We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in Locarno by Lake Maggiore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Garni Millennium
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My family and I booked 2 rooms at the Hotel Garni Millennium. It was a perfect location along Lake Maggiore. The morning breakfast was excellent. The staff went beyond in helping us by allowing us to store luggage and helping us figure out a bus schedule to Ticino. When we arrived back to this b&b our luggage was placed in our room. My only complaints were: the first nite we were there, we could not access wireless internet in either of our rooms and they leave the desk area by around 9 p.m. each nite. In addition, the rooms have a stale order/scent in each of them. The mattresses were very uncomfortable and I would suggest this would be one area they try to improve for the customers considering the price they charge. This hotel is expensive but the customer service is exceptional!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Millennium during end of June. We came by train. The hotel is located approx. 5 minute walk from the train station. For those that come by car, the hotel can arrange parking for a small price.
Check-in went smoothly. We had a room with balcony and lake view on first floor. The room had a good size; it had a double bed and a single bed, a desk, spacious closet, minifridge, flat screen TV and 2 windows that can open, one of them giving access to a small balcony with lake view. Unfortunately, the air conditioning could not handle the hot temperatures. Leaving the windows open during the night for a breeze was not an option because of street noise. Nevertheless, we did manage to catch some sleep because the beds were very very good. The rooms and hotel are so clean that you have to notice it. I've never seen such a clean hotel.
Breakfast is served in the breakfast room; there are a few tables outside as well. The continental breakfast is fresh and plentiful. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We took the Lago Maggiore Express trip and could buy the tickets directly at the hotel.
The Lago Maggiore Express trip is very much recommended. Do not forget your passports as you will leave Switzerland. Our day trip left from Locarno train station at 08.47 h and took us to Stresa/Isola Bella in Italy and back to Locarno by boat. Golden tip for the train from Locarno to Dommodosola: for amazing views sit on the left side in the train (side from which you enter the train). We felt sorry for those sitting on the right side.
We had about 2,5 hours "free time" in Dommodosola. We used this time to visit the market (Saturday) and to buy a delicious picknick for our boat trip. There are small butchers and bakeries and there is also a larger Coop store near the train station. The train ride to Stresa takes about 1 hour.
From Stresa, a boat takes you back to Locarno. For the best views, sit in the front of the boat or inside. Boat trip takes 3,5 hours. We arrived back in Locarno at 19.00 h.
For a great dinner, visit Restaurant Sensi, about 5 minute walk from the hotel. The food is delicious and the service very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

What a nice place! We were greeted by the friendliest staff we've seen in Switzerland, just genuinely nice people with great advice. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a balcony and lake view. I have to say that this room felt the most "luxurious" of all the other hotel rooms we stayed in during our trip. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, we had a mini bar, flat-screen tv, free wifi, A/C, really nice bathroom, etc. We really had more than expected!

I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

A really lovely small hotel , directly overlooking the lake and the walkway around the lake in Locarno.

Rates are reasonable for Europe and this location, with a small suite with a view of the lake and balcony, at 225 CHH /night.
They are pretty, clean and with a TV and radio- if you could bring yourself to turn on the TV with such a lovely view outside the window.

The hotel was very quiet , even with the close proximity to the docks.This may be different inseason.
Simple continental breakfast is included on the lower level- the coffee is very good.

I enjoyed my two night recent stay: my only objection is that there is limited English spoken at the hotel, which is certainly part of the charm, but there was a local festival the Saturday i arrived, which I wasnt informed about when I checked in, and I was disapppointed to miss it.
Staff are really helpful and very kind.

There are several good restaurants across the tip of the lake, and in the Piazza.

Hope this hotel doesn"t change.

Room Tip: There really isnt a need to take a lakeview since it so close to the lake .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmmimico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hello, thank you very much for your rating. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Millennium. I am very sorry, that you have not been informed about the events that were going on because of the limited English of the receptionist at work. She is our apprentice and is still learning English. All the other staff members and myself are pretty good English speaking. Again our excuses for this! Sunny greetings from Locarno, Sonja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have stayed here for three nights(we are checking out this morning) and will stay here again for two main reasons.....
1) the staff at the hotel: Very friendly and extremely helpful. Provided us with various info resources, maps, hints and tips etc. Great people make a great hotel. The hotel director is especially helpful.
2) Location: The hotel is located 5 min from the train station, opening up a selection of travel routes and options that can fully utilized to discover the Ticino region. Yes there's
's a "lake view" too, but that's a bonus.

Great visit. Ciao Locarno!

Room Tip: I'd actually opt for a non lake view to avoid the traffic and other sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyPat365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was a great hotel, great staff, friendly and helpful. Located in the center of town right across from the lake. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stopped off overnight on a road trip around mountain passes. Very helpful lady on reception who spoke great english and helped us get the car parked! Its a jazz themed hotel with all the rooms named after jazz musicians wich was a nice touch. Had a room with lake view wich did not dissapoint with spectacular views. Clean well equipped rooms and wifi. The breakfast was perfectly adequate, usual cold meats breads and croissants. Great hotel and location on the lake front with nice nearby resturants.

Room Tip: Get a lake view, if its sunny its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 26 in Locarno
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Muralto
Hotel Garni Muralto
#3 of 26 in Locarno
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 26 in Locarno
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 26 in Locarno
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel City Locarno
Hotel City Locarno
#6 of 26 in Locarno
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Millennium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Millennium

Address: via nuova Dogana 2, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range: £89 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Millennium 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garni Millennium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing