We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, thank you Carlo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Me and my family spent a night at the Dante a couple nights before Christmas. We were unable to reach our final destination that night because of snow and the wonderful people at the Dante were able to put us up on very short notice. We arrived about 11 o'clock at night hungry and tired from travel and the staff on hand was kind enough to exchange currency and direct us to a very nice restaraunt nearby. On return we found our rooms to be very nice and clean. In the morning they have a very nice breakfast with many choices to choose from. The location of the Hotel is great. It is in the heart of the city with a lot of nice stores and restaraunts within walking distance. Overall I could not be more pleased and would recommend the Dante to anyone staying in Lugano. Thank you Carlo and and everyone else at the Dante.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMtraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2010

Dear NMtraveler74,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read your comments about our staff and hotel.

It was a pleasure to be able to welcome you and your family on short notice. We would always recommend that guests prebook to guarantee a room, however, if we have the availability we are happy to welcome a guest without a reservation. If we had not had vacancies, we would have assisted in finding a room in another establishment.

Our staff are happy to assist our guests in any way possible. Our main goal is to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the minute they walk through our doors. Changing currency and assisting in finding a restaurant is really our pleasure.

We are happy yoi noticed that we are in the pedestrian zoned city center, which is a plus for our guests. They do not have to depend on their cars or public transport and have lots of restaurants and shops nearby. However, if coming to us by car, we offer a secure underground garage.

We are glad you liked your rooms and found them very nice and clean. We hope you benefited from our pillow service, that allows guests to choose from several pillows. We want our guests to get the best night's sleep possible.

Please come back and visit us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2009

From the moment we arrived at Hotel Dante we were delighted with the friendliness and warmth of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The ability to get tea and coffee whenever we wanted in the lounge was great (loved the constant supply of M&Ms and sweets). Our bedroom was a perfect, the beds comfortable with good housekeeping service and the bathroom was very well equipped. The breakfast was amazing - everything fresh and good quality.
The only suggestion I would make is that I could not get CNN in the room - would have been nice but certainly not essential. It is possible that this was provided and that with my limited ability with remote controls i couldnt find it.
Would definitely come back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busheytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

Dear Busheytraveller,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read your comments about our hotel and Staff.

We are glad you appreciated your room and the several amenities at your disposal, such as our coffee machine in the main lobby area, and sweets. Concerning your room, the mattresses are top quality and have been recently replaced in order to ensure our guests a good night's sleep while they are with us. We are really happy it was well receive. The complimentary services such as: in room non-alcoholic minibars, one hour WiFi and 24 hour coffee/tea/snack corner in our main lobby, are ways we like to try and make our guests feel welcome.

We are very surprised to know that you were not able to catch CNN channel in your in-room TV, and we are really sorry for that. We have immediately taken care of this issue and we have already solved it.

Finally, thank you for recommending us. We truly hope you will come back and stay with us again. Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

just come back from a 2 night stay at the Dante...do NOT GET IN a cab from the station its 2 mins on the veniculare to outside the Dante.
The staff could not be more welcoming and charming. The lobby was full of free drinks and sweets, chocolates and magazines to make your stay perfect. I have never had such an amazing breakfast with incredible choices...all top quality in variety and freshness. The bar also puts out free snacks in the evening.
The room was perfectly situated with black out curtains to ensure a good nights sleep and although in the centre it was v quiet.
My group also went to Foxtown and got good advice from the lobby staff. Upon departure they gave us a toblerone..a very sweet gesture...but this stay was beyond any criticism, would love to go back again

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

Dear Davinia2

Firs of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Lugano Dante with all TripAdvisor Community. We are flattered by the positive words you have spent describing the service received and the lovely atmosphere you found.
Our location adjacent to the funicular makes us the perfect choice for guests coming to or leaving us by train. And, being in the pedestrian centre of Lugano means, our guests will find all kind of restaurants, shops, offices, with the opportunity to enjoy, as you have done, excursion to FoxTown, one of biggest outlet stores in Europe, as well as the romantic lake all within walking distance.

Our breakfast buffet does set us apart from many other hotels. We offer an array of food and beverage from 6.30 till 11 am everyday. Our breakfast buffet is controlled for quality, variety and service daily. For all these reasons we are proud to offer to our guests a unique and unforgettable” breakfast experience” , in order to start with the right energies a work or leisure day in Lugano.

Please come back and stay with us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

The room is impecable and smells fresh. Furniture, linen, bed cover, everything in perfect condition. The bathroom is not big but is fully equipped.
The hotel has no special views but it has an excellent location right in the centre of Lugano. This is very convenient as there are many restaurants and shops next to the hotel. It is easy to find by car.
Breakfast is truly excellent and the serving staff is very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My_Fair_Lady_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

Dear My Fair lady Spain,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. It was really a pleasure to welcome you and your family to our hotel. We were so glad to read that you amenities and location near to the train station and in the centre of Lugano.
We are happy that you found your room to be immaculately clean. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel. We are a 100% Smoke Free Hotel (the first one in Lugano). We decided to become smoke free to offer our guests healthier air and fresher smelling rooms.

Furthermore, it is always our pleasure to offer our guests extras such as, snacks, a complimentary non-alcoholic minibar, 24 hour coffee/tea/snacks in our main lobby and free WiFi at our computer stations. These are ways we like to say thank you to our beloved guests.
Thank you so much for your kind words. Please come back and visit us again!

Sincerely,
Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Friendly Service, incredible breakfast included in price, very central location, close to Lake, very accessible from train station.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2009

Dear BertToronto,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read your comments about our hotel and to receive a 5 out of 5 rating from you.

Our location adjacent to the funicular, makes us the perfect location for guests arriving by train. We also offer a secure underground garage if coming to us by car. But once you are with us, you won't need your car. We are surrounded by restauraunts and stores and just 2 minute walking distance to beautiful Lake Lugano.

We read you liked our breakfast buffet. It is one of our most appreciated services. It is controlled daily for quality, variety and service before it touches guest's plates.

Lugano is beautiful and has something to do for everyone all year round. We hope you will come back and visit us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The young woman at the reception was amazing with her service, helpful hints and friendliness.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matterhorn96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2009

Dear matterhorn96,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to receive a 5/5 rating from you and to read your comment about one of our staff members.

We hope you felt welcome and comfortable from the minute you walked through our door. Our staff are always on hand to assist our clients in any way possible. We are so glad you found the reception service amazing, helpful and friendly.

We hope our location adjacent to the funicular was easy and convenient. If ever traveling to us by car, remember we offer a secure underground parking garage.

Please come back and visit us again soon! Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I booked a stay at Lugano Dante Center based on these trip advisor reviews. I wasn't disappointed. As an expat living in Switzerland I've come to learn that customer service is hard to come by here but the staff at this hotel get it.
We had no issues checking in. The guy at the desk was very nice and answered all of our questions and even make or dinner reservations. At night we hung out in the lobby and had drinks. The man behind the bar was the nicest person I've even encountered at at a hotel ! One person wrote that the staff here try hard to make it a great hotel and I agree 100%. I think there are probably better hotels in the area but I would come back here because of the people. I did see the cold girl behind the desk that some spoke of but I'd just say she's very matter of fact ;-)
The hotel is in a great location. It's a really easy to get to the train station right from the front of the hotel Just make sure you call and ask how to do it first. The train station is not right out front. I also loved the breakfast spread. They had just about anything you could think of to eat. They go way beyond your typical hotel breakfast. Then they have free snack foods, hot drinks and candy. We parked our car at the hotel which wasn't cheap but at least the high tech parking system they have is entertaining. I don't really know how it works. All I know is the guy pushed some buttons and the car showed up and no one was driving it. The valet guy was also realy nice. The only thing that I didn't like was the fact that the rooms are tiny for the price but, that's Europe for ya. At least the bed was comfortable and we had a flatscreen TV. They coud also do better with the driving directions on the website. We had a GPS and still got lost but that's no biggie. Overall they do a nice job here. I would stay here again and probably will.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zetalambda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, GM at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2009

Dear zetalambda,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were ecstatic about your comments and to receive a 5/5 from such an experienced traveler like yourself.

We were so happy to read that you had a fast and easy check in. Our main goal is to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the minute they walk through our doors. Our staff are always on hand to assist our guests in any way possible.

We read that you had trouble finding us using the map we provided on our website. We will review this and see how we can improve it. We are glad that you found us (despite getting lost) and we hope that by using our secure park garage, you were able to take a break from your car while not having to worry about it.

On your next visit, should you wish for a larger room, do not hesitate to ask at time of booking. Sometimes for only a small supplement you can upgrade to a higher category room.

We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
International au Lac Historic Lakeside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: £155 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing