We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely romantic break for New Year's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic break for New Year's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We booked at very short notice to stay at this hotel, and upon arrival were upgraded to a deluxe suite, a luxurious room overlooking the lake with a large balcony. The view is fantastic day and night. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, despite the hotel winding down as it was the last day before their winter break. Breakfast was fine with a good variety of food to choose from the buffet, but nothing exceptional, which you might otherwise expect. We were very happy to have real orange juice though! And we were glad to be there early so we had a good choice of tables. We also used the swimming pool and jacuzzi in the morning, but could not use the sauna as it had not been switched on. In any case the pool is a good length for some light exercise, but don't expect to be able to do a full workout there!
As another guest already mentioned, I missed a WiFi connection in the room, this would be a great additional service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inselaffe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Eden in Lugano and thank you for your positive comments. I am glad to read that you appreciated the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff and that you enjoyed the lake view and large balcony of our deluxe suites. I hope you will visit us again sometime in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    119
    44
    28
    13
See reviews for
46
94
15
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I recently stayed at the Eden in Lugano, Switzerland (just north of the Italian border). Overall the hotel was excellent and the surrounding area is incredibly beautiful.
The Eden staff was incredible during my 2+ week stay - they are very helpful, friendly and accommodating and knew me on a personal level. The hotel offers an incredible lake view and ability to see the sunrise and/or lake from most any room. The restaurant is incredible from breakfast to dinner with a great selection and gourmet food. While a bit pricey, the food is THE best hotel food I have ever had with hundreds of different hotels from over 15 countries as a sample size. The gym is not great, but adequate with a nice running path around the lake. The walk is a bit longer than a few hotels but still fairly short to the downtown area. Housekeeping is very prompt, room fridge and other amenities were very nice. Great place to stay for business or personal travel – I highly recommend the Eden.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Eden.
I was delighted to read about your experience at our hotel and especially the positive comments regarding our great selection of gourmet food in our restaurant Oasis.
I am glad you could experience the friendliness of our staff and enjoy the beautiful views from your room which offers, as you mentioned, “an incredible lake view”.
Together with my team, I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Though Lugano has almost more hotels than inhabitants, the Grand Hotel Eden is probably still the best one - as long one is in the wing directly on the lake (as the other wing faces the noisy street). It is rumoured though it will be converted to Apartments (like so many hotels these days). So it needs careful checking beforehand.

Room Tip: Demand a room facing the lake straigght on (note sideways)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOWLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear SydneyPierrot,
Thank you for your positive comments!
I noticed that is not the first time that you stayed in our property and I am very pleased to read that you describe the Grand Hotel Eden as “probably still the best Hotel in Lugano”!
I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had a room with a great view of the lake. The room itself was very comfortable and clean, but were dissappointed there is no free WiFi provided! Breakfast in this hotel is served in a great room with floor to ceiling glass windows facing the lake, absolutely beautiful!. Breakfast was also great, large selection of fresh produce.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOWLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear 3Slaters,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, it’s comfort and cleanness and also our breakfast buffet.

I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is ideal for business meetings. Unfortunately there is no free WiFi. The wired in The room is of very bad quality.
Food and view are splendid though

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOWLugano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Mr. Rodolfo,

Thank you very much for your comments through Trip Advisor. Kindly note that we do not offer free wi-fi but complimentary wired access in the rooms. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties to access, as we did not notice any failure in the connection system and we are sorry to have heard that you had problems only after you left the hotel. We hoped that you would have informed us while you were staying at the hotel so that we could have helped you.

Apart the inconvenience with internet we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the food and our view on the lake.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our property.

Sincerely Yours,

Nicolaas Wiemeijer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is Switzerland? We were on a tour of Italy and Switzerland and were delighted to discover Lugano, Switzerland because it was so Italian! :-) The hotel is in 2 parts but flowed well. Our room was nice/average. Nothing special but no complaints. They are designed cleverly so most rooms have a view out of the little triangle shaped balcony.
The bartender was rather stuffy but everyone else was terrific. The deck that serves as a restaurant/bar and sun patio is large and convenient (THE place to go on a warm evening!). We took some time off from touring to enjoy the deck one afternoon. The food is so-so there, but the breakfast buffet and dining room was EXCELLENT. We also rode up the funicular for dinner (cheaper to take it then) on top of the mountain to get away from the heat - lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We had to change room because I booked over the company travel tool where it was not possible to book double room - receptionist did changes and showed us the room. Despite my request to get a king size bed he booked us a twin bed. After complaining he changed to king bed. The lugage boy brought us the new keys in an envelop, on the envelop we saw the new rate... +50%!!! The rooms are very old and not like the rooms shown on the booking portal I used. After discussions with a more competent receptionist we could change to a ok furnished room and got a reasonable rate. Bar chairs were worn out but breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Com4tTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOWLugano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We read your comments on Trip Advisor and we are sorry to hear that your company was unable to book a double room instead of the single room, as both categories were available in the system and bookable. We apologize if our receptionist seemed rude, we did not want to make you feel uncomfortable. However we understand that Mrs. Stefania then took over the situation and showed you another room with a king size bed and granted you the price for the single room booked instead of the double occupancy price.

We were surprised reading your comment about the fact that the picture of the room you intended to book (Superior double room, the one that by the end you were given by Stefania) did not match to the room originally booked by your travel agency (Deluxe Single room). We are conscious that the two pictures are different because both categories are different to each other.

Certainly we will take in consideration your comments which will help us to improve our service and hope you still consider us as an option next time you plan to visit Lugano. Please feel free to contact us next time you wish to book so we can explain the different categories available and the prices applied according to the single or double occupancy.

We look much forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel.

With our best regards,

Nicolaas Wiemeijer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Property: Grand Hotel Eden
Address: riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing