We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't believe it has just 2 stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rondinella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rondinella
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“can't believe it has just 2 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

excellent location, friendly and efficient staff, cleaned and nice breakfast
simply perfect

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

Location of the hotel is good - close to train station and with nice view towards the lake but one major problem - it is located on the main street in Locarno and traffic noise is 24hrs non-stop. If you fancy some sleep, if is almost impossible with the windows open. And it is too hot and stuffy to sleep with windows closed but we were told with extra CHF20/day we can get the controller to the airconditioning in the room. Something we weren't told when we booked the hotel. We checked out after one night though initially we booked for three.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2007

I enjoyed my recent stay at Garni Rondinella. The owners are very nice, the rooms clean and comfortable and the location is the best in Locarno. The hotel is very easy to find from the train station and most rooms have a view of Lake Maggiore. It is in the heart of Locarno, so the hotel is very convenient to shopping areas and lake trips. I would definitely stay here again. I debated between staying in Locarno and Lugano and was glad I choose Locarno, because it is smaller and much easier to navigate than Lugano.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — outdated furniture
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjnbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2004

The Rondinella is right on the harbours edge with beautiful views across the lake to the mountains from the balconies (ask for a south facing room). Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and spacious. Breakfast excellent. Try the restuarant downstairs for simple but delicious local dishes

Helpful?
5 Thank ianperthaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2004

We stayed at the Rondinella in May of 2004 and recommend it without reservation. Here's why:--location is the best--two blocks from the train station and across the street from the lake and the Piazza Grande shopping area--hotel and rooms were immaculate--you could eat off the floors.--the price is unbeatable--140chf/nt for a double with breakfast--great view of Lago Maggiore from many rooms--lovely, friendly and helpful owner, Ms. Bachstein-Rondalli, who speaks English, Italian and German and goes out of her way to make your stay pleasant--refrigerator in room, balcony, good sized bathroom and cable tv that has english speaking channels, in addition to french, italian and germanTry this hotel--it's a true find. Website is: http---------------------------------------

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ICB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Millennium
Hotel Garni Millennium
#10 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Geranio au Lac
Hotel Geranio au Lac
#16 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#3 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rondinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rondinella

Property: Hotel Rondinella
Address: via nuova Dogana 4, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rondinella 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rondinella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondinella Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing