We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Location location location..... Hotel Dante is in the heart of the square surrounded by cafes restaurants and all the shopping you can do.....H & M, Manor and minutes away from "Lago di Lugano" where you can take a boat cruise practically on the hour. Hotel Dante is great for business trips or short stays....the complimentary breakfast buffet runs all morning!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    305
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
336
646
158
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a Saturday for a birthday celebration with girlfriends. This hotel has such a warm atmosphere and an attention to detail so you feel so welcomed and well taken care of. Free coffee, tea and water in the lobby and rooms, wifi throughout - and a little yellow duck in the sink to take home! Very sweet. The staff was both friendly and helpful. It was very clean and calm even though the hotel is in the center of town and I had a room to the street. The Sunday brunch was delicious with both hot white (!!) and milk chocolate, lots of different breads and cakes, eggs, fried spinach, cheeses and sliced meats as well as freshly squeezed carrot juice. The parking is in an indoor all electronic parking which I appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
237 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I am surprised this place has so many good votes by Tripadvisor. Yes location is very good but the hotel is awful ! Badly decorated, oldish , smelly, and really bad taste in comparison of the other Lugano hotels. Service is good except for the barmaid who is really arrogant. Rooms ( i had a suite) are terrible .
Breakfast buffet was the only positive point for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGastronomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear TheGastronomist,

thanks a lot for your comment.

I’m so glad you liked the friendliness and efficient attitude of our Staff.

I am instead really saddened to know that our decor, furnishings and classic atmosphere were not to your likings: we know that it is a matter of personal tastes and have to accept we cannot please everyone.

I wish you have only reported your dissatisfaction with regard to your room to a member of the Staff and we would have made all our best to help you finding another solution.

Our breakfast buffet is considered by the vast majority of our guests to be one of our points of strenght and I’m so glad you conveyed on this.

In case you would like to give us a second chance to show you how important you are, we will more than glad to show you one of our brand new nice Suites on the fith floor.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The staff treat us very well and the room was very comfortable. We had a great time and can recommend it very highly. The room was quiet and the internet worked quickly. It was an easy walk to the lake and to a delicious restaurant. The hotel is in a pedestrian zone and there are many shops in the area. A special thanks to the manager Paola Fontana Benea (I hope I spelled her name correctly) who helped make the stay very comfortable. Thank you also to the staff, I don't remember all the names, but each one greeted us with a smile and helped make our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSW4dgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Hotel is at the center of Lugano. Very welcome and has a lovely charm and inviting feel to it. Unlike many has hotels has a unique and warm decoration with tasteful details. The people at the hotel are just amazing, the care, the smile, the way the always help you and welcome you makes you want to come back always. The room is very very comfortable, and if you come from the UK they do have a plug that would fit UKs electric devices. As for the shower there is plenty of hot water and many set ups with to massage your back. Plus point and a surprise. Breakfast is catered for all tastes and has some Swiss twist to it as well. Yes I would definitely come back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in 5 hotels in 5 locations across Switzerland during our vacation there this month (Oct 2013). I must say the warmth and friendliness of the service we experienced in Lugano Dante was not matched by any of the other 4 hotels. The reception staff, the restaurant staff, the housekeeping staff - they were all very enthusiastic, friendly and welcoming throughout our two day stay until the very end.

The hotel is very conveniently located right next to funicular and has scores of restaurants and shops nearby within walking distance. The breakfast buffet is also quite elaborate which adds to the whole experience.

We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anybody who visits Lugano. All the best to the entire team for the excellent job you guys are doing. Please keep it up. These experiences make vacations of tourists memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetanovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel. From the moment I walked in I was treated warmly and taken care of. After checking in and making it up to the room I had some trouble opening the door. One of the housekeepers greeted me by name (I had not met her) and assisted me. The room was well appointed and had a few nice surprises including Swiss chocolate! I had no problems using the WIFI and snacks were available in the lobby. There is also a children's area with some toys. I would definitely stay here again.

The hotel is very easy to find and in a central location. From the train station take the funicular all the way to the bottom. It is on your right.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfo314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing