We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a no - no”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Its a no - no”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

International au lac will definitely disappoint you if you are born in the second half of the century... it is a very old hotel... and most of the people living here are old... it is freaky how barring the reception staff everyone who works here is really old too... they smile at you and they are sweet... but with a place that has the feel of a bygone era... it always makes you wonder about how clean it could really be... i mean my husband and i both developed allergies owing to the really really old carpet in our room... also dont bother spending or requesting for an ac room cuz even if u get one it will do nothing to cool the room...!! we have slept for 3 nights wid our windows open.. and tht led to these wierd insects in our room... we did not enjoy our stay and found the place very eerie and old... the breakfast was nothing to talk about... nothing..!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCPindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    162
    47
    13
    5
See reviews for
90
165
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I ended up staying an unplanned extra night or two at the International au Lac due to some minor emergency surgery that the Ospedale Civico in Lugano handled with competence and great care.

Switzerland is expensive and Lugano is no exception, even off-season, so although the au Lac could do with a bit of an update, its location, great staff, lovely little back garden and pool, and relatively good value make it a good choice for travellers without a Platinum Amex. My single room was on the small side but typical for much of Europe. The promised view of Lake Lugano and little balcony more than made up for that, even though it meant looking over the main lake-side street -- a little noisy during the day but not really bothersome at night. Bathroom was clean, relatively updated and well-equipped and almost as large as my room. Front-desk, bar and breakfast room and cleaning staff were all cheerful, professional and accommodating. I didn't sample the food, beyond my usual breakfast capuccino but the prices certainly looked reasonable for a resort town in Switzerland. All in all, the experience I expected for the price, with the helpfulness of the staff adding up to a bit extra.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, Ca.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Stayed here for 2 days and would come back again. The rooms (single) were average size but clean. The hotel is located and the end of Via Nassa (a pedestrian only shopping street) that runs up to the main area of the town and piazza (less than 1/2 mile walk). Rooms were reasonably priced and quiet (on the back side of the hotel); the lakefront rooms were obviously more expensive.
The hotel facilities include a large outdoor area with a swimming pool; a very comfortable, nice, quiet bar upstairs. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPisReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We had 2 rooms ; one of them has a great view towards the lake and one facing the back(very quiet, could sleep with the window opened)- both were spatious enough.

A very elegant hotel! I would deffinitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinziana_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

For 11 nights we stayed at the centrally located International, and found the experience a delight! The atmosphere of old world charm and the friendly welcome plus the efficiency of the staff all added to making our holiday one to remember. Our room was very quiet and very clean and we enjoyed seeing our night clothes laid out artistically by the chambermaid every evening - a rarity in this day and age! The air conditioning was excellent. Every evening we looked forward to dinner in the well appointed a tastefully decorated restaurant. A very interesting menu and delicious food tempted us every day. The terraced garden was an oasis and the ideal place to chill out on the very warm days.
This is a family run hotel and it shows! We must give hearty congratulations to Signor and Signora Schmid and every member of staff for the smooth and efficient running of one of the best hotels we have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2009

While traveling with our toddler we stayed at this hotel recently while visiting Lugano. We had a corner room with balcony overlooking the lake. Great views and very comfortable room. Best features of the room were plenty of closets, drawers, door hooks, etc for storing all the items needed for traveling with a toddler. On the back terrace they have a playhouse stocked with a tea set and toys as well as small riding toys. Pool also very inviting! The staff was very friendly and spoke very good English. The kitchen staff supplied me with ice twice a day in order to keep milk cool in the cooler I brought (no fridge). Location was fantastic right in the center of town and very convenient to all Lugano has to offer. Would definitely recommend to those travelling with children!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommytravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 887 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I stayed at the Hotel International au Lac in early April 2009. This historic hotel sits at the end of the "luxury mile" near the Louis Vitton store just off the lake on a car free street. While there are no cars on the street immediately in front of the hotel (Via Nassa) there is significant traffic on Riva v Vela or the street fronting Lago di Lugano which is near the hotel and therefore was a significant amount of noise at all hours of the day and night.

This is definitely a budget, historic and classic hotel in downtown Lugano. I took the funicular (1.10 CHF) from the train station then turned right and easily walked to the hotel
with my luggage in about 15 minutes. Some rooms (not mine) had lake views and a balcony. The rooms are very small and drafty with dated bathrooms. The water pressure, if that's important, was amazing and there was nice heated towell rack for those cold mornings. The room had not been vacuumed before my arrival and the floor was dirty.

I will not return to this hotel in the future. The rooms, while reasonably priced in a very expensive city, were very small and dated, the breakfast staff (not the front desk people, they were very helpful and informative) were rude and indifferent and there was significant noise from outside the hotel and between rooms (televisions and shower/toilet/water draining).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Property: Hotel International au Lac
Address: via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing