We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We were in a bit of a rush to find a hotel in Lugano--very lucky to have ended up here! Highest quality of furnishings and linens, including damask towels! How often do you see that? Etro lotion and bath oil in large sizes--took those with us! Soundproofed room, extremely comfortable bed. Great Nespresso coffee in the lobby for free--perfect. Front desk staff steered us to a visit in Lucerne on our way out, many thanks to them for that. Also, an extraordinary breakfast spread. Couldn't believe the quantity and variety of foods. Finally, the hotel is literally next to the funiculare from the train station, so incredibly easy. Stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    301
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
331
639
156
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Personalization from the moment you walk in to the time you leave. We were greeted with a smile when we arrived, and upon identifying ourselves, we were given a personalized brochure telling us about the hotel. Even the thermostat in the room was personalized. The staff was the friendliest we have ever encountered in Switzerland. Everyone -- from housekeeping to the manager -- greet you when you walk by. Breakfast was outstanding and offered from 6:30 - 11:00 AM! There is no way one can eat everything that is offered. And, as if that wasn't enough, there are free snacks offered at the reception, foyer, and bar. As we were checking out, we were offered snacks for the drive home. The room was a bit small, but adequate and extremely well maintained. A pillow menu is available so you can select the one that you prefer. The rooms are extremely quiet and the curtain obsures any sunlight so you can sleep in. We definitely recommend this hotel. They have given us no reason whatsoever to even look for another hotel for our future trip to Lugano.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a bigger room if you need a crib or extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckinOut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BILLDC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Could tell that this was a class act the minute we walked into the lobby. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Nice room with comfortable bed. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Very convenient location right at for of funicular from RR station. Highly recommended for a stay of a few days to explore this part of Switzerland and nearby Italy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel staff were a treasure. That plus the position just at the funincular in the middle of Centro would make the hotel all you would want. But then there was the breakfast. There was so much to choose from that it took me 3 days to work my way around most, but not all of everything, trying different things each day. A foodies delight.

Roselyn from Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hotel is right next to the funicular, and in the middle of the downtown. All the restaurants and shopping was close by. The breakfast was someone limited but by Swiss standard was pretty good. The staff is just amazing, very friendly. Loved the fact that the hotel is child friendly. Hotel is very big on amenities, eg free mini bar, free airport shuttle, change table for baby and baby bath tubs. The only concern that we had that the rooms were small. We had an executive room and after putting a crib In room there was absolutely no room to move around. So we told staff to remove a table from room to get some space.
Overall great place, highly recommend and will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations and were delighted by our choice. Centrally located, yet quiet. Spotlessly clean and with staff who seemed to take real pleasure in being helpful. During our stay, we needed a doctor and the staff went to immense trouble to locate an English-speaking doctor and make the appointment for us. And we have never seen a more amazing, bountiful breakfast buffet at any hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorians63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is a remarkable value for Switzerland and lovely in all respects. A staff as cordial and helpful as can be, perfectly located and excellent breakfast buffet. Ask and you will have it from directions, to taxis immediately, to luggage help with large bags out door to funicular to train out the front door with no noise. A perfect central location in a fun town with good food. Only knock is the very clean rooms and bath could be a bit larger. Looking forward to a return for longer than 2 nights. even 24 hour coffee and pastry and candy for free in lobby. GO!

Sylvan from Texas

Room Tip: Just tell them what you prefer, arrival time and you will have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slangtrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing