We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...even Vegetarians get something really nice :-)”
Review of Orologio

Orologio
Ranked #38 of 393 Restaurants in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$117
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Savino Angioletti’s “Orologio”, star of the Ticino restaurants since 1907, is a must for all the true lovers of food and drink. Always frequented by loyal traditionalists and experimenters of new tastes, is now a must even for some of the most famous contemporary artists and international musicians. Pasta, risotto, meat and fish: the common denominator is the focus on the prime quality raw materials and the firings. Also the vegetarian and the vegan dishes, with an extensive menu reserved for those who love healthy cooking without meat or gluten free. The enveloping and soft colors of wood come together with a fresh, friendly, suitable place for quick lunches, business lunches and romantic dinners.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“...even Vegetarians get something really nice :-)”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were there for an arranged dinner with a booked course for roughly 30 people. The food was great, and the chef was flexible to prepare a last minute excellent and quite unique Vegetarian course so nicely, that some of the meat-eaters decided to turn Vegetarian the next time :-)
An all-over beautiful evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    64
    17
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We were here with a group of 30 people! It was no problem to eat a la carte for the hole group. Great food, all biological and local products. Excellent winelist and friendly staff. A perfect dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kilidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderful evening”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

As usual in Italian restaurants, bring a local or at least someone who speaks the language.
We got a place without reservation, so we were lucky. Excellent cuisine and impeccable service. I was pleasantly surprised with tuna which was exactly to my taste (grilled, but raw inside).

This restaurant features a great selection of wines. I would recommend it to people who understand wines and who need something special for their meals. The owner and the staff will do their best to propose a good wine with the meal.

Quite a few people were there for a special occasion, which created a nice festive atmosphere. Probably a bit more expensive than I expected, but worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElRettore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good place especially for lunch”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

At lunch, an attractive menu, good service, and efficient service. It seems that the clientele is mostly business people but we also saw one family. The food s excellent. We tried both fish and steak, happy with both.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Love this place, when we in town we usually have lunch or dinner here.
The food is delicious, nicely presented and you get really good portions.
The wine is always perfectly matched.
The service is impeccable, we have come with our big dog and they accommodate us with no problem even when the restaurant is full.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orologio also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing