We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We just returned from 3 days at this wonderful hotel. It was an excellent choice. The staff is so helpful and tries very hard to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one. We had a slight problem during our stay and were compensated with a generous upgrade to an executive suite even though we weren't looking for anything from the hotel. Their goal is to make sure you have an excellent experience there.

The location is great - right at the bottom of the funicular which makes train travel so easy. The shops and restaurants are nearby and we found a great department store a short distance away.

The hotel lobby is a quiet, pleasant place to sit and relax. There is always coffee and tea available and jars of various candies at the reception desk. The bar provided beautiful canapes and appetizers each evening for whose enjoying cocktails in the bar area. Our room was attractively decorated with complimentary beverages in the mini bar. There was a nice array of toiletries in our bathroom. I could not believe they were given to each guest at no cost. It included shampoo, soap, men and women's cologne and body lotion in large bottles. The wifi worked great from the room. We even enjoyed the little rubber duck sitting in our sink. It was a nice touch. The staff was great - always willing to help with any request and they graciously made all our travel arrangements for us. Ask at the desk for discount tickets to many nearby attractions.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic - the best ever! The croissants were lovely. Such a large offering. I would not normally drink hot chocolate in the morning but I just had to try it. There were 2 huge urns with white and dark hot clocolate inside them.. It was so very, very good. It was like drinking a cup of hot chocolate pudding. I'm sure I' ll wish I had it back here at home and it made a memory I'll have forever of the delicious taste.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. It was quiet and peaceful - a perfect ending to our trip. The pool and the lake are nearby, not directly on site.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sccpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Dear sccpm,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read all of the nice comments written about our hotel and staff. It was all our pleasure to be able to offer you an upgrade it was the least we could do.

Being in the pedestrian center of Lugano adjacent to the funicular, makes it easy for our guests traveling to us by train. We also offer a secure underground garage for guests traveling to us by car. Our location is great for those who want to explore the city more. We are close to downtown shopping, restaurants, and lake all within walking distance. Our staff are always on hand to offer recommendations and even discounted passes to many of the nearby attractions.

We are so glad you liked our breakfast buffet. Our beloved guests come to us from all over the world and that is the reason we offer such an array of food and beverage. We have included a recipe for the "la ciocolata densa" you liked so much:

Here is a recipe from the 'Joy of Cooking' for Italian hot Cocoa -- It calls for: 1/2 c. unsweetened (high quality) cocoa, 1/3 c. sugar, 1 tsp. cornstarch, 1 c. water stirred in 1/2 c. at a time, and 1 c. milk. Cook over low- medium low heat until it is the consistency you want. This may yield a good Italian cocoa. Enjoy!!!!

We hope you come back and visit us again soon! Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,
Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,973)
There are newer reviews for Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

This hotel has one thing only which makes it worth staying in, that is its excellent central position. However, it is run down, the rooms are dark and small the bathrooms need refurbishing The reception staff were some of the rudest I have come across, and in fact I made a complaint about my encounter with them and received an apology
The main lounge area is full of sofas and chairs, very noisy,no where to relax and sit quietly.
The breakfast is excellent and very varied but the main dining room is depressing and uncomfortable
There is no way I would call this a 4 star hotel it is noisy, and disappointing all round except for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vrrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2009

Dear Vrrenton,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Lugano Dante. We were not surprised to read your comments left about our hotel. All we can say it that we tried everything to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. And we would always try to keep an ongoing relationship with our customers because our main goal is to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the minute they walk in our door. Unfortunately this is not always possible and depending on our will.

We have recently underwent a large redecorating process: we totally recarpeted the hotel, reupholstered chairs in bedrooms and sitting room, new mattresses, and some rooms were completely redone from floor to ceiling and new bathrooms. It might be fair for a guest to say they did not like our new decor, but to say our hotel is run down is false. To say we are not a four star establishment is false as well. The main lounge is not noisy at all, as it is usually used only by our guests.


We use the "customer is always right policy" and will always give the customer the upper hand and respect they so deserve. However, we would never allow a guest abusing other guests or members of our staff (we are not used at the Lugano Dante to have a staff member in tiers ). We want all of our guests to leave with a good feeling about our establishment and staff. We know we are not perfect, but we will always try to do the best we can for our guests.

Thank you for your understanding.

Carlo Fontana, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We just got back from a short vacation to Italy and Switzerland, and we enjoyed our stay in Lugano the best. Specifically , the Dante Center Hotel was the highlight of our trip. It is perfectly located for shopping , and the funiculare right outside the front door whisks you straight up to the train station. The staff was warm and friendly , and the rooms were immaculate. Excellent breakfast buffet too. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagennet96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2009

Dear bagenne96,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in Lugano best. We are flattered you called our establishment the highlight of your trip. We however, cannot take all of the credit of our location in the pedestrian center of Lugano, that is just down to luck. Being adjacent to the funicular is a bonus for those of our guest coming to us and leaving us by train.

We are so glad you found your room immaculate. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel. We hope you also liked your complimentary nonalcoholic minibar that is restocked daily with refreshing soft drinks for our guests enjoyment.


We loved your comment about our staff being warm and friendly. Our main goal is to make our customers feel welcome and comfortable when they are with us. Our breakfast buffet is a way we like to pamper our beloved guests that come to us from all over the world. Breakfast is controlled for quality, variety and service daily.

Please come back and visit us again! We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Excellent with respect to accessibility for travel, sight seeing, shopping and dining, attitude of staff, breakfast buffet, 24-hour coffee, cake availabilty in the lobby. Very good sound proofing of the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manocha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2009

Dear Manocha9,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read your comments written about our hotel and staff. Our location, adjacent to the funicular that takes you to and from the main station, makes it easy for those that are traveling to us by train. We also offer a secure underground garage if ever traveling to us by car.

We are located in the pedestrian city center of Lugano. It is a wonderful city for sight seeing, shopping and dining and our location gives you the freedom of coming back to your room in between activities. Lugano is beautiful all year round and has something to do for everyone.

We hope you liked your room and complimentary nonalcoholic minibar. We have invested a fair amount in sound proofed ceilings, floors, and double glazed windows. We want to be able to give our guests a good night's sleep every night.

Please come back and visit us again soon in beautiful Lugano. Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante.

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

The title says it all. The hotel is conveniently located to the train station, shopping restaurants, and the lake front. All the staff that we encountered during our stay was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious by European standards, very clean, and very quiet. The breakfast buffet was one of the best, if not the best, I have ever seen. Truely something there for everybody, and if you couldn't find it on the buffet, all you had to do was ask for it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason_Bourne_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2009

Dear Jason_Bourne_09,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay. Our location adjacent to the train station funicular, makes it most convenient for our guests traveling to us by train. For guests traveling to us by car, we offer a secure covered garage.

Our main purpose is to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable when they are with us. We are so glad you found your room spacious, very clean and very quiet. All of our rooms offer a complimentary nonalcoholic minibar which we hope keeps our guests refreshed throughout their stay with us.

We were flattered by your comments about our breakfast buffet. We offer such an array of food and beverage so that there is truly something for everybody. We feel it is the right way to start your day off. The breakfast buffet is controlled daily for quality, variety and service.

Thank you so much for recommending us. Please come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I truly enjoyed my 3 day stay at Hotel Lugano Dante Center. It is centrally located - a short walk to the Lake and in the center of everything. Most convenient from train station - a Funicula ride down the steep hill and located at its base.
Hotel is quiet with very helpful and frinedly staff. The breakfasts are truly beyond the norm and really quite good.
Recommend you consider staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rontc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2009

Dear Rontc,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and all of the lovely comments written about us.

Our hotel located in the pedestrian center of Lugano is quiet and most convenient for our guests. And, being adjacent to the funicular, makes it so easy for our guests traveling to us by train to get to and from the station.

We are happy you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We want all of our guests to feel welcome and comfortable while they are with us. That is the reasoning behind the complimentary nonalcoholic minibars, coffee/tea station in the main lobby, free 30 min. WiFi (60 min when using your own laptopo) and delicious breakfast buffet (breakfast included for all rooms except when choosing room only rate).

Please come back and stay with us again! We thank you for recommending Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed 3 nights in late May. This would have been a great experience - great location when coming by train, and nice old town location; pleasant staff and very good breakfast - but the beds were extremely uncomfortable for us older travelers even though we were told that the mattresses were new. We stayed in 3 other European hotels on this trip and had no trouble sleeping at any of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldchemprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2009

Dear oldchemprof,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted your experience with us was a great one. And yes, being adjacent to the funicular makes it easy for our guests coming to us by train. Our secure underground garage is available to guests arriving by car.

We understand the importance of quality of sleep for our guests. We recently purchased mattresses for our hotel from one of the top brands in the sector. Mattresses are routinely quality controlled and changed whenever needed. We are fully aware aach person has their own personal feeling of comfortable and if a mattress is reported as being too soft by a customer, we would try adding a board in between box spring and mattress for more support. If a mattress is reported as too hard, we would provide foam padding etc. At Hotel Lugano Dante, we also provide pillow service (a choice of different types of pillows), to our clients to further assist in a good night's rest.

Our breakfast buffet offers an array of food and beverage where there is something for everyone. It is the perfect way to start off your day. We are so pleased you liked it.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.1 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: £175 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing