We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes You Feel Like You Are In Eden”
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here during a Tauck World Discovery tour. This hotel is distinguished in a old world charm kind of way. The location is perfect for long walks along the lake and the views outside our room facing the lake and small villages was beautiful. The mountains and lake views are something you can look at all day. I found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. Every single meal at the restaurant was great. The staff was well trained, helpful and pleasurable in every way. We enjoyed the dock side dinning and meals, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyforffun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is located very well - close to the Paradiso train station, lake lugano ferry stop and just next to the #1 bus line that connects central Lugano to Paradiso. It's also right by the lake. We stayed in the building that's not right on the water (i.e. on the other side of the road) but the angular configuration of the rooms ensured a spectacular view of the lake, surrounding areas and the water jet. Staff was very helpful and assisted us a lot with figuring out the train to Milan next day. Free wifi worked pretty well. The breakfast area is simply magnificent offering wonderful vistas of the lake and the breakfast spread was quite good with some fishes! The rooms, at least in the building we stayed in, while quite decent overall, is probably due for some renovations/updates in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepdebroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Probably this five star hotel in a real life draws for four stars. The hotel hasn't looked fresh and new one. Sometimes I felt like in some care home.
I had my late flyght so in the hotel have been around 23.00. I wanted to order some food from the restaurant, but reception told me that it's not possible, because kitchen closed. HM.... Interesting!!! If you are hungry just go to McDonalds!
The service in a hotel is the real Italian service- sometimes rude and so slow.
But one thing what I really liked and drove me crazy its view from the window.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrkaJerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

very nice hotel .. i like staying there and i will viset it again .. however the concerge are so corporated and welcoming for any question ...
the hotel is facing the beautiful fountain of Lugano
the hotel has many facilities like a fittness area
i recomended you to stay in the hotel if u are going 2 Lugano

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kozito1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Grand Hotel Eden is situated along the shore of a very beautiful lake but it is showing its age and has outgrown its lustre. Probably the time has come to renovate and give it a facelift. Our room was big and clean, has a beautiful view of the lake but it looks dreary and antiquated the bed was not as comfortable as I expected it to be. We found this to be disappointing. I feel the elevators should be updated, It is small and although it says it holds 4 or 5 people, 3 can be really tight.

The staff was very nice and helpful, they were attentive to our request and tried their best to please, which I consider that an asset to the hotel.

Buffet breakfast has limited selection but it is good.

As you step out of the door of the hotel, you can take a nice and leisurely walk along the lake and enjoy the beauty around it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor with the view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have just returned from a 5 night stay here and I found the hotel well above my expectations. So often a single room means you are tucked away somewhere in an out of the way spot in a hotel but this superior single room had a fabulous view over the lake and even a double bed. This to me was a luxury. Everything about the room was first class . There was a long balcony from which I spent hours watching the many ships which ply up and down this lovely lake.

While the food could be considered expensive I found it was beautifully prepared and it was quite possible to have dishes prepared to suit your taste if there was something you didn't like.

The Decking area was a wonderful addition to the hotel

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank dougal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Grand Hotel Eden was our only disappointing hotel in Switzerland. We had a great view, but the air conditioning did not work and was very loud. Late in the evening the staff moved us across the street to another room to sleep and cool off. The next morning two electricians spent several hours fixing the air conditioning. The hotel's location made it easy to walk the lovely promenade.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 45 in Lugano
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £135 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing