We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We've just come back from a weekend trip to Locarno having stayed at the Excelsior. The location is brilliant - a 10 min walk from the station and from the Piazza Grande. It's also only 2 minutes away from the shores of the lake, but one block back which means you don't hear the sounds of the traffic on the main road.

The staff were very helpful and the family room that we booked was good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kashifinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We chose this hotel based on positive feedback from friends and we were not disappointed! Hotel is located along the lake a few meters from the city center and lake.
Beautiful, bright, colorful, fragrant anything you want. Minibar at low cost, a line Wi-Fi, well kept and the rooms are well furnished, spacious and comfortable and very clean. The prices are reasonable, fabulous, by the kindness of the employees and owners. The breakfast buffet is excellent, consisting of cereals, meats and cheeses, fruit and bread rolls, such as fruit juices, coffee or tea.
It 'was one of my best hotel experience I ever had.
Council to all travelers

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frizkrebser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bregenz, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

This is our review of the „Hotel Excelsior“ in Locarno where we had probably the worst hotel-experience ever in our career. So the first and most important recommendation for others is: book wherever you choose to in Locarno just make a big circle around this place!!!

On August 28th we decided to escape the bad weather in Vorarlberg/Austria to train at Lago Maggiore for two days. We are professional triathletes and in preparation for the Ironman World Championship 2010 in October. Due to our work we are travelling a lot and spend a good amount of time per year in hotels around the world from 3 star-level to world-class resorts like the Westin on Langkawi/MY.
As the decision to travel to Locarno came as quick as the bad weather in Austria and our hideaway in Cannobio/ITA was fully booked, we choose a place close to the newly renovated pool in Locarno.
Hotel Excelsior seemed a good pick (the only good point in the whole story as we would find out later), we called and reserved a (finally tiny) double-room with no balcony (the last free one as we were told) even if the price of 160,-sfr (approx. 125 Euros) seemed pretty high for a 3-star-standard.
Already on the phone the person I was talking to (later we found out that he seems to be the owner, he played the main role in our nightmare) was pretty arrogant. However as we were under time-pressure we reserved the room and off we were towards Locarno.

When we arrived in Locarno we quickly checked in and were told that the breakfast would start at 8am (our plan was to get on the bike for our long training-ride the latest at 8am and breakfast would have been digested already at that time). We asked if there would be a chance to start maybe 30min. earlier to stay in our training-schedule for the day. No, no chance! Clear answer!
So we swallowed that and went out for our ride and run training. Arriving back we were concerned to leave our expensive time-trial machines in our car overnight (we are talking about gear worth 25.000,-€) and politely asked if there might be a place somewhere in a corner to keep the bikes inside overnight (99,9% of the hotels store it somewhere save for us). The same person as before replied that there would be no space for „this“ and generally there would be no bikes allowed in the hotel (ours are probably cleaner than the hotel we are talking about itself).
Anybody who frequently travels knows how much support different accodomodations are providing to active people. The client is in the center of your effort to be satisfied. This usually expands over the normal standard to keep the customer happy.
OK, we left the bikes in the car, looked it and activated the alarm hoping that we would find a still unlocked car with all windows intact in the morning.

We got up on time the next morning, packed our stuff and hurried down to get breakfast started at 8am sharp. While my partner paid the room and informed the „owner“ that we would have a quick breakfast even though we had to leave for training. I already went into the breakfast-room and to the „juice-bar“ of the breakfast buffet (orange juice and multivitamin). I had my bike-bottle with me and filled a little orange-juice and the rest water in it as I was only supposed to have a quick piece of bread to have something in the stomach for a 170km-ride.
Suddenly the guy/“owner“ was standing besides me yelling at me if I had not seen the sign which said it was not allowed to take food out of the breakfast-room (I had not left the room at that point and not seen the hidden sign behind the „juice-bar“).
My partner tried to calm him down (she still was very polite even though he was messing up our whole weekend).
For me this was enough, no more hunger or desire to stay at this place one minute longer. I had never ever experienced something like this before and replied to him that form e it had reached the limit with his nasty style of mobbing us and that he should think about how he is treating people. I saw the other guests sitting there silently and looking pretty surprised.
I turned around and left the room hearing him say that we should better leave the hotel (can you imagine?).
We packed our stuff, left the hotel as fast as we could and tried to get back to our daily plans to forget about all the negative experience.
We know rules in hotels, we know about the rules in the dinner-rooms. We also know, coming from a country that mainly relies on tourism that you treat people as your guests and not like kids in a youth hostel or worse. Especially if they pay a lot for a totally overrated standard like the 3 by 3,50m room weh ad where barely the bed found space.
We don´t ask a lot, just a place to stay with friendly people so we can do our job (for us training belongs to the effort to make a living not to vacation).
August and high-season bring a lot of people to Locarno. Some hotels are happy to host those visitors and pamper them. Others take advantage of the fact that there are less rooms available than needed. The past has shown us that this can turn around quickly as guest have the chance to share their good and bad experience.
This is a bad one and as mentioned in the beginning the worst we ever had.
Make your time in beautiful Locarno a special one and stay away from „Hotel Excelsior“! It will save you energy, time and valuable money that you can spend better at another place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The location is great, about 10 mins walk to the Piazza grande and the same to the Port area. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast staff also great and food choice is varied and plentiful. The room is traditional with fresh bed linen and towels daily, Beds very comfy and a great size, and a safe in the room. The hotel is very clean as well as the rooms. I found the staff to be quite pleasant and helpful. Other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maierFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

wouldn't recommend this hotel. unfriendly staff, no atmosphere, spacious room but basic and no character, small balconies with no view - despite being only a 100m from Lake Maggiore.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — lack of character
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brussell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

Stayed one night in May 2007. We showed up without reservations. Staff was nice & friendly. They mostly spoke Italian and German. One fellow had enough confidence to speak English. Nice German style breakfast included. See photos. We were here in early-May, kind of an
offseason. A lot of hotels seemed closed. Hotel Excelsior seemed comparably more budget than surrounding hotels. Free street parking was plentiful along the park across the street. Hotel is maybe 100m away from the lake shore. Views from the room and bathroom are fantastic. Some rooms, on the lake side are apparently much larger with balconies. We prefer firm beds and found the room very nice and comfortable.

  • Liked — Great location. Ticino is wonderful. Staff was nice & recommended nice restaurant on asking.
  • Disliked — Everything was great.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DarthAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2006

We've just returned from three days in Locarno, where we stayed at the Excelsior Hotel. The room was extremely clean, and very quiet. The Hotel is in a quiet side street, but a few steps from the lake. Oposite is a park and a tennis club and a mini golf. The owners are very nice and helpful, and the room was very reasonably priced

Helpful?
7 Thank Paxxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Rio
Hotel Garni Rio
#7 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#3 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Locarno
Schlosshotel Locarno
#26 of 28 in Locarno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#12 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: via Simone da Locarno 12 | Postfach 1544, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing