We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located in Central Locarno.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garni Millennium
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel in Locarno. Pros: excellent location right in the city center, walking distance from everywhere, nice breakfast (selection of cheeses, bread, croissants, etc.), clean rooms, with electric kettle and tea, staff was nice and helpful. There is a very good tourist information office just nearby. Locarno itself was a good starting point for a trip to the nearby mountains and small towns. Cons: no hotel parking but a five-minute walking parking lot with discounted daily parking rates, the city itself doesn't have much to do in, other than walking along the lake shore.
There was an option of adding CHF65 for a balcony room, but we didn't want it and settled for a regular room. We drove to Verzasca Valley for a day trip, very nice with walking trails, and nature options (boulders, bridges, waterfall).

Room Tip: There was an option of adding CHF65 for a balcony room, but we didn't want it and settled for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haramachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Easy walking distance to train station ... priceless location on Locarno's waterfont right across from ferry terminal, yet amazingly quiet nights ... clean spacious room with balcony ... very nice breakfast ... lovely terrace cafes, restaurants and shopping nearby. And the staff were truly gracious, attentive and accommodating. All this at a very fair price!

My only problem -- wishing I was still there ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pravihrvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As we were travelling by rail we chose this hotel due to its proximity to the railway station, just two blocks away. We booked a room overlooking the lake. It was very quiet at this time of year and we heard no street noise during the night. Both the room and bathroom were very clean and well maintained. Just across the road we could take a boat to the Brissago islands and to Ancona. The old town and shopping centre (mostly under arcades, so great on a rainy day) was just a two-minute walk away. There are a number of excellent restaurants just along the promenade.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sybil20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel was in an excellent location for transport and the grand plaza. The room was a good size..however shower was quite small. Very clean and comfortable and rooms were made up daily with fresh towels. Breakfast was simple but more than adequate with choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurts, cheeses, meats and breads etc. Great cafe latte with refills offered until satisfied. A very good quality 3 star hotel .. Price was quite high, however with no other experience to compare with other Swiss hotels this may be typical of Locarno.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Raina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Cute rooms b&b atmosphere. Very clean. Tea in room but coffee downstairs. Centrally located but a little noisy. Just 50 meters from the Embarcadero. Take the boat to the Prissogo Islands. It is frequently sunny in Lucarno when it is overcast further north.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Quaint little hotel in the best location of beautiful Locarno. We stepped off the boat from Stressa and walked 10 meters cross the road to the front door of the hotel, and was greeted by a friendly receptionist who helped us with maps, list of restaurants, and other ideas.
Two blocks back is the railway and bus station. Best room in the hotel is the corner balcony room (Billy Holiday Room) where you can see boats coming and going, and entertainers on the foreshore. Nice restaurant just along the lake one block away is SENSI where the waiters are mature men who know their wine and are willing to have a conversation with you while enjoying their work. Locarno is a beautiful town - well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Billy Holiday Room was great for us, but if you want seclusion a back room would be better. We enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks nice and clean.. However i had the most terriable stay in my life.. The hotel changes my room 2 times because they were fully booked.. They moved my stuff from room to another with unacceptable way.. I had a cheese on my fridge they just took it.. And in last night they didnot find a room for us so they decided to book in a different hotel which is in a different area and very hard to reach and put our clothes on a dirty storage.. They even dis not close my shampoo bottle and all my clothes got damaged.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone as you might lose you stuff or they move you from day to another

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hany_Khorazaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnimillennium, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Garni Millennium, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Mr. Khorazaty,
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in the hotel this time. It seems a little bit strange to us what you are writing as things were a little different. That's why we would like to answer to your comment.
1. You were already guest in our hotel before and came back again for 2 nights. Strange that a guest is coming back to a hotel he did not like at all and where he was not treated well. Especially when there were plenty of free rooms in other hotels.
2. You have booked for 2 nights at the check-in. At the end of your stay you wanted to stay three nights and you were insisting that you have booked three nights instead of two. A booking for three nights was impossible as we were already fully booked. We wanted to help you and were looking for another hotel just next to ours (not at all difficult to reach) where we booked a room for you.
3. You did not leave the room at the day of departure after check-out time. You left all your things behind and we had to call you reminding you to leave the room. You answered us that you were out of town and that we should put your things together.
4. We for sure did not store your things in a dirty place, there are no dirty places in the hotel. It is possible that we did not close well a shampoo and we would like to excuse us for this! But normally guests are putting there things together when they should ckeck-out, not the hotel staff.
5. You had to change the room, this is correct but you knew about this when you checked-in and we think you agreed, otherwise you would have gone somewhere else.
6. Again about the "unreachable" hotel. We would like to say again, that this hotel is just accross the street and a very well known hotel in Locarno. We have explained the way to you more than once. We have reserved a room for you and the morning after the hotel called us asking us why you did not arrive. We had no explanation for this. In the morning you came again to our hotel because of the cheese you left behind. We asked you where you have been as you did not check-in to the hotel. Your answer was that you could not find it and that you slept in another hotel. We honestly cannot unserstand how this is possible. The hotel you slept is much more complicated to reach.
7. Not to forget: The hotel we have booked for you wanted to have the money from us for the night because you did not go there. We had a big discussion with them as it was not our fault that you did not arrive. We normally collaborate very well with the hotels in the neighbourhood and we never ever had problems before.

We normally take into consideration all critics and if we make a mistake, we always search a way to resolve it and if you look at all the other comments we have very good comments.

We are sorry for what happened, sorry for you but especially sorry for us to read a comment like this on Tripadvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Muralto
Hotel Garni Muralto
#3 of 27 in Locarno
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 27 in Locarno
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Hotel Dell'Angelo
#23 of 27 in Locarno
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Millennium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Millennium

Address: via nuova Dogana 2, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range: £72 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Millennium 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garni Millennium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing