We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price- lots of plus' and minuses..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel La Rinascente
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during the Moon and Stars Concert time.
Positive:
Attempt at modern image combined with "old world"
Location close the the Piazza Grande
Cleanliness- both in reception, restaurant and rooms
Breakbuffet- left not wishes open
Friendliness of service personnel (tessiner lady, who served breakfast and occupied the reception, as well as the young lady at breakfast)
garden sitting place
cleanliness after rooms cleaned daily

Negative:
Extremly difficult to find by car
stairs from reception and entrance for suitcases
WLAN VERY slow, and needed to be typed in whenever leaving the laptop for 5 minutes
bathroom soooo small, and without place to unpack makeup or toiletries- If anyone was more that 80 kilos or 175cm tall, they would have trouble maneuvering around from sink to toilet, and closing door

room size (small)-we had room 11 - which brings me to the value for money- for SFr. 280.00- a room with a slanted roof, bathroom INSIDE the room and windows that don't open are NOT acceptable. we should have been warned of the less than ideal location.
the slanted room was a DISASTER- my husband hit his head twice- getting out of bed and even once entering the room (and he is only 173 cm tall.
reception closed early at night in case of questions-
We waited 15 minutes to check in - reception was not occupied- waiter saw and and said" please wait someone is coming"

We told the tessiner lady about our problem, and she said that she would tell the "director". Lady we were told that "in your price category" we have no other rooms for you to change to. First of all, we felt like "cheap guests"- AHA, so we should pay MORE that SFr 280.00(!) for a room for a bit of privacy while going to the toilet or not bump our head, or have a window to open for fresh air. The least, very least we expected was for the owner lady to approach us either in the evening when she was on shift or in the morning at checkout. (of course WE didn't mention it again.) added it was kind of her to offer breakfast ready at 6 in the morning, very kind. At least for the owner to mention something- (offer an Apero perhaps?) to let us know that our complaint was legitimate would have been in order.

the hotel is nice, small, kind service, and clean. However, it is missing that "little something" that was needed for it to be worth the value. I am still shaking my head when I think we paid Sfr. 560.00 for 2 nights .......

Room Tip: Be sure NOT to get room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank barbwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We found great difficulty finding the hotel situated up a very narrow road but which opened into a good free car park. Our room was minimalistic and spotless having a small balcony overlooking the neighbouring attractive garden. Dinner was superb and served impeccably with an amuse bouche as well as a surprise sweet to finish. Truly fine dining. The joint owner lent us an adaptor for the Swiss electrical sockets so we could charge up phones etc for the free WiFi. The hotel is just a short walk from the main Piazza and the lakeside. We felt very welcome guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moggieplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and we had a great stay. Will come back next time. This a bit expensive for a 3 star but well worth the money when you consider location, service, rooms and food. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alekotekno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

One of the nicest small hotels I have ever stayed at. The charming old building was recently renovated, and it looks absolutely beautiful. I spent a long time just walking around its premises and taking pictures. The rooms were just as nice, clean and well appointed, but with no A/C though. The breakfast was spectacular - food selection, service, and ambiance. Located on a nice quiet street close the centre. The owner attended to us, and she was very nice and attentive. And on top of it, all that package came at a very reasonable price. It almost made me forget that Locarno itself was a bit of a disappointment...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carpatifara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a beautiful 'bijou' hotel situated just behind the Piazza Grande in Locarno, yet very tranquil and quiet. Excellent parking facilities, quality rooms, courteous and attentive service and exquisite breakfasts !

Room Tip: Our room was north facing, looking towards the mountains behind Locarno and had a patio outside. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Hotel has a very good location (near the Piazza Grande) and the rooms are modern and very clean. The bathroom is separated by a milky glass wall only and if you travel by two and you are looking for a very high privacy, then this may disturb you....
The reastaurant in the Hoel is excellent and the atmosphere in the beatifully renovated building is very charming. Staff and the management are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very sympathetic and fairly priced design hotel.

Rooms have bathrooms that cannot be properly closed and standard rooms are fairly small.

Other than that the hotel is very close to the centre of Locarno and very nicely decorated.

Breakfast is decent ( we did not have other meals) and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisender020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.4 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#9 of 27 in Locarno
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#15 of 27 in Locarno
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel La Rinascente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel La Rinascente

Address: via al Tazzino 3, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range: £109 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel La Rinascente 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel La Rinascente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing