We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are at the International au Lac for our 1 night Bernina Express connection. The hotel is clean and fine for a 1 night stay. The bed is very hard.
Excellent location. Right across the street from the Lake and very convenient to many great restaurants, boat trips and the walk to the funicular is fine. Easy waly to San Salvatore funicular. The bar is deserted and the bartender has trouble with English or any drink not on the menu but he is sweet and does his best. Can't beat having an after dinner drink in the small terrace outside the bar overlooking the lake. Perfect for our needs for the night.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel2livewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in an unrenovated balcony room, and it was very pleasant. Excellent lakeside location, amazing private garden and pool, friendly staff, complete breakfast buffet with lavish artisan cheese each morning, good WIFI. Good quality beds, pillows and linen.
Needs a minibar/fridge, and coffee machine/kettle, and hopefully renovated rooms have better showers, but overall impression was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We made an unplanned stop in Lugano and this hotel was a great choice. The staff were very welcoming and happy to show us the available rooms. We were happy with the room and the services and would stay here again. The bar is a particularly nice spot to enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel, and great people who works there. All of them help me when I needed it. Very clean and silent...maybe a little bit expensive but this is Switzerland...all is expensive. Normal price for the country. Location perfect, just in front the lake with a lot of shops and coffee close to the hotel. Very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Os G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We love to stay at Hotel International au Lac on our way to and from Italy. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the designer shops of Lugano and secure, private car parking is available. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the beds are equipped with the finest quality linen and the bathrooms are spacious. Breakfast is excellent and all the staff are friendly and obliging. Dinner is served at 7.00pm and as we prefer to eat earlier, we always eat out. We look forward to staying again in September!

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPAGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is 105 years old, established by the current owner's grandfather, and the charmingly old-fashioned decor is perfect for such a building. Our room was one with a lake view, modernized, and the bathroom was not poky at all. There was a great rain shower in addition to the hand-held one, and lots of storage and marble and glass. I am particular about my "amenities" and always take my own, so a lack doesn't matter at all. The wait staff in the restaurant and bar are true professionals. The breakfast was lavish, and not the same each morning.

The garage is a treat, with a car elevator that rides you to the upper floor if the lower one is full. We had a hard time finding the street entrance, even though we could see the hotel from the lakefront street. There is construction in front of the Santa Maria church next door (DO NOT miss the church) and the turn through the fence is all but invisible the first time. The city has not allowed the hotel to put up a helpful sign, which is a shame.

We investigated the lovely terrace and pool, but we did not use them. A real oasis in the city. All in all, the Internationale is a convenient place to stay, and all the staff make one feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoshitoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overall is a pretty nice place - located right on the lake, and in the middle of the tourist area. The place is a little out-dated, but in a charming kind of way. The brekky is great - more than enough to fill you up - and all of the staff in the bar and restaurant were lovely.

The rooms are nice, though the bathrooms are really pokey and hardly any toiletries. Also, the shower is handheld. And no exhaust fan in there so it gets really steamy.

The wifi in the common areas was good, and quick, but didnt reach to our room at the end of the corridor, so we had to sit outside the room in the hallway to use the wifi, which is not airconditioned and was stuffy (and also you feel a bit strange sitting out there...)

Overall, was not perfect, but I would maybe stay there if ever in Lugano again, mainly for the nice staff and the sort of dated charm of the place - feels a bit like the 1960s with the faded pool chairs, giant chess board and games room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room where the wifi works!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoSchmid, Owner at Hotel International au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear kathdot,
Thank you for posting this review and for letting us know how you feel about your stay with us.

The Hotel International au Lac was opened in 1906 and belongs today to Lugano’s historical buildings. Constant renovation works and up-grades (the last in 2013 extending on 2 floors) made every room unique. Shape, decor and layout varies from one room to the other. We put great effort in keeping the traditional feel in our property by choosing noble materials and a classical design.

We sincerely regret your inconvenience regarding the limited access to our free WiFi Internet service. We had a week-end plus 2 working days where the system was partially malfunctioning due to a missed update. I can assure you that our supplier was working hard to solve the matter swiftly. Unfortunately, unlike for our core hotel services, for WiFi we rely on external contactors.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Roberto Schmid
Hotel International au Lac, Lugano * * *s
Fam. Giulio Schmid, propr. dir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £116 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing