We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The reviews I read very very accurate.

The hotel is in a very good location.

Well kept, with a splendid breakfast!

Lugano is a wonderful city, but the traffic can be a huge headache. Be sure to arrive before 3pm.

Room Tip: I had a room which over looked the pool. Quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

This historic hotel is perfectly located in the central Lugano district, yet on the edge of the action - providing a most convenient yet quieter environment. And it is just across the street from the lakeside promenade.
The room was a comfortable size for two, as is the bathroom, but the latter a little awkwardly designed. (A small price to pay to include modern conveniences in an old building.) The beds are comfortable, though at a low level. We stayed in an economy room with all the usual amenities except a minibar. Our room even had a small balcony, and from there we had a view of Lake Lugano, and could almost touch the Santa Maria degli Angeli church next door.
The hotel is smaller than I thought, or appeared on line, but quite comfortable, and very clean.
The lobby is small and has a colder feel than the rest of the public areas. The lounge (on the 1st floor) as well as the breakfast room are elegantly decorated with the feel of a by-gone era - upholstered chairs, big windows, paintings, flowers and other small touches. There is an outside dining space in the rear, with step leading to the pool area. The foliage surrounds the area, providing privacy while dining or at the pool.
The breakfast is delightful. A buffet offering a nice variety of hot and cold fresh regional items, with the service staff bringing your customized coffee/tea, etc. to your table. To add to the pleasant atmosphere, the chairs are padded, tables have crisp, clean white tablecloths and music from the 30s/40s plays softly in the background.
In July, though the hotel was not having construction itself, the exterior was negatively affected by all the fencing and noise of the construction at the church and new construction next door. (Which I imagine will be going on through the summer.)
Note: The best way to get from the rail station to the hotel is the #4 bus (towards the city center). It drops you right across the street from the hotel (the funicular is blocks away.)

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the from or side by the church - so your balcony can have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TourQueen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this on location and value for money as much as anything but were very taken by the old world feel and the friendliness of the staff. The hotel has been in the same family for several generations and they are very much in evidence. The decor is a little faded but the rooms are comfortable- the air conditioning is surprisingly effective. Recommended if you want somewhere with character and great views of the lake.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This old hotel has kept up with today's tends without losing its character. The lake views are shared with an old disused funicular railway and church. The back has been renovated into a car park and dinning room. There is also a roof deck that leads to the pool terrace. The rooms are adequate and the bathroom is slightly larger than other hotels of this era. We had very pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank is0lde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent a night in this great old hotel full of memorabilia of its great history. Nice atmosphere, very reasonable price. You don't get the latest and greatest, let alone anything modern. Economy rooms are rather basic, and not very sound proof. Instead you move back in time to the days of less hectic travel and time to enjoy the hotel charm in the many lobbies, bar and restaurant. Perfect location by the lake, very friendly and attentive staff, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingWilburry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Although my two sisters and I stayed only one night in Lugano we enjoyed it, and much of that had to do with the hotel. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and our suite was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is an old-world, charming place with personal touches that we found delightful. Very close to the centre of things as well
Lyndel50.

Room Tip: We were too late to get a room with a lake view, but the Junior Suite is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Spent a week half board at the International and thought it a good quality hotel - not cheap but then Switzerland is quite expensive. Staff were excellent, room overlooking lake very comfy and food was very good. Only one meal that I didn't fancy and that was down to my taste. Overall very good holiday and the only reason we wouldn't return is nothing to do with the hotel but more the resort. Lots of building work going on and we were particularly disappointed with the Music Festival in July - the brochures implied real musicians playing real music - of all types -in the various piazzas. Instead there was preponderance of disco and not even musicians but a man "playing" electronic stuff where all you get is the thump of the bass into the early hours; ok for a night club in Ibiza but not what we thought we'd get in a fairly up market place like Lugano.

Room Tip: just ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 44 in Lugano
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#17 of 44 in Lugano
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 44 in Lugano
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 44 in Lugano
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £119 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing