We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel and great value!”
Review of Locanda Castagnola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda Castagnola
Ranked #3 of 22 Lugano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little hotel and great value!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and comfortable for a great price. The view if you have a room facing the lake is very nice. The free breakfast is a standard buffet, no hot food but the staff will make you a great coffee. Affordable and clean, would recommend to anyone on a budget.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonandJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
47
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
1,619 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 821 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this place for 2 nights and here is my opinion on it.
Nice and clean basic hotel located in a city named castagnola which is 10 minutes from Lugano , bus #2 takes you there but if you have a car it's better because parking it's free.
Out room did not have lake view which was not a big deal but it was located at the front of the property and it gets really noisy with all the cars and bikes passing at night.
No air conditioning in the rooms but you don't need it, room had a safety box which you won't need because people in switZerland are so educated they won't steal from you.
The family is very pleasant and friendly and they speak about 4 languages, and the breakfast is delicious normal for Europe. No elevator so you carry your things. Prices are little high but everything is high here in this country so enjoy a couple of nights here and make sure you follow the olive trail , it's a couple of steps from the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda NL
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We keep coming back here because the staff are so helpful, the rooms are so clean and comfortable (all seem to have been refurbished recently, with soft beds, new linen and decent toiletries) and although the Locanda is simple, it has everything we need. The restaurant stayed open late one evening just for us, because we got very delayed on our journey, and the chef was totally kind and helpful, making us a fresh, lovely meal. Stay here - its a little way out of Lugano, but very affordable, and the breakfast is also excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. They cost the same as the rest, and some have nice little balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyonTiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

...but close to a little village of local renown whose name escapes me. There's a lovely trail along the lake that will take you there. The hotel itself was pleasant, no complaints. Good breakfast. View of the lake. Great, personalised service from a multilingual gentleman. The hotel is a bit far from Lugano centre however - bit of a hike on foot. Better by car or bike. There are a couple of restaurants right nearby, although I can't recommend the one we went to - it's right across the street on the corner. Overall - recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalalaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Perhaps the title is unfair. We arrived in Lugano by train, and found after an expensive cab ride that there was not much going on in this part of the city, not that we need much excitement. The hotel itself was excellent. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was the best of any I have ever had in Europe, not the typical "continental" breakfast. The room was clean. The fellow who manned the front desk and took care of breakfast spoke four languages, and I heard him using all four as he was assisting guests in the dining room.

Our only problem with this accommodation was the location, being so far from the train station, but that was our own fault. As an aside, we decided to take the public bus back to the train station. However, my credit card did not work at the ticket machine at the bus stop because I did not have a PIN. A very kind Swiss lady paid cash for our bus tickets and refused reimbursement.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl12061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel , with a wonderful view from our room a few steps from bus station ,lovely people very friendly stuff , there is resturant in the hotel and another one across the street i recommend this hotel very much .

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had an amazingly excellent stay at this hotel. Our (very affordable) room, with a view of Lago di Lugano, was wonderfully clean and modern with a gigantic soft bed and excellent shower. The staff was exceptionally helpful and lovely (and spoke perfect English, German, Swiss German, and Italian.) It also featured the absolutely best included breakfast spread we say in all of Switzerland. In fact, we were even treated to hand-pulled, excellent espresso drinks as part of the complimentary breakfast! And OMG the location!!! It's not in Paradiso where all of the high-rise hotels and loud roads are, but rather it is a sleepy little corner of Lugano situated right on the Olive Trail to Gandria, and also right below an excellent hike or lift to the top of Mont Bre. It was a dream stay, and likely the best place we stayed out of the ten plaaces we visited over nearly three weeks.

Room Tip: if you simply add a not asking for a lake view when booking, they will do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#14 of 45 in Lugano
349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.7 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.5 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#7 of 45 in Lugano
663 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Castagnola

Property: Locanda Castagnola
Address: via vecchio Municipio 1, Lugano 6976, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Castagnola 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing