We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meals and Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cantinone

Cantinone
Ranked #44 of 379 Restaurants in Lugano
Cuisines: Italian, Swiss, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good meals and Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Osso bucco and risotto are good. The terrace is pleasant and relax

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fabs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    109
    62
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Large restaurant with an incredible menu to choose from. There were 5 of us and we all enjoyed our meals.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank brandimarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticino
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best pizzeria”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went there after a few years hoping their cuisine had improved: it hasn't, our pizzas were not as fine as they should. The service also could be better.

Helpful?
Thank Esyl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Perfect pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Have been coming to this place for more than 10 years now, and with an Italian wife for quality control. Perfect pizzas, friendly and efficient service, the restaurant will be full with locals. No problems with being a single dinner, a late show, or wanting to have an espresso outdoors on the 2nd of January - the staff caters to all with a smile. Pizzas are thin crust with maybe too many choices for toppings, but most really are typical. Also recommend the antipasti selection - the sausages and salamis are quite exceptional.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sol500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We went to Restorante Cantinone at the recommendation of our swiss friend - Chiara who also hails from Lugano. As recommended, the experience at cantinone turned out to be excellent. The staff was very friendly and the food was amazing. My wife is a vegetarian. However, there were ample vegetarian choices available, which our smiling waitress was most happy to recommend. The pizzas and rissotto which we had at Caninone were amongst the best in our entire trip of Switzerland.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honsinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantinone also viewed

 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Cantinone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing