We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but cramped and pricey”
Review of Hotel Mirafiori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mirafiori
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Barely enough room for three in our room intended for three. We more or less could move around just one at a time. And NO ventilation! We left our balcony doors open for air at night, but this was awkward as the room faced the tiny pool area and others' rooms. Breakfast on the terrace was generous however, with a gorgeous view of the city and gracious service. We loved being up there, away from the buzz of the city below. Mirafiore guests can buy deeply discounted funicular tix at the front desk, and the funicular is of course so much fun.

As for the price, it was ridiculously high, but the everything in Locarno will leave your wallet smoking!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank las718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel.

- Ridiculous high surcharge price-gauging
- Way out the way
- Crucial things don't work

On departure, this hotel (and its not cheap)
charges an an additional 30 Euro "surprise" surcharge per child per night,
even under 4's, even newborns get a surcharge - this really mounts up and seems unfair and ridiculous.
We travel a lot and travelled for 4 weeks just through Switzerland - we have never
encountered child surcharges of any sort - NOT PLEASANT. On departure we obviously questioned the
surcharge and it was explained it was for "breakfast and service", well the baby sleeps in our bed, and he doesn't eat breakfast - so that was essentially 30 euro per night for ??? - the staff just said, they don't really understand either but have to charge it - its policy !

Also note:
1. This hotel is nowhere near the train station, there is no way any normal person can get here without a car - its a cable car ride, then a very long walk up endless hills that almost killed us every day, we are super-fit, and cannot see how others could ever do this easily with luggage.
The hotel is on multi levels outside rooms - but they are all up outside stairs and really badly lit
at night - if at all.

2. there's a small pool and spa - middle of summer (and supposed to be heated) and absolutely freezing our whole stay, so... no-one uses them, what's the point?

3. Electricity sometimes just shuts off at night - no warning or explanation, except "this doesn't happen in Switzwerland" - well... it does, you need a backup generator for basics - like "lights" especially as the rooms are up lots of outdoor stairs, and its really darned dangerous.

But the child surcharge really just took the biscuit.

Room Tip: Careful as most all rooms are up many flights of outside stairs, and stairs are dark or unlit at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We really liked this hotel. On the spur of the moment, we decided to go up to Switzerland for a long weekend, picked Locarno off the map and Hotel Mirafiori from Trip Advisor, and the whole thing was a happy surprise. The hotel sits on the slope above Locarno and provided a wonderful view of lake and mountains from our room's private terrace. (Other rooms have balconies.) This turned out to be a good location, because the funicular to downtown is only 5 minutes away, and the hotel offers highly discounted tickets. It's the same distance to the cable car that goes up the mountain, connecting with the chair lift for a 200-kilometer panorama of the Swiss Alps. Hotel staff were unfailingly helpful, and we enjoyed the German-style continental breakfast with a selection of breads, meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, muesli, cereal, yogurt and more. The hotel restaurant is good, and desk staff can recommend restaruants in the neighborhood for variety. (We especially enjoyed Grottino, just down the hill.) Our only criticism is that rooms are on the small side, with rather low ceilings, and seem a bit overpriced, but everything in Switzerland always costs more than in the Mediterranean countries. The large terrace helped with the claustrophobia, and we found so much to do in the area that we weren't spending that much time in the room, anyway. Bed pillows were extremely soft and squishy, so that neck and head didn't get good support, even when the pillow was doubled over. But these are niggling points. If we were to go to Lucarno again, we'd stay at the Mirafiori, and we wouldn't hestitate to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Room no. 12 has the best terrace and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuNanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We brought our family from Canada there and we was a little bit nervous with the quality of the service we found in Switzerland hotels but we was very happily surprised with this hotel. The service is just incredible ! During the supper on the beautiful terrace, we talked with the owner of the place. A very carring and beautiful woman.
Her dauther was at the desk when we arrive and I have to admit that I never had a service like that in a hotel in Switzerland, and I see a lot of hotels from 1 to 5 stars ! This one is just the best !
I would go back there anytime and I strongly recommend this hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

A wonderful hotel. Built on a hill but with lifts. We stayed in a superior room of good medium size with a big very comfortable double bed, a corner with nice chairs, and a table and huge balcony on which there was plenty of room for two loungers and two chairs and a table. We had a shower with excellent hot water. The air conditioning worked very well. The hotel brochure said the staff were there to help and they lived up to this description. Dinner was five courses and more than adequate and we dined on a terrace overlooking tops of houses and the lake below. Our room was self-contained up a few steps and on the same level as the small swimming pool. There were plenty of loungers by the pool with umbrellas. In the room we had a television, and a dvd player. It was possible to borrow a few dvd's free of charge but probably worth-while to bring one's own. There was a safe and a kettle with cups, tea, coffee, sugar, etc. In the room there was not a mini-bar but there was a large chill cupboard near reception based on the same principle so drinks were always available. The restaurant was open all day for snacks or a cold meal. Our friend who was with us had a standard room which did not have a kettle, a safe or air-conditioning and was smaller than our room. Also she had a much smaller balcony. Wheel-chair access might be a problem. We do not know if there were any special rooms without steps. There is a good taxi service available and a bus not to far. In the evening there is a special bus/taxi down to Locarno at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SueTravelsTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floco50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.7 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#9 of 27 in Locarno
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#14 of 27 in Locarno
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Muralto
Hotel Garni Muralto
#3 of 27 in Locarno
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirafiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirafiori

Address: via al Parco 25, Locarno 6644, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mirafiori 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mirafiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing