We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i'd stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“i'd stay here again”
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The Hotel Bellevue Au Lac isn't the best hotel in the world, or possibly even Lugano (go to the Splendide Royal next door for that) , but the staff are fantastic, the rooms clean (although a bit dated), and the views to the lake outstanding. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    62
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
32
53
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Chose this hotel for an overnight stay on business. This is the typical example of a swiss hotel. Clean but average rooms (stayed in 216, view on the parking lot), poor breakfast (buffet with the standard selection of Croissants, rubber-like cheese and orange juice), and mixed decoration in the lobby. Initially asked for a room with internet and was told there was no wi-fi except on the 5th floor, outside some meeting room.

Although this is typically swiss, I hate the fact that some hotels still haven't got it. I want to work in my room, not in the hallway on another floor.

Outside parking next to the hotel building is a horrendous CHF 15 / night. No guards, no valet, no frills.

On a positive note though, I have to say that the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in finding us a nice Grotto halfway up Mount Paradiso. Reception was staffed with knowledgeable and efficient personnel.

  • Liked — Friendly reception staff
  • Disliked — Shabby, unstylish interior
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mikehofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Good hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, room (on the fifth floor) was clean with a new bathroom (but shower was bad). Unfortunately, the pool is in need of updating and the water cloudy. Swim instead in the Lido across the street in the lake! The hotel also has its own parking lot, with a small charge.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank MurphyWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Verry good hotel in Lugano, clean and confortable. the staff verry kindly.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dodilodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

We stayed here 1 night a few weeks ago. The staff was super nice and helpful. For the rate that i received from Bestwestern over the phone was not at all what I expected to pay for! The staff did give us a lake view, which was very nice of them. We didnt experience any noise, even though we faced the busy street below. Loved the views, but not the room. We paid about 254.00 usd and the room on the 4th floor, here in the US I would pay max, $ 125.00. the rooms were like a motel's....old and out dated and beds, i didnt want to get it the sheets. so i slept on top of the bed. for 1 night that we were there is was ok, but not the price. the restauant was nice. Dinner was alittle over priced for what you would think at a BW, but tasted good. Breakfast was fresh and good.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anne12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

We had seen this hotel an a previous trip and thought we would like to stay there on our next visit. We booked through a tour operator with the hotel as part of the 10 day package and our rate included half board. We were not made aware that the hotel was now Best Western. The outside of the hotel had changed as the brochure photo and our memories were of bright red geranium boxes on the balconies and the boxes now held some sort of straggly green foliage. The breakfast room/dining room had plastic garden chairs at the tables and a tacky green carpet. The main dining room which is not used in summer is very nice. Our first impression was that the hotel did not meet our expectations. However this was an initial impression and other factors changed our view. Our room - a junior suite on the first floor overlooking the lake was clean, comfortable and spacious. The food at dinner was good and we were surprised that so few people ate in the restaurant. There was a table d'hote and an a la carte menu, both reasonably priced. Breakfast was a buffet style and breads, meat, cheese and fruit were plentiful and fresh. The staff are the hotel's best asset they were very helpful and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and if the main items on the menu were not to your taste chef would prepare an alternative.

There had been problems with the cleaning system for the pool for which the hotel apologised and the pool was out of use during our 10 day stay. These were fixed on the last day of our stay.

The hotel appeared to cater more to business people and overnight coach parties and staff told us that the emphasis of Lugano had changed in the last 10 years to cater to this market more than the 7-14 day visitor.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would cetainly use it again.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — dining room lacked ambience
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 732 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

This hotel sits down at the Western end of Lugano, at Paradiso. There is an SBB station at Paradiso with 2 trains an hour in each direction, and from here it is about an 8 minute walk to the hotel. However, from Lugano's main SBB station, it is a good 1.5-2 mile walk (although downhill).

I found the area beautiful, Lugano is a picture-perfect setting, and this hotel seems to fit in nicely. The exterior is fresh and modern, the public areas well kept, and my room (319) was very modern, with laminate flooring, gold lighting and very nice quality decor. The bed was comfortable too.

There is an outdoor pool, but as you may see from my pictures it would be foolish to try it - full of dead flies, insects and allsorts of crap.

Breakfast is served in a conservatory attached to the main building, and is quite pleasant, with the usual fare of Continental offerings. I did eat mine probably a little too late (9.30am) and as such the breads were soft.

The main road outside the hotel is VERY busy - bear in mind Lugano is Switzerland's 3 busiest City - and this did cause me to have trouble sleeping, despite the double glazing. I think the further away from the road you are, the better. But roadside rooms do offer a great lake view. Take your pick!!!

All in all, a clean, tidy hotel in a great City. Worth 1 night's stay.

  • Liked — The Clean interior
  • Disliked — The Filthy Pool
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#29 of 45 in Lugano
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 45 in Lugano
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
#10 of 45 in Lugano
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac

Property: Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Address: Riva Antonio Caccia 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Bellevue au Lac, a jewel of the Lugano lake full of tradition and history, is located right on the Lugano lakeside promenade, only a few minutes walk from the historic centre. It offers a superb view over the Lugano bay and the surrounding mountains. New Suites and fully renovated, air-conditioned rooms with balcony and stunning view over the lake. WI-FI Internet connection is available free of charge in the whole building. A heated outdoor swimming pool (24°) with relaxing area and the Bellevue Bar with terrace and lake view will make your holiday just perfect. Moreover Le Gourmet and Il Giardinetto Restaurants offer an excellent local and international Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lugano
Lugano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing