We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
Review of La Tinera

La Tinera
Ranked #5 of 380 Restaurants in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We just ate here and believe me, if you know and love Italian food then you will not be disappointed when you come here. My husband and I shared a cold meat selection with a salad and complimentary pickled vegetables. He had cotechino (Italian sausage) with lentils and potatoes, I had risotto con porcini mushrooms and we washed it down with an espresso. Hubby had a wine too. The waiter was very attentive and as we paid by card we didn't leave a tip but if they can gain another customer from this review then we have given a good tip. We loved it and wished it was open Sundays as we were wanting to go there yesterday but a lot of Lugano is closed on Sundays. Shame.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    196
    62
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well-prepared local food, friendly service, a place with character”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This place is the only "grotto" in the town of Lugano. Grottos are usually in the country and have country food, locally prepared and sometimes even grown. It is a Ticino characteristic. La Tinera is billed as such a grotto. A characteristic is that wine is served in little cups rather than glasses.

The food is very good and plain. Every night there is a special of that day besides the extensive menu. On Fridays there is fish. On the day we went they had liver Venetian style which was very good. Both pastas and meat dishes are good. We have been there a few times and have been pleased each time.

The location is a bit tricky but it is still right in the center of town. You walk down the stairs to reach it. The room is cozy and warm.

Definitely a place to try if you are in Lugano a few days. Not fancy but characteristic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Consistently Very Good”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

La Tinera is a bit off the beaten track in downtown Lugano. It is located in what I would refer to as a basement. The food is well prepared and the service is very efficient. The afternoon we were there it was crowded with business people, but were were taken care of promptly. We especially enjoy the pasta and the wine. The prices are reasonable given the quality and quantity of food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vigevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good home-cooked style food”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at la tinera, hidden around a corner, the food was very tasty and hearty lending to a home-cooked feel. The restaurant is small, but warm. However, we felt that the waiters treated us as an obligation as they became annoyed when we asked questions about the menu, and the one even walked away while we were placing our order for primis. Other than that the food was good.

Helpful?
Thank creepingitreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You must eat here”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Food is top-notch. Great atmosphere. Service is solid. This place is the real thing. If you are in Lugano and appreciate a great meal, La Tinera is a must.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tinera also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to La Tinera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing