We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with a family”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have three kids, and this was a perfect place for us. Wonderful restaurants, many thing to do, and in a nice walkable part of town. The staff was terrific, and watching your car be robotically parked is not to be missed.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is very well sound insulated. We are very light sleepers and didn't have any tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    307
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
340
650
159
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

At first glance, I did not know what to expect with the hotel. But, we were hailed into the lobby by an absolutely wonderful staff who was very kind and sweet. The lobby was very comfortably and warm (not temperature). The hotel provides free WiFi and is 100% smoke free, which is a plus, especially in Europe. Our room was absolutely wonderful. Most of the rooms have been newly renovated to be modern yet comfortable... which was exactly that! The carpet was very soft, the furniture clean and stylish, the bathroom was spacious, the beds were very very very comfortable (there's a pillow menu!) and the breakfast is amazing (fresh squeezed orange juice and homemade hot chocolate!). The location is also wonderful- it is ride next to the vunicular that will transport you to the train station and located in the heart of the city. I suggest you visit this wonderful establishment!

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gryffindor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We so enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lugano. It was a very pleasant experience from the the moment we walked in the door to check in to the moment we checked out. The location, the breakfast, the staff, the room-everything and everyone was delightful!
The funicular from the train station is very close to the front door of this hotel....makes it so easy to get to and from the train.
A tip re: a good restaurant in a nearby piazza-Argentinos. The staff and food were great. We ate there twice and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
295 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great location with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Staff are very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the city and the surrounding area. Travelling to the hotel by train from other main stations are very easy with a short funicular ride down to and from the front of the hotel. A special treat is the 24h coffee in the foyer with pastries at certain times. The snacks at the bar with an accompanying drink is more than sufficient to end a business day. The hotel is overall an excellent and very comfortable stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: It seems the rooms overlooking the piazza are smaller than those on the opposite side. Most bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a wonderful small hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We were given an excellent restaurant recommendation - Cucina d'Alice. Nice evening appetizers. The breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel. The location is fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff all seemed to enjoy working together and genuinely interested in giving great service to their guests. Our room was well equipped and designed and very comfortable. The location was perfect in the centre of Lugano with lots of restaurants ans shopping nearby and a short stroll to the lakeside. Wonderful - we will certainly change our journey plans to make sure we visit again when travelling through Switzerland

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CDDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calfiornia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location in the center of Lugano, excellent shopping out the front door, short walk to the lake. I had a somewhat hard time finding the parking, but once I figured it out, it was easy. The staff was friendly, helpful. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, even a rich chocolate drink that I had to try-rich is the only way to describe it. We felt spoiled and didn't want to leave. On checkout, we were offered chocolate to take on the road, and even provided Dark chocolate bar that I am still savoring. Would return any time and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank protravler177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing