We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of Monte Bre

Monte Bre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The view from the top is really breathtaking. You may see most of lake Lugano as well the Monte Rosa Mountain covered with eternal snow. The ride with the old "Funiculare" is an experience at its own: it takes time but it is worth doing it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    137
    33
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Should've known better...”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Okay...it seems intuitive that you wouldn't try to go to the top of a mountain when it's rainy, right? Wrong. My husband and I decided to try and go up because we had been looking forward to it. This isn't a cheap adventure - I think it was like $20/$25E each. You take the cable car up to the top. Because it was rainy we couldn't see a THING. We thought we might see soommeeethiiinngg. Honestly, this attraction shouldn't be open if it's not good weather. They basically took our money knowing that none of the shops/restaurants were open. Lesson learned. If it's not a nice day don't try it! I'm sure it's beautiful if it's nice weather.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dubshan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A scary drive”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The last leg of our European trip this July we stayed in Lugano, Switzerland. We consulted Trip Advisor as to sites to visit in the nearby area. We decided on Monte Brè a small mountain east of Lugano with a view of the bay of Lugano and the Pennine Alps and the Bernese Alps. It is considered one of the sunniest points in Switzerland. Since 1912, the Monte Brè funicular has led from Lugano Cassarate to Monte Brè. We opted not to take the funicular (expensive at 25 Swiss francs per person) and drove one of the scariest drives we have ever taken. The road was very steep and narrow with hairpin curves and only a little wooden fence stopping us from falling off the cliff. However, once at the top, the views were phenomenal of the Alps around Lugano. Calming my nerves with a glass of wine at the simple but pleasant café at the top, we headed down the mountain. This was definitely one of the highlights of our European trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic view!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visited in early December and were worried it would be too cold, too windy, and not altogether pleasant. We were totally wrong. It was sunny and beautiful on top of Monte Bre - and the views were phenomenal of the Alps around Lugano. Definitely a highlight of the trip - and the funicular train that takes you up is totally fun!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic views of the lake and entire region”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Quite a climb on the funicular to the top of Monte Bre but worth the cost just for the views. There are restaurants up there as well as lots of trails down the mountain. On a nice sunny day the panoramic views are definitely worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Bre also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Monte Bre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing