We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely hotel in perfect location!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We couldn't have asked for a more excellent and romantic room overlooking the lake - a corner room with French doors and a tiny balcony - although we paid well for that privilege. Not a hotel for the budget-conscious, but we did get what we paid for, including a wonderful breakfast buffet. And not sure if rooms in other locations of the hotel would be so wonderful due to large construction project next door and proximity of other buildings which may block views of the lake (see my photos). We were also glad to be there on a weekend when construction next door was suspended. But hotel was easily reached by foot from the train station (with light weekend luggage) and was in a perfect location with easy access to the lakeside promenades. And although we didn't have time to use it, the hotel has a spacious and inviting garden and pool area. All in all, would go back to this hotel for same room location in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKearney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    166
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
95
168
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tampa fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights here - well located on the lake and Via Nassa - older hotel but well-maintained - front desk very helpful, especially Luigia - pricey but in line with all Swiss prices - if we ever get back to this lovely spot we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clsgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I stayed 2 nights at the Hotel International au Lac and found it to be a great hotel, it's a great location at the end of the main shopping street in Lugano and facing directly onto the lake. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and seemed to speak about 4 languages each! I had a single room which was a good size, the bathroom was small but the shower was really strong. The breakfast was good - although I was a bit disappointed with the lack of fruit. The pool area was really nice (but poor weather meant I didn't really use it!) my only criticism would be that my room backed onto the main staircase so I did get a fair bit of noise from people moving around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate0182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Location: great
Building: Old with charm
Pool: Small but not bad at all!
Rooms: Old and in need for overdue renovation. Bathroom very old with bad smell.
Breakfast: Not bad
Staff: Friendly.
I would give the location with the pool a four star but rooms are so old and basic and deserve no more than 2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TE2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

International au lac will definitely disappoint you if you are born in the second half of the century... it is a very old hotel... and most of the people living here are old... it is freaky how barring the reception staff everyone who works here is really old too... they smile at you and they are sweet... but with a place that has the feel of a bygone era... it always makes you wonder about how clean it could really be... i mean my husband and i both developed allergies owing to the really really old carpet in our room... also dont bother spending or requesting for an ac room cuz even if u get one it will do nothing to cool the room...!! we have slept for 3 nights wid our windows open.. and tht led to these wierd insects in our room... we did not enjoy our stay and found the place very eerie and old... the breakfast was nothing to talk about... nothing..!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCPindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I ended up staying an unplanned extra night or two at the International au Lac due to some minor emergency surgery that the Ospedale Civico in Lugano handled with competence and great care.

Switzerland is expensive and Lugano is no exception, even off-season, so although the au Lac could do with a bit of an update, its location, great staff, lovely little back garden and pool, and relatively good value make it a good choice for travellers without a Platinum Amex. My single room was on the small side but typical for much of Europe. The promised view of Lake Lugano and little balcony more than made up for that, even though it meant looking over the main lake-side street -- a little noisy during the day but not really bothersome at night. Bathroom was clean, relatively updated and well-equipped and almost as large as my room. Front-desk, bar and breakfast room and cleaning staff were all cheerful, professional and accommodating. I didn't sample the food, beyond my usual breakfast capuccino but the prices certainly looked reasonable for a resort town in Switzerland. All in all, the experience I expected for the price, with the helpfulness of the staff adding up to a bit extra.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, Ca.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Stayed here for 2 days and would come back again. The rooms (single) were average size but clean. The hotel is located and the end of Via Nassa (a pedestrian only shopping street) that runs up to the main area of the town and piazza (less than 1/2 mile walk). Rooms were reasonably priced and quiet (on the back side of the hotel); the lakefront rooms were obviously more expensive.
The hotel facilities include a large outdoor area with a swimming pool; a very comfortable, nice, quiet bar upstairs. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPisReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 46 in Lugano
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 46 in Lugano
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 46 in Lugano
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Property: Hotel International au Lac
Address: via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing