We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant hotel in the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
riyadh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“elegant hotel in the center”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

elegant hotel... smal building in the center near the funklair ... clean rooms but tight a littel bit...the staff were very nice and helpfull.nice cold breakfast
the hotel in the middel of the market.. grocery shopes, botuqes and restorants and 2 minutes walk to the lake..

Room Tip: make sure to have a high floor room..street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EngEssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,537
    309
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
346
660
160
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at this comfortable and welcoming hotel. Our room was extremely comfortable with everything we needed. All of the staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. Breakfasts were a real treat with a wonderful spread and the breakfast staff couldn't have been more helpful. Extended breakfast times also made for a much more relaxed breakfast experience. The hotel was clean and tidy and within a very handy reach of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuwait
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel and Lugano. I stayed at this hotel end of August with my wife and children in 2 suits.
Ups:
the hotel is down town where all the shops and restaurans are in a walking distance.
the hotel is very clean
state of the art automated parking garage
very nice sitting in the lobby with free tea/coffee
open minibar in the room
free WIFI and also free to use computers in the lobby
Unbeatable frindliness and helpfulness from staff and managment

Downs:
no view and the lake is 5 mints walk from the hotel
the enterance of the hotel just beside the funicular which makes feel you are in the walkway
the rooms are very small ( suite is only 25 m2)
breakfast is limited and cold ( strange as this is the proud of the hotel ) if you request anything else than the buffet such as fried eggs it is 12 franks. the fresh orange juice was available only 2 days and then replaced with a canned juice ( breakfast overall is disappointing)
the atmosphere in the hotel has changed from family friendly to something near old people houses


The correct rating of this hotel is 3.5 out of 5
Although the managment of the hotel are rated outstanding, i believe a change in the type and size of the room is required, also attention to the breakfast and breakfast room is needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasheed_albader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Unfortunately my first stay at the Hotel Dante was only for one night. This is an exceptional jewell of a hotel conveniently located in the center of Lugano. It's the numerous little things when added-up make an ordinary experience into an extraordinary one: breakfast included, WiFi included (unheard of in Switzerland let alone Europe), immaculately prepared rooms, a reception staff friendly and accommodating for any request of a guest, etc etc. I used to stay at another hotel when there on business or pleasure but from now on my one and only choice will be the Dante.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaviera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great location to the strain so you dont have to drag you luggage too far as well it is centrally located to everything in town. exceptional service and very clean rooms -- staff very accomodating and excellent meals

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

absolutely wonderful -- excellent location from train station -- exceptional service and very clean rooms -- staff very accomodating and excellent meals -
we had a front view of the square and this hotel is right in the heart of the city and only minutes from shops and lake -- a must stay in lugano

Room Tip: ask for front room facing square to get a feel for the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gread2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I echo all the other reviewers. Great location, staff, breakfast, happy hour buffet etc

The only negative was the size of our room. The Internet made their largest suite sound very large. Actually, it was tiny for our family of four. We could barely walk in the room without hitting a bed. We were right on top of each other. We literally started laughing when we walked into the room the first time. Everything else was so great it made up for It though.

If I went again, we would try to book connecting rooms instead of a suite for our family of four.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1213Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 46 in Lugano
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 46 in Lugano
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 46 in Lugano
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing