We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place and the excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2009

My stay is lugano was for two days...

When we reached there and entered this place...that was it....
the staff is brilliant ...we were welcomed by smiling faces....and a lovely room...

For anything one needs to anything one would want to know...the staff made an extra effort to be at service...

the pizza we ordered was awesome...and jsut to add the girl on the counter Stephanie...(I hope I am right)...she was very sweet...and lovely .

Its a must stay at and real value for money in an expensive country like switzerland...
on my rating for the trip...i give it full...and real look forward to being in lugano once again..

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank acidev42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, Carlo Fontana - GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2009

Dear acidev42,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Dante Lugano. We appreciate the "full" marks and the comment "real value for money" too.

We were pleased to read that you found our staff "brillant" and liked a reception team member in particular, Stefania. We hope you felt our welcome and "extra effort" customer service were sincere.

We hope you tried our delicious breakfast buffet. And, if traveling to us by car on your next visit, don't forget about our secure underground garage.

It was a pity you could only stay with us for 2 days. Next time, come and stay with us a little longer. For special offers and packages for Hotel Dante Lugano, please visit our website. .

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2009

We have just returned from our trip to 4 cities in swiss and this was the best hotel in the entire itinerary. we did not experience such a lovely service anywhere else. the hotel lives upto its 4 star expectations completely .with a few surprises for its guests, the hotel leaves a big impression on your mind.

also there canot be a better location for a tourist in lugano than this very hotel.

highly recommended by us for business or leisure in lugano..

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varunsdua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2009

Dear varunsdua,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We are delighted you thought we were the best out of 4 cities and felt we "exceeded 4 star expectations". In such a competitive market, we know, we have to offer our guests something "extra" and deliver top service. We are proud to offer extras such as: in room complimentary (nonalcoholic) minibars, coffee and tea service in lobby, free internet stations in lobby and Wifi connections and more depending on room category.

We hope you enjoyed our scrumptious breakfast buffet, where there is something for everyone. It is checked daily for quality, variety and service. Since our guests come to us from all over the world, it is important to us to offer a wide selection of food and beverage.

Thank you for pointing out our secure and convenient location. Remember our underground garage if traveling to us by car next time.

Thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you again soon in Beautiful Lugano!

Sincerely,
Carlo Fontana, GM & the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

My husband and I visited Lugano during a Switzerland road trip in December, 2008-January, 2009 and the hotel proved a real treasure. The hotel is centrally located, very close to many restaurants and shops. As we had a rental car, parking was of utmost importance and the hotel’s parking was easy and staff members who park the car really helpful. I believe the hotel’s staff is one of the most professional I’ve ever met and it is worth mentioning that upon arrival we were greeted in Greek (!!) by Martina as she happened to have spent some time in Greece. Our room was in the hotel’s new wing, very quite and with extra ETRO toiletries due to the fact that was New Year’s Eve plus a free minibar. A book with Christmas stories was also given to us as an arrival gift. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was unbelievable, one of the best hotel breakfast experiences. Free internet for an hour was also offered. We highly recommend Hotel Dante to travellers who visit Lugano.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, Carlo Fontana - GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2009

Dear SophiaK,

Thank you for all of the lovely comments written about Hotel Lugano Dante. We passed on your compliments to our staff. The term "real treasure", is so flattering and we are honored you feel that way. We hope you felt Welcome and Special during your stay with us. We appreciate your trust and that is why we pay attention to small details and try to offer more than our competitors: complimentary in-room minibars, free internet one hour internet, coffee and tea service, Etro toiletries (in the Executive rooms only) and the best breakfast buffet in town. And yes, our secure garage is perfect for those traveling to us by car. Since we are in the pedestrian city center, you won't have the need for a car. Being in the city center offers shops, restaraunts, banks and lake all within walking distance. Thank you for your confidence and for recommending us. Please come back and stay again. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stopped at this Hotel for a very quick stay during a road trip through Switzerland and Italy. We loved everything about the hotel. We came via private car. Our first impression was the parking and unloading of the car. The hotel is set up so that you pull into a garage and can unload right in front of the door. It is incredibly simple and efficient. The lobby is warm and inviting and the staff are the best I have seen in the hotel business. The rooms are a good size and we found ours to be very quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room had been very nicely redone. The hotel is extremely well located in the heart of a lovely square...an easy walk to countless restaurants and great shopping.
We did have the opportunity to enjoy breakfast at the hotel. I have traveled all over the world and I will say that this is one of the highest quality and best overall breakfast experiences I have ever had. The food quality is exceptional and the choices are numerous...from the very healthy to the absolute decadent. I have stayed in 5 star hotels that did not offer the overall quality and service of this lovely hotel. If my travels take me back to Lugano, I will look no further. This is a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank austinjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, Carlo Fontana - General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2009

Dear austinjjc,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We are so proud to serve such wonderful guests from all over the world. When we read your comment, "We loved everything about the hotel", we were ecstatic. We know our guests have other choices and that is why we try our best to make our guests feel special and welcome.

Our convenient location and secure garage allows our guests "freedom" from needing their car and "peace of mind" from the worry and hassles of public park garages. Once you pull into the garage entrance, our porters will assist you to your room and safely tuck your car away in our worry free state of art park house. We hope you took advantage of our great location and got to enjoy beautiful Lugano.

We are so glad you liked the room and the new decor. We decided (amidst this economic slow down), it was in our guest's best interests to invest in large refurbishments and new decor in order to give a fresh clean feel. It seems it is paying off and we have received a lot of positive feedback.

Our breakfast always a "crowd pleaser" is controlled daily for quality, selection and service. We are proud to offer our guests a selection of quality food items to help them kick start their day.

Please come back and visit us again if ever in Lugano. Thank you again for your confidence and for choosing us!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My wife and I were in Lugano visiting family. We were attracted by the reviews of the hotel Dante and were not disappointed. The hotel is situated perfectly, the rooms are nice, but the main attraction is the staff. Very helpful and friendly. Service is obviously the main focus of the hotel. To name a few things: a great breakfest buffet, free drinks in the lobby, free internet, free minibar. We greatly enjoyed our stay and do not hesitate to recommend the hotel Dante to other travelllers.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dutchtraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2009

Dear dutchtraveller77,

Thank you for the top marks given to Hotel Lugano Dante.

We are delighted that you found our staff and service "very helpful and friendly". We are competing in a market dominated by larger chain hotels, where everything is standardized. In order to compete, we treat our guests as individuals and try to make them feel special and welcome: free refreshments in the lobby, free internet, free in room (nonalcoholic) mini bars. And yes, "service is our main focus" and our guests (you) are the "main attraction".

Thank you for also complimenting our great location, nice rooms and breakfast buffet. We are proud of Hotel Lugano Dante and our staff. And, we are proud that you chose us, thank you!

Please come back and stay with us again soon. We appreciate your business and are thankful for your recommendations to potential travellars.

Sincerely,
Carlo Fontana - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We have just rerurned from a 5 day stay at Lugano Dante.The hotel is just magnificent !The stuff was very kind and helpful,the best hotel stuff i have ever seen.
The location ia excellent in the pedestrian area and everything is less than 5minutes from the hotel. Also the lake is 2 blocks from there.Breakfast buffet is great with great variety for every taste.
There is coffee and tea available in the lobby 24h to enjoy it with nice view in piazza Cioccaro.I would defenetely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dimitris78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, Carlo Fontana - General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2009

Dear Dimitris78,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. Your positive comments were like a breath of fresh air and we are grateful for them. We made sure to pass on your review to all staff and encouraged them to keep up the good work. And thank you for pointing out our great location in the city center of Lugano. We were glad to see that you like our breakfast buffet and complimentary tea and coffee service.
We really hope you felt special and were treated as an individual. We invite you back anytime and please, do recommend us.
Happy New Year and Best Wishes for 2009!

Sincerely,
Carlo Fontana - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Superb reception, excellent hospitality, great care by staff at all levels, cosy atmosphere, unbelievable breakfast buffet.
Highly recommended whether you are staying for one night or longer, for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATcyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, Carlo at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2009

Dear ATcyprus,

Thank you for reviewing us. At Hotel Lugano Dante, we treat you as an individual and are proud to offer our guests "one to one" service. We do not operate as a chain where everything is standardized. We offer several room types (something to suit everyone's needs) and have recently added a few carpet free rooms. We hope our great location made it easy for you to enjoy Lugano. Our "unbelievable breakfast buffet" is a team effort: the food and service are quality controlled daily.

Thank you for recommending us and please come back and visit us again. We wish you a Happy and Safe New Year!

Sincerely,
Carlo Fontana,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 44 in Lugano
635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 44 in Lugano
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.9 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: £160 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing