We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and best location”
Review of Hotel Garni DU LAC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Central and best location”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

More central at such excellent cost-benefit ratio is not possible, and just a stone's throw from the ship's berth to go on a cruise across Lago Maggiore and, the rack railway to excellent vantage points, such as the pilgrimage church 'Madonna del Sasso' and Alpe di Gardada. The nearby situated Piazza Grande is just another great sight surrounded by a few good/excellent restaurants. The rooms with balconies overlooking lake and piazza are very comfortable and the entire Hotel extremely clean. The breakfast is very diverse and nice to enjoy on the sunny terrace. The receptionist is a very professional and polite young lady with a good knowledge of the region and multilingual. Bikers do not find a protected parking in the immediate neighbourhood and the adjacent public underground car park reportedly prohibitet for biks. However, the Hotel, city and surrounds are throughout the year a highlight and accessible from everywhere as well by train [!]. Public transport is well developed.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with view to the lake and piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    50
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
43
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I loved this hotel. We were helped by Rosemarie, front desk, in locating a phone number, and with train schedules. The breakfast buffet offered meat, cheese, juice, pastries, fresh-made-for-you capuchin, granola/cereal, yoghurt, breads, spreads/chocolate. When weather permits, enjoy that buffet on their terrace. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I took a long time trying to decide where to stay in Locarno but definitely made the right choice. This is a delightful hotel with wonderful staff. The location is great – right on the pedestrianised Pizza Grande square and a few steps from the lakefront, ferries etc. And it’s only a couple of hundred metres of easy walking from the train station. No need to get a taxi.

All the reception staff I encountered spoke excellent English and were just so helpful. They gave me advice on where to go and a discount ticket to use when I took the Cardada cable car. I received a very warm welcome when I arrived and was delighted to find I had been given a beautiful corner room. When travelling alone in Europe, you get used to being given small and often dingy single rooms but this was completely different. I had asked for a lake view and got a bright double room with full length windows and an iron balustrade on one side overlooking the Piazza Grande and French doors on the other side opening onto a little balcony, with table and chairs and a lovely lake view. The room was very clean with two armchairs, the bed was very comfortable and there was a modern spotless, bathroom. It was quiet at night although the white curtains did let a bit of light in.

A good breakfast was served in a pleasant room next to a lovely guest lounge with plenty of tourist material to browse. It’s just a few steps to the beautiful waterfront promenade, the ferries, the funicular etc. Locarno is a delightful place to relax and enjoy the stunning surroundings. Food in Switzerland is very dear but there’s a very reasonably priced café on the Via della Stazione with excellent food. It has various stations where you choose your food from a wide variety and then pay at the cash register. I wish I’d found it earlier in my stay.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay at the Hotel au Lac again. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view and even better, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladybentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This small boutique hotel is just a stones throw form the waters edge in Locarno, Switzerland. Small but very stylish rooms can be had for a reasonable price...it is Switzerland remember! some rooms even have glimpses of the Lake, boats, and the colourful gelatarias and cafes along the shoreline.

Room Tip: ask for a room to the side with Lake glimpses
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAdgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Lovely little 3* hotel in the heart of Locarno halfway between the railway station and the Piazza Grande, so perfect for just about everything. Charming multilingual staff (German, French, English, Czech as well as Italian). My room (208) was sparkling clean, with full length windows with a wrought iron balustrade, not a balcony but I had not asked for one so this was still very welcome. The room had twin beds, 2 armchairs, wardrobe and desk, not huge but plenty of space for one or 2 people. It was possibly the quietest hotel room I've ever had in a city centre; I had the window open through the night and slept brilliantly! The bathroom is, again, spotless and not huge but well laid out. Breakfast is very good, fruit, joghurts, muesli, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses, lovely fresh bread and rolls, variety of honeys and jams and an orange squeezer for fresh juice. They don't do a cooked breakfast but this should not be expected at a 3* hotel garni anyway and I was stuffed on what I had. Also great fresh coffee on demand. I thoroughly recommend this and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All rooms have either a proper balcony or a balustrade. The 4th floor (5th if you are American) has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

After a few days in Zurich and Davos, we ventured down to this lovely little place along the water. WOW, it was sunny and right in the middle of a small shopping district and the old part of the city. Not that there is a huge city, just very quiet and relaxing. The hotel took great care of all of our needs, the staff was awesome for suggestions and did all they could to ensure a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room on the water side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n17wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We used this as a base to bungee jump the Verzasca dam, and it was a great decision. The room had a balcony that overlooked the plaza and the lake, which was very soothing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The area is beautiful and we would consider basing here while exploring the area some more.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.3 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Millennium
Hotel Garni Millennium
#11 of 28 in Locarno
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni DU LAC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni DU LAC

Property: Hotel Garni DU LAC
Address: via alla Ramogna 3, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni DU LAC 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Du Lac has a privileged position, indeed it's located in the pedestrian zone in the heart of Locarno and only 150 meters from the Piazza Grande; meeting point for many events that occur throughout the year. For those who prefer to travel by train, the Hotel is located just 200 meters from the train station of Locarno. If you choose to come by car instead, a parking garage "Parking Centro" is 20 meters from the Hotel entrance. Parking places are available at a special price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garni DU LAC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Du Lac Locarno
Garni Du Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing