We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel By Lakeside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is an older, renovated hotel with a small lobby situated just across from the lake and only a 3 minute stroll to the main piazza and boat dock. Parking is available in an underground garage. Note that there is only one smaller elevator for all of the guests as well as the housekeeping crew. Two hallmarks of this hotel are the outdoor pool and garden area and the 1st level bar and lounge area. Though the room was comfortable, there was a free in-room safe, and my bath tub was big, the TV had few English language channels and there was no in-room phone and few toilet amenities. The hotel has a full service restaurant and also serves a buffet breakfast, though this was only mediocre. The location is south of the main train depot, so either take a cab or find the correct bus. Any route you choose to walk will have a significant steep descent.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoSchmid, Owner at Hotel International au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Zoom_Gotti,
thank you for staying at the International au Lac and for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your praise about several aspects of our hotel and we thank you for sharing with us the areas that you wish to be improved.

Even though you are a highly experienced review-writer with over 240 posts, to ensure correct information to your fellow travelers, I wish to complete your information about our hotel facilities:
-We do have a guest elevator that suits for 8 passengers and additionally a second similar-sized service (staff) elevator which probably you have not noticed.
-We do have telephones in the room so that guest may call from room-to-room, may call any desired local or international number and last but not least, may call reception on a 24 hours base if in need of any assistance.

And finally: look out for bus line n°4 in direction “Lugano-centro” and you will reach our hotel from the railway station in just 6 minutes.

Grazie, arrivederci e a presto a Lugano!

Roberto Schmid
Hotel International au Lac, Lugano * * *s
Fam. Giulio Schmid, propr. dir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

this hotel is in a perfect location. only 30 minutes from lake como if you want to go there. the lake view rooms are the best. dinner in the hotel was wonderful. very helpful staff. highly recommend this hotel. near shopping and lake.

Room Tip: book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lois331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are at the International au Lac for our 1 night Bernina Express connection. The hotel is clean and fine for a 1 night stay. The bed is very hard.
Excellent location. Right across the street from the Lake and very convenient to many great restaurants, boat trips and the walk to the funicular is fine. Easy waly to San Salvatore funicular. The bar is deserted and the bartender has trouble with English or any drink not on the menu but he is sweet and does his best. Can't beat having an after dinner drink in the small terrace outside the bar overlooking the lake. Perfect for our needs for the night.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel2livewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in an unrenovated balcony room, and it was very pleasant. Excellent lakeside location, amazing private garden and pool, friendly staff, complete breakfast buffet with lavish artisan cheese each morning, good WIFI. Good quality beds, pillows and linen.
Needs a minibar/fridge, and coffee machine/kettle, and hopefully renovated rooms have better showers, but overall impression was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We made an unplanned stop in Lugano and this hotel was a great choice. The staff were very welcoming and happy to show us the available rooms. We were happy with the room and the services and would stay here again. The bar is a particularly nice spot to enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel, and great people who works there. All of them help me when I needed it. Very clean and silent...maybe a little bit expensive but this is Switzerland...all is expensive. Normal price for the country. Location perfect, just in front the lake with a lot of shops and coffee close to the hotel. Very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Os G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We love to stay at Hotel International au Lac on our way to and from Italy. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the designer shops of Lugano and secure, private car parking is available. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the beds are equipped with the finest quality linen and the bathrooms are spacious. Breakfast is excellent and all the staff are friendly and obliging. Dinner is served at 7.00pm and as we prefer to eat earlier, we always eat out. We look forward to staying again in September!

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPAGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £119 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing