We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't beat the location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“can't beat the location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

right by the furnicular when you get off. also loved the quaint square that is right outside - prefer this much more to the lake side hotels. Small room but was quite cozy. very comfortable bed and pillows made for restful nights... after having read all the rave reviews about the breakfast, we were disappointed. Spread is huge in terms of quantity but quality is average at best. the muesli was stale. the breads were lame and scrambled eggs tasted average. Honestly, quite surprised at the high ratings that people are giving for the breakfast. the best part was squeezing your own fresh carrot and orange juice - this was delicious and some "homemade" cakes - the chocolate one was excellent. My 2 year old enjoyed the books and soft toys in the kids corner at the entrance. the restaurant in the square outside - Cantinone? - had good food (pizza, delicious salad and wine). Also ate at Tramp - a lovely all glass gazebo like restaurant on the main street - food was great and ambiance too. more like locals than tourists.

Jazz festival was on while we were there and it was lovely to just take a short walk to the main square on narrow cobbled streets and listen to it and then walk by the lake. magical. also, Manor supermarket is right there and they have a self service restaurant in there had great food and wine (that you could buy by the plate / glass in small, medium, large) for a much more reasonable price. also has a small playarea, outdoor seating and baby changing bathroom. highly recommend for families. Given the furnicular is at the doorstep, we were able to make it to the shuttle bus back to Malpensa. Probably for this reason alone - i.e., great location - one could recommend staying at Lugano Dante again. Not for the breakfast.

Room Tip: doesnt have a lake view. we had a 3rd floor room facing the leafy backyard but I wouldn't mind a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChitraSaligram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    301
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
331
639
156
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hassa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Great location , great welcome , great services , great caring .Very good breakfast . I would love to come back to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Dante Swiss Hotel in beautiful Lugano, Switzerland. Like most things in Switzerland, it was a bit pricey but quite excellent. Located 50 feet from the bottom of the vernicular that takes you from the train station to the town, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and cool and the breakfast was great. This is the only hotel we ever stayed in where the soda pop is free from the inroom minibar. Snacks, candy and coffee are always available in the front lobby gratis. It is in a perfect location with the riverfront only minutes away. If we ever get back to Lugano this is the only place we want to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Just got back from a great mini break and what a stay we had in my words the very best hotel Lugano . From the very start we were made to feel welcome with great staff caring about us from the great car park attendant who on leaving the hotel insisted on offering us bottle water for our homeward journey . The hotel caters for the business to family stays and don’t they do it well. rooms were good size and offering a free mini bar of soft drinks , Beds were of a high standard .The only negative for us was no tea making facilities in the room but did offer this in the reception area. Breakfast was one of the best we have seen from hot food like scrambles eggs and sausages to the largest section of cheeses and meats. The staff were friendly and very helpful what else can we say ! Only we will be back very soon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryV310164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The location is great, a few steps from the train funicular and close to shops. I thought the rooms were small and the price is too high for the hotel quality. I did like all the choices that were e-mailed to me prior to arrival, such as choice of: pillows, drinks in the room refrigerator, bedding, etc. The breakfast was good, however, after reading the reviews I was expecting more. The hot chocolate was the best, but I don't think of breakfast as just cakes and desserts. I would not stay here again nor recommend it to friends or relatives for a leisure stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondtwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appenzell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We do not have a car in Switzerland and so travel by train. The funicular from Lugano station takes us right to the hotel door, so convenient.Also the hotel itself is located right in the centre of the city, close to shops, restaurants and deppartment stores etc. Thevia nasa is close by,, fashionable shopping, which leads right down to the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

1st choice if you 're in Lugano for business, but I noticed that they're also very friendly with kids, thus, next time I am in LUG with my Family I'll stay there too.

Rooms are rather small, especially the single rooms but very clean, beds are unbeaten in Lugano. Excellent breakfast buffet with a chocolate fountain (kids will love it!) perfect downtown location (hence not recommended if you want a lakeview maybe on the top floor you have it (no clue))

A special thanks to all the staff; the service attitude of the personel is close to what you are used to from asian 5 star hotels!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing