We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was not only perfect - it was even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is my first time, that I take the time to write a review about a hotel. Considering this, you can imagine, how good it was! All my expectation were not only fulfilled, the were exceeded!
I invited my boyfriend to Locarno for his birthday. It was very important to me, that we have a perfect weekend together, as we had some rough times behind us. I was also a little nervous and sceptical.
When we arrived we received a very kind and warm welcome. She remembered from my order that my boyfriend will celebrate his birthday and made sure, he was not able to see the price :)
She also offered me a bigger room and I could see both rooms and decided then, which one I preferred. I was very happy, since I ordered a very small room.
She explained everything and was very helpful and supportive.
For breakfast we received a marvellous meal. Rosé, orange juice, water, croissants, piadina, jogurt and everything was prepared in a very lovely way.
They also prepared a candle for my boyfriend's birthday.
They asked
It was absolutely lovely, clean, super sweet decoration. I can only totally consider it whenever you are in Locarno. Within 10minutes you are in Ascona. It is very near.

Room Tip: for couples who prefer a bigger room, with a little balcony, you should ask for the room called '...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChetyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Well. Sometimes you are happy with your bookings, somtimes not. Yesterday, when staying in Zurich, my wife & I took a couple of locals suggestions as to where to stay for a couple more days in Switzerland. Well, this place is cuuuttee as. Attention to detail is great. Service is great. Rooms are clean, neat, tidy, fresh & arty. Very close walk to the old part of town, which is where you want to be! Only 5 to 8 min walk to the train station! Great place. Nicely relaxing town. Lovely people! Do it!!

Room Tip: Not much English, but with free WIFI, and google translate, and the managers neice on the end of a m...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were disappointed because no dogs allowed even there was a huge dog in the breakfeast room in the morning. So we had to leave our little dog in the car.I found the bathroom a bit too small. ... But well equipped. The room was also small but very nice decorated. The breakfast was indeed a unique experience of excellence! ... very friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemens Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caffedellarte, Proprietario at Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Clemens Z,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our breakfast and we suggest you to try it during summer, when it is served in our courtyard!

Regarding our no pets allowed policy, I think there must have been a misunderstanding. On our website and on all our other booking channels we state that pets are not allowed in the Bed and Breakfast. We also add this information in the confirmation that you have received once completing the reservation.
Pets are not allowed in Bed and Breakfast where our guests sleep, but are welcome in our Café during our daily opening time. We also have an area were dogs can drink water or eat.
The dog you saw was at the Cafè.

I hope this clarifies the misunderstanding and we hope to welcome you at Caffè dell’Arte soon.

Kind regards
Emanuele Patelli
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I went to the caffe dell Arte for my fiance's birthday and booked the room charme sauvage zèbre. The room was pretty big and the atmosphere extremelly well aranged (you even enjoy an iPad at your disposal). The location is rigth in the center and really close to the piazza del grande. The hotel managers are wonderful, you are really looked after. The breakfast is amazing! The quantity is big, so on the second day we could not finished it. Therefore, we were proposed to transform these tasty leftovers into sandwiches for our lunch! How cool is that! We paid 269 chf per night which is expensive, but be sure you will have a quality experience for that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Caffe' dell'Arte is a simply charming boutique B&B with very original zany decor and a friendly relaxing atmosphere. A perfect spot for a romantic get-away if you seek a total contrast to business hotels or impersonal hotel chains...but don't rely on communicating in English; we managed with French & German and have vowed to learn Italian. A wonderful feast of a breakfast was served with artistic flair by one of the sister co-owners.
Excellent location with everything within walking distance including the Locarno train station, Lake Maggiore boats (about 10 minutes on foot), restaurants & shops (less than 5 mins). We used the lockers at Locarno station (CHF 6) to safely deposit our luggage after check-out; they are generously sized and even fitted the faux-fur-trimmed umbrella I couldn't resist buying from the Caffe' dell'Arte boutique.
The only downside was street noise (scooters, deliveries) on Via Cittadella around 6.45am on Monday as Locarno awoke. This didn't trouble us, we just had to close the window. It was incredibly peaceful the rest of the stay.
My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Only 2 of the 7 rooms have a balcony. These face the courtyard (perhaps quieter) & should have...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The B&B is on the nice location in the old town, the people are kind, rooms are spacious and the best part - at least for us - was breakfast. Not buffet, but continental. We did not expect much, but what a surprise - served in style, excellent choice of everything, aestethically perfect, you don't get something like this even in a 5star hotels. Some guests actually took pictures of a prepared table.
The downside of this hotel is, that it is in the old building and no matter how nicely it is decorated, you can hear almost everything from the neighbouring rooms, the walls are thin and the doors are old.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

we booked 2 nights at locarno and wished we had stayed longer.

when we arrived at the hotel it looked like a shopfront that sold little art pieces. so adorable.
we were taken to our rooms. they were spectacular. everything was thought of. so much passion for art. if you prefer boutique hotels over large chains this place is for you.

the two sisters who owned and ran the hotel were SO helpful and lovely. we asked them each night where we should book for dinner. everywhere they recommended was fantastic and authentic. one night we walked a block away and shared a huge fondue. probably the best i'd ever had. make sure you book as their were only 6 tables.

the rooms were clean and spacious. they had wifi which was great. the hotel was also very central to the main piazza and shopping/eating areas.

another great thing was the breakfasts. a generous serving of yogurt, croissants, fresh breads butter, jams, salumi, cheeses, fresh fruit and coffee. its not a buffet but the girls served ALOT of food which kept us full till dinner.

i will definitely return to caffe dell arte when next in switzerland. the people are warm and generous.

Room Tip: all the rooms are unique and all have windows and views of the street.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 27 in Locarno
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel La Rinascente
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms

Address: via Cittadella 9, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range: £102 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms is in a restored historic building, dating back to the 15th century. It is situated only 50 metres from Locarno's Piazza Grande, where the annual Locarno Film Festival, Moon and Stars Festival and Locarno on Ice are held. Free WiFi is available. The non-smoking rooms are unique in their design and different from one another. They come with a flat-screen TV and some also feature access to a balcony. Breakfast is prepared using fresh local products.The Caffe dell'Arte features a large courtyard sheltered by walls and allows one to fully relax whilst sipping an espresso, a creamy cappuccino or a hot chocolate. You can enjoy arts and culture in a relaxed Mediterranean atmosphere, far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Around the Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms you can find a great variety of restaurants offering everything from typical dishes from Ticino to nouvelle cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing