We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Lugano, ideal location, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

one night in Lugano and this hotel was great. Well located. If you are arriving by train, don't panic. Walk out the station and in front of you is the funicular--it looks like a little subway car. For 1.10 francs, it will take you down the hill and stop right in front of the hotel. Do not take a cab like we did--20 francs to take us down the hill. Best breakfast we had in Europe, included in the price. Nice people, great service. There are lots of other places to stay in Lugano but this one is ideal--easy to walk around the city, close to the lake promenade and high end shopping, lots of restaurants and no need to drag bags around the city looking for your hotel. It is right there, at the bottom of the funicular.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed here, with some colleagues, for two nights while visiting a client in Cadempino near Lugano. The Ticivo, with its wonderful Merlot red wines, has a reputation in Switzerland for warmth but the staff at the Dante outdo even this..smiling, professional, attentive without being intrusive, just a pleasure. The room was fine, the breakfast magnificent (truly) and the location ideal. I shall stay again...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampbellJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We've spent 4 nights at this hotel during our Swiss-Italy vacation and have been very satisfied with it. First of all, location is great, right near the funicular stop that leads you to the railway station. The rooms are not that big, but cosy and well-equipped. Our room was on the first floor but it did not affect the sleeping quality. Breakfast was very good, as almost every other reviewers mentioned, and tea/coffee making facilities in the lobby was also a nice addition.
The hotel staff is do their best to show the personal attitude for each of the guests. That's what I think real Swiss quality is.
P.S. Of course the hotel is not cheap, but c'mon, you're in Switzerland :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I booked this hotel as our base for a long weekend to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday, along with his family.

We booked directly with the hotel, and promptly received email confirmation of our booking. We were able to log onto the hotel website and choose our preferences for all sorts of things from pillows, bedding, room temperature and even the contents of the mini bar.

On arrival, our car was parked in their automatic garage and the concierge staff were fantastic. They knew everything about us & our booking, and check in was very quick. Our rooms were also ready early (2 hours before check in) which was useful as we wanted to freshen up before exploring Lugano.

The room was fantastic and everything we had requested had been done. The rooms were clean, tidy and had everything we needed. There was some building work taking place to upgrade the rooms, but we had a note with some complimentary chocolate apologising in advance for any inconvenience. However, we barely noticed as they building was kept to a minimum and within daytime hours when we were out anyway.

The breakfast buffet was great - lots of choice from cereal, continental meats & cheeses, bread, eggs, sausages, tea, coffee & even toblerone hot chocolate. We managed to fill up enough that we didn't start getting hungry for lunch until at least 2pm.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and should we ever visit Lugano again we will definitely stay here - especially as we were issued with a voucher for discount on future stays!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square as they have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leapea29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I booked this hotel as a stay over surprise for my wife, but believe me when I say we would have loved to stay longer, so we left with pain in our hearts. The service, location, breakfast, room all was absolutely superb! Well done. Next time I will book again and stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A wonderful experience. Here you feel truly like a guest. Extremely cordial welcome. Service is great. Great hospitality. A home away from home. Atmosphere in the hotel is really top. I can recommend anyone who wants to go to Lugano to stay in this hotel in the old city of Lugano.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My family booked a surprise visit to Lugano and the Ticino region for my surprise 30th Birthday and chose the Lugano Dante hotel and I'm so very glad they did.

Perfect location in the heart of Lugano with all of the main shops within a thirty second stroll. You will ready many reviews on Tripadvisor and you will see a similar pattern, excellent service. The staff, from the general manager to the room maids are all excellent. Everyone is smiling and immaculately presented. They can't do enough for you.

Both of our rooms were upgraded to superior rooms as a gesture from the hotel which was very nice of them. The rooms are all lovely, as were the showers in the bathrooms - and with little touches like the free chocolates on the bed to the little rubber duck to take home - you'll check out of the hotel very happy. We parked our rental car here for the weekend, email the hotel in advance to make sure you can get a space and then you'll see the coolest automatic parking system in the world!

Make sure you wake up hungry - or else you'll be missing our on a wonderful breakfast buffet selection. There is everything you can think of, fresh fruit, cheese, meat, bread and pastries - and although the quantity is available, the quality is impeccable.

Don't hesitate to book - we would certainly return here in a heartbeat! Book directly with the hotel for a discount. You will also receive excellent communication from booking until the day you arrive. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the main square if possible, would certainly add to the ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Moynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 44 in Lugano
635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 44 in Lugano
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.9 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: £160 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing