We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel: quite room and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality hotel: quite room and helpful staff”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I stayed at Lugano Dante for three nights at a business trip.
The most important thing to me was that room was very quiet with well functioning and quiet air-conditioning. I often have a problem to sleep at hotels but here it was no problem at all.
The room was also spotless clean.
The breakfast was fantastic in selection and quality. I don’t think I ever got a better breakfast, the only thing I missed was bacon to the scrambled eggs, they however served sausages and the scrambled eggs were perfect, which is unusual. The selection and quality of the fruit was also exceptional.
I liked the possibility to make personal selections on a web site before the arrival. You could for example select the setting of the air-conditioning in advance. I also ordered a fruit basket which was in place in the room when I arrived.
Very central location shopping and restaurant areas just outside the hotel and close to the nice walk along the shore of Lake Lugano.
Free WiFi and free soft drinks in the mini bar. Free shuttle bus to the airport (depending of room type).
Staff very friendly and helpful. After a couple of days they felt like old friends.
The only problems were that the rooms were quite small. My room was an executive room but still fairly small. The hotel also didn’t have a restaurant (except breakfast) and hence no room service. However you could order pizza and a wide variety of restaurants was located just outside the hotel.
In general one of the best hotels I have visited in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertSv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    310
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
346
664
160
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I just saw this hotel from hotels.com. I was in a rush to find one & man did I get lucky! It's located at the city center. It's a perfect place for shoppers, restaurants are nearby & it's 2-3 minutes away from the lake. The staffs are very friendly. Rooms are very well-maintained, & as what others had already mentioned, I also love the non-stop supply of chocolates, pastries, coffee & water at the lobby, they're also yours for free. Their breakfast buffet is perfect ten! Lots of bread selection, fresh fruits, cheeses, you can even make your own freshly squeeze orange and carrot juice. At 6pm they have all kinds of delicious appetizers for free and if you want some wine with it you only have to pay $5 a glass. And this is the only hotel I'd been to, where everything on their mini bar is FREE!!! Wifi is FREE!!! And when you check out they give you free snacks to take. Such a simple gesture & yet it means so much!!! Out of all 25 countries I'd been to and countless hotels I've stayed into this hotel is no doubt my #1. For $230/night I got way more than I expected. I wonder why it's only rated as 4 stars :-? I'll be sure to come back :)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imflyingwithoutwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a two night trip to Lugano. The personal attention far surpasses any hotel I have ever stayed in America or Europe. Small details like remembering your name, free mini bar drinks,free wifi, tea sandwiches in the lobby, hot coffee and tea in the main lobby (24hrs.) etc... add up to a great experience.

The location of the hotel, (just at the base of the Funiculare) makes this hotel easy to access for those with disabilities and it places you right in the center of all the action of center city Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbischof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimanalo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Located in the center of everything, with the most helpful and friendly staff you might imagine. Exceptional attention to your preferences and meeting your needs compensates for the slightly smaller rooms than one would like. Not the place to go for a pampered vacation experience, but if you want a nicely appointed, comfortable, and well located hotel with the best service possible consider this for any business trip to Lugano. (free wifi, and lobby computer with printer - no compete "business center")

Room Tip: Get an
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laumilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I was not suprised upon arriving at a Swiss Hotel to receive excactly what I paid for, however this hotel surpassed all my expectations!! Right in the center of Lugano, 2 minutes walk to the lake trully convenient for both leisure and buissnes travellers!!!
The hotel itself is not super luxurious or modern but I could not find anything wrong. The bathroom was pristine clean, the towels and bed linen changed daily or sometimes twice a day (If enviromentally consious one can request to have them changed every 2 days), the mini bar FREE !!!, sweets, pastries, coffee and tea are always available in the lobby (also free), the luggage delivered to our room before our entrance in the room, our car available whenever we asked (parking is extra in a private garage nearby), the staff extremely kind and always eager to please, breakfast amazing, so quiet and relaxing and to complete this wonderful experience when guests check out the staff offers a little bag with bottles of water and chocolate.
Wonderfull!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appenzell
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We have stayed for several days at at time at this hotel about twice a year, and always enjoyed it. We do not have a car whilst in Switzerland, and travel by train. The funicular at Lugano station takes us right to the hotel door, so very convenient. The breakfast is always excellent. Very friendly staff. A nice bar in the evening. No smoking in the hotel is definitely a big plus point.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

They really do everything right. The staff are polite. Free WIFI that stays connected all the time. WIFI is also very fast. Free water, juice, soda in mini bar. Nice shower. Really really great breakfast. Make sure you don't have too big a dinner the night before. Right in the center of town. Free coffee and tea in lobby round the clock. I got a good night sleep. I wish I can afford it next time.

Just a thought: everything I listed above is supposed to be provided in all good hotels. But there are so many of them charge you for the room then make you pay $20 for WIFI, $5 for water, and ignore you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tunafish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing