We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Good Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

I stayed here in October of 2006. I wish the weather was better, it was cold and rainy, but the views right smack in front of the hotel are breathtaking. The lake is a few steps away. The location is great, it is on the outskirts (by 3 minutes) of the center of the cobblestone shopping district, so it is quiet. The rooms are decent, comfortable with small shower and tv. The reception was fine and helpful. They had a cute bar and a computer i didnt have trouble using for email etc.. The price was very good at that time. It took me 30 minutes to walk the entire city central. 5 minute trolly ride to the funiculars for San Salvatore and Monte Bre. The buses are very easy to take or the little red tourist trolly makes all the stops.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank midgetlali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    157
    47
    13
    5
See reviews for
82
159
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

Lovely old fashioned hotel on the lake in the centre of the shopping district. Very central with secure underground parking. We had a family room which was 2 double beds with a little balcony and views of the lake. Garden, terrace with games and outdoor swimming pool. Excellent staff who were really helpful. Traditional rooms and furnishings all very nicely done. Fab bar area.

Perfect for a city break and children very welcome.

  • Liked — Traditional hotel
  • Disliked — Switzerland is expensive!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyjo_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

This was our first visit to the International. We were very impressed by the meals and by the friendly and efficient service. The hotel is very well situated for all the attractions on Lake Lugano and the surrounding area.

  • Liked — The convenient location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHarryFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

Arrived lated in Lugano and needed somewhere to stay. Choose this place due to its location right on the waterfront and also because it looked like something straight out of a 1930s movie or murder mystery! Front desk staff excelllent and friendly. Small lobby and lift. Rooms not much changed from 1930s! in respect of decor (which I quite like but not to everyones taste) However, bath and shower great as was cleanliness of room. We did not really have a great view but there was a teeny balcony. Big old fashioned bar area with one internet point not working. Barman too busy watching EURO 2008 to try and understand our request for wine. Breakfast was good but very rude staff. They hovered waiting to remove your plate. It was as if their sole objective was to get you fed and clear up!! I went to kitchen to ask for WARM milk for coffee - I asked in clear Italian which is widely spoken in this town. Was brought Cold Milk. I apologetically pointed this out to male staff member who then rolled his eyes, tutted and sighed very audibly and then told me to move away from kitchen door and he would bring it down to me - he did about TEN MINUTES LATER when coffee was finished. We came to breakfast about 15 minutes before serving ended only to find most food gone and not being replaced (unless you specially requested and then you were met with the sighs and eye rolls again!!!) I am not naive and I appreciate that this may just have been the particular staff on that morning. However, it did not give a good impressions. On the other hand, the girls at front desk were great on checking out and the hotel has a wonderful sense of old fashioned space. They have left a room beside the bar full of memorabilia from the hotels past and it is a joy to read all the old press cuttings and look at old Hotel registers, etc. Would I stay here again- probably not.

  • Liked — The outdoor pool (but it goes into shade at about 5pm in the afternoon)
  • Disliked — rude rude breakfast waiting staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jmcb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmont, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

Very good choice for those appreciating a classic hotel, in a good location, with recent room improvements, and large, public rooms, a terrace, and a pool. The hotel is right on the lake and not far from the train station (take the funicular down and go 3 blocks to the right. If in doubt about directions, ask someone carrying a briefcase. They usually are locals, speak some English, and try to be helpful.) Our room was terrace view which gave us some privacy. Staff was very helpful. Location is next to a 500 year old church with outstanding murals. This is not just a tourist attraction but primarily a place of worship and we were there on a Sunday. The lakefront has beautiful walking paths with parks and even a statue to George Washington (a big surprise to us).

  • Liked — location, service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

Arrived in Lugano with nowhere to stay.!! Saw this hotel on the water front and met friendly receptionist who sold us a lovely room. Hotel old fashioned but good. Very comfortable beds and fab breakfast. Brilliant location

  • Liked — comfy beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank clorane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2007

A very well located hotel. It was a quick walk from the train station (take the funicular down and then turn right). It's just across from the Louis Vitton store on the left and across from the Lake itself over a small square. The staff were helpful in getting me a proper adpater for my UK lead, finding a bar for the champions league matches, and in keeping me well lubricated in the bar area.

In the bar area is where I found myself using the 1 (yes, ONE) ethernet cable in the whole hotel (no wireless) to connect my computer for high-speed access. I had hours of work to complete and the continuous flow of beers from the bewildered bar staff (why is this man working on such a beautiful evening?). Couples came and went and it looked like a nice spot to return when they have jazz in the evening.

My room looked out across the square and on to the lake. It was small with a twin bed to fit my 6'4" frame. The shower had one of those detachable hoses that conveniently had a hook at the level of my knees. This resulted in a somewhat cramped, but efficient hot bath in the morning. The toilet seat was a lovely piece of cheap plastic hand crafted in some chinese factory.

Had I been on a private holiday and had booked this for location purposes, I may have given a higher rating. As it was, my needs as a business traveller were not quite met. Hence, a neutral rating. I'll be back on business again and most likely will not find myself at the Au Lac on the next trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The solo ethernet cable to do business with...
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pjatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Property: Hotel International au Lac
Address: via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing