We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel right on the town square”
Review of Hotel Dell'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel right on the town square”
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Very nice hotel right on the town square in Locarno. Staff are helpful and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Rooms were a good size.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RipleyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    128
    110
    53
    59
See reviews for
92
145
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

My husband and I spent 3 enjoyable nights here. We loved the terrace overlooking the plaza, where we could enjoy a bottle of wine purchased at the near by co-op. Breakfasts were ample and the restaurant in the hotel offered daily specials and a reasonably priced menu. We also took advantage of the wifi in the lobby. The only draw back was no air conditioning and the nights were warm. We found all the personnel friendly, although they did not all speak English.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I recently booked a twin room for myself and my daughter at the Hotel dell'angelo. I have to say that we thouroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel itself is located on the 'Piazza Grande' which is a pleasant cobbled square with restuarants and shops. The room was very nice and the staff were very friendly. My Italian is non-existant but the staff were very patient and provided help where required. The highlight for us was the outstanding food that the hotel provided in their restaurant. We were amazed that we could eat what was in my opinion 5 star Italian food at such a reasonable price. If you are on a budget the restaurant have quite a few special offers on the menu which are also excellent. All in all the Hotel dell'angelo ticked all the boxes for quality and value for money.

I have to say that I'm suprised by some of the negative comments on here about this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Locarno.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanConlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2009

The hotel is in a great location, but the peaple inside are very unpleasant. Locarno is fantastic, but the hotel was not worth the money, Poor service, poor cleaning, very noisy. Pls avoid, try other hotels in the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — People in the hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fragalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Locarno hotels

Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2008

For the price I would try to find another hotel. The hotel is in a good location downtown and close to buses. But watch out! When they say shared bath, they mean VERY shared. Several rooms are sharing one shower and two toilets to several rooms. The tub didn't drain and was constantly less than clean, due to overuse. Often the bathroom had no soap and was dirty. The bedroom was small, but ok. There were two singles pushed together for a double bed, not uncommon in Europe, but not ideal. The remote control was broken. And the heating wasn't controlled in room, it was very very cold.

The room was quiet enough except for the nearby church, which rings twice hourly with the time and at quarter hours starting at seven daily. There is also a club nearby, noisy on weekends.

The real problem was the customer service. Completely unhelpful. It is one thing not to speak English, that is fine. We spoke in German. However, all questions were answered with ambivalent ignorance.

The restaurant is cheaper than other options, but the food is not as quality. Also employed was a waiter who didn't give change. The breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blau32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakersfield, california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

An alright hotel in my opinion. Really noisy at night because of the pub down below. Outdated rooms as well as the hotel itself. It definitely could use a renovation. As I understand it has been in the family for 3 generations so maybe 3's a charm???
Don't get me wrong it was very clean as I saw housekeeping dusting all the time. The breakfast was also very good as well as its location to shopping,sights and of course the lake.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — update the rooms and you'd have a 4 star
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basquegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

First of all, too expensive for what you get!

The welcome wasn't very nice, we were threated like children, just because we had a little missunderstanding about the parking lot (which was very hard to find anyway...).

After we saw our room (80ties style), very small, we really thought about leaving again. The whole hotel is very old style.

We made our reservation by phone for two nights, but after one night we left again. During check-out we were told we "missunderstood" the price on the phone and that the acutal price is higher. That was the perfect end of our stay there. Never again!

Wasn't there anything good? Yes, at least breakfast was okay.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — How we have been treatened.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miicha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Da Vinci B&B
Casa Da Vinci B&B
#16 of 28 in Locarno
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
0.0 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#10 of 28 in Locarno
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dell'Angelo

Property: Hotel Dell'Angelo
Address: Piazza Grande, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dell'Angelo is an historic building, located in the centre of town, in the most important area of Locarno, Piazza Grande, just a few minutes from the station and the lake.Combining the charm of the past with all modern comforts, the hotel offers a family atmosphere, carefully supervised cuisine with traditional Ticinese and Italian dishes (pizzeria with wood-burning oven) and a cellar stocked with regional and classic wines. The first-floor banqueting room can seat up to 140 people.All 55 rooms are equipped with private bathroom/toilet/shower, hair-dryer, satellite TV, radio, telephone and safe; some rooms also have a balcony. In just a few words: the ideal holiday location in a lovely hotel at attractive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dell Angelo
Dell Angelo Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing