We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything very good and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything very good and centrally located”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location of the hotel was probably my favorite aspect, it was a great hub for exploring in and around Lugano. They certainly make a very big effort to cater to every small need and that is a nice touch. Really i dont have anything negative to say about the hotel (breakfast was mediocre compared to other swiss hotels, but certainly still decent) and i would recommend it to others, but nothing about it really set it apart from places i gave 5 stars (like the coeur des alpes in zermatt).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrendshipAndBroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear FrendshipAndBroadway

We thank you for your great feedback.

We try really hard to make all our guest feeling welcome and appreciated from the very first moment they pass through ur doors and your satisfaction means really a lot to us.

We are instead a bit surprised you were not totally satisfied with our buffer breakfast, which is included in all our room categories (except the room only product).

It is considered by the vast majority of our guests and Tripadvisor users to be one of our most appreciated services. We offer a vast array of food and beverage in order to try to cover the tastes of all our guests who come to us from all over the world.

At the same time we know there is always space for improvements and would be more than willing to know what you think were missing in our choice.

With regard to the comparison with the hotel in Zermatt (we personally know the property very well as well as the great management), we would like to point out that a City centre hotel cannot be compared with a hotel located in the middle of the Alps and facing the Matterhorn.

They are infact two completely different products and we all know the idiom „comparing apples and organges“… 

We are so glad to know that you were generally very satisfied with our services and that you would recommend us to others.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    313
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
351
681
160
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lugano Dante is perfect ,the staff are professional .It is in the center of the downtown.It is our favorite hotel in Lugano .Rich breakfast.Near the lake ,Manor is very near.Mny luxry shops.No need for car .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Not the most luxurious but there is little that they haven't thought of here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Excellent location, excellent service, and is one reason why I like to return to Lugano.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was in this hotel on a business trip for 3 nights. Very good location, just at the city centre.
We got a warm welcome, staff was really nice and they offered us a very personal attention.
Room was kind of small but very nice decorated and with a very comfortable bed. Nice details, like a rubber ducky floating on the sink.
Breakfast is very good, with a great choice of quality food and if you like chocolate they have the original swiss one in many different ways to try!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacoxxzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Following TA reviews we chose this hotel for one night in Lugano. After the reservation we received a storm of e-mails thanking us for the reservation and asking about special wishes as to the accommodation, including the name of our little dog. This was nice, if a little excessive. We arrived very late, around 23.00h , received by an extremely accommodating and nice staff, our car was put in their fantastic parking, our luggage borne up to room 532, a junior suite. The little dog was "happy" to get a special basket to sleep in, some dog biscuits and even a letter welcoming her at the hotel . We were served in the room the little "collazione" some cold cuts and a bottle of wine that we had ordered before arriving. The quality at most average. The room of good size, like the bathroom. Very nice bedlinen, impeccably clean. The decoration of the room, the lightning (in the bathroom as well) , the lack of an adapter for the electrical outlets, the lack of a proper blow drier as opposed to the "inversed vacuum cleaner" mounted in the wall of the bathroom - all spoke about a lack of up to date sophistication of hotel appointments, I think that the room has not been redone since at least 10 years, and very much has happened since then. The rapport quality price is not good as this accommodation costed as much as a simple but luxurious room at the Relais et Chateaux hotel Les Crayeres in Reims, France, where we had slept the night before. Or we are talking here about a fantastically beautiful chateau with stupendous gardens, the best breakfast ever in the one Michelin starred restaurant, very helpful staff, etc etc. So I don't think that the cutesy touches at Dante or the exceptionally nice staff can excuse the high price of the room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Angela,

we know that our high rate on Tripadvisor may create very high expectations and it surely becomes more and more difficult to surprise and satisfy our guests, as well as motivating us in trying to constantly improve the quality of our services.

We usually send a confirmation email upon reservation and a second one, three days before arrival, with all the useful and up-to-date information to increase the quality of your stay, such as the weather forecast, travel tips, how to reach us, the room temperature, a pillow choice, type of bedding, the minibar content, etc.

We are indeed very glad to notice that you could customize your stay before arrival choosing 12 items and we know we are the only hotel in Switzerland offering this type of service, a sign of gratitide for choosing us.

We are however saddened that the assigned Executive room (room 532), which is considered by the vast majority of our customers to be one of the best and most appreciated ones, was not totally up to your satisfaction.

We certainly respect your feelings and know that our classical interiors and design, with lots of fitted carpets and upholstery, may not please everybody. For this reason we have recently added three very nice Suite with a modern contemporary design.

The international adapter for the electrical outlest is placed on the writing desk.

We are sorry you missed out on our buffet breakfast, preferring to have the breakfast in the room. We are proud of our buffet breakfast, which is included in all room rates (except the room only product). It is offered from 6.30 am to 11 am and has a great array of food and beverages to satisfy all our guests, who come to stay with us from all around the world. We think this is the perfect way to start the day with joy and energy.

With regard to the pricing, it is fair to say that due to the financial turbulence of the last five years the Euro currency has lost almost 20% of its value in respect to the Swiss Franc, thus causing Switzerland to seem more expensive. Adding to this phenomenon, while elaborating a „value comparison“ with other hotels and destinations, one should always take into consideration the stay date and seasonability. In fact rate changes on a daily basis, depending on the demand and the period between the months of June and October is considered high season in Lugano.

Nevertheless, we are glad you could appreciate the exceptional quality of our services and the friendliness of our staff. Your satisfaction means really a lot to us.

Please come back and stay with us again, this time in one of our modern contemporary Suites.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel location is amazing. Right two steps away form Piazza Riforma, the main piazza of the town. The nice Via Nassa is really close and we found amazing luxury shopping. We stayed in the lobby and enjoyed the "aperitivo" before dinner and we enjoyed wonderful drinks and bites. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, during the Swiss national holiday. The hotel rooms were not very big but were overlooking the piazza underneath. The staff were very accommodating and help us at every question or request. We absolutely had a great time here!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing