were shocked when the woman checking us in told us our room wasn't at the hotel, but rather in a building down the street. It was actually a room in an apartment building. Dated from the 60's, no AC, a TV that only received one channel and the most uncomfortable bed in the world is what greeted us. Granted we were there for only one night, but it's not what we bargained for. Be careful here. The only reward was being able to hang out the roof of the actual hotel and listen to the concert. Another rarity: nobody working that day spoke English, so we struggled with my high school Spanish.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about AC if you really need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were here to see a festival concert in the Piazza and as location goes it was perfect as it was just a few metres away from the exit. However, that the best part of this hotel, which is a shame as it has so much potential. The rooms are very outdated and are also quite small. The breakfast was mediocre but I think this was more in its presentation than actual quality. Contrary to other reviewers, we found the staff to be very pleasant but only once we made the effort to speak Italian or German to them. English is the third language in Locarno and so it helps to get by in either of the other two. We also found that once we had made the effort to converse in their language they did then try some English.

We were there on a hot July night and with no fan or air con, it was stifling. An open window was not viable due to the noisy bar beneath (we were room 307), followed by the clear up of the festival. It was also very expensive for such an average experience (possibly hiked prices due to the Moon and Stars festival?).

PS I can highly recommend the Moon and Stars festival - top bands, stunning Piazza, amazing atmosphere!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in the Dell'Angelo, located on the edge of Piazza Grande in mid June 2013 and found it a reasonable value hotel. It was clean, comfortable and the rooms were of a good size, however despite the early time of the holiday year we found it uncomfortable during the night through lack of air conditioning. Ah! You say. How about just opening a window. Well the problem here is not the location of the hotel or the number of locals who took advantage of the catering but of a pub some 100 metres beyond the hotel and the huge numbers of noisy young people that congregated there each night until after midnight. Once they were gone the windows could be opened wide for comfort! If you yourself are party people then none of this will be a problem. However the devil always lurks and if you are a long sleeper the delivery vans will take their toll from 0630. Not a problem for us as there was so much to do that early rising is almost a must.
On the sustenance front the evening meals, while well cooked, were a bit repetitive- we had veal 4 nights from 7. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgillgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is the fourth time I have used this hotel as a base for the Ticino region and the second time I.have booked a triple occupation room. This time though, I discovered they have some rooms in the apartment block opposite the hotel. They are actually Swiss apartments so as hotel rooms these are pretty large and comfortably sleep four (no camp beds here either).

Food as usual is very good, normal restaurant prices and sitting outside on the street to eat is a pleasant and typical European past time, watching the world go by.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristProtector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed in this with our family. The location is perfect in the heart of the centre of Locarno. The hotel is basic, the staff is friendly and facilities are OK. We were positively surprised with the price, including breakfast. Good value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arendroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Da Vinci B&B
Casa Da Vinci B&B
#15 of 28 in Locarno
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#10 of 28 in Locarno
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dell'Angelo

Property: Hotel Dell'Angelo
Address: Piazza Grande, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dell'Angelo is an historic building, located in the centre of town, in the most important area of Locarno, Piazza Grande, just a few minutes from the station and the lake.Combining the charm of the past with all modern comforts, the hotel offers a family atmosphere, carefully supervised cuisine with traditional Ticinese and Italian dishes (pizzeria with wood-burning oven) and a cellar stocked with regional and classic wines. The first-floor banqueting room can seat up to 140 people.All 55 rooms are equipped with private bathroom/toilet/shower, hair-dryer, satellite TV, radio, telephone and safe; some rooms also have a balcony. In just a few words: the ideal holiday location in a lovely hotel at attractive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dell Angelo
Dell Angelo Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing