We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I have had a 30 year relationship with Lugano. I was a student here 26 years ago and I come to visit friends here every few years. I send my friends to Lugano because it is always a place that makes me happy and relaxed. Hotel Lugano Dante is wonderful. The staff is truly professional and friendly, my room was comfortable, the breakfast was sumptuous and delicious, and one cannot beat the location. I will stay again with my husband when we visit next. Outstanding hotel in the heart of Lugano!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauntieTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,540
    309
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
346
661
160
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The exceptional staff are what make this hotel stand out. ALL the staff are friendly, helpful and thoughtful, down to the bellhop in the lobby noticing the water in the boiler for making tea was cold and bringing us hot water from the kitchen without us even having to ask! There are numerous little thoughtful extras, all designed to make the guests` stay comfortable.
The location in the pedestrian heart of the main city is convenient for shopping, lake boats, the main square, the train station and other amenities; but the hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility with lovely quiet rooms.
Despite the central location arriving by car was very easy and the 'car reception' and garage were impressive (high tec and very quick and efficient).
Lugano is a wonderful location and this is an exceptional hotel. We can`t wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizee157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Dear Wizee157,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We are flattered by your comments and the 5 out of 5 rating you gave to us.

We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our experienced staff are always willing to assist our guests in any way possible. We are glad you felt welcome and comfortable as this is always our main goal.

Our location adjacent to the funicular is very convenient if arriving to us by train or airport shuttle buses. Of course, if arriving by car as you did, we offer a secure, state of the art underground garage. Once you are with us, there is no need for a car or public transportation. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars and specialty shops. The lake is just a 2 minute walk away.
We are glad you found your room to be tranquil. We hope you enjoyed the free amenities such as: in room nonalcoholic minibar with 8 different types of soft drink, 24 hour coffee/tea/snacks in main lobby, 1 hour WiFi at our computer stations complete with printers.

Please come back and visit us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

After having read the numerous extremely positive comments about Hotel Dante, I decided to book 3 nights for my mum, aunt and myself. My only worry was that our expectations were so high, after so many previsous travellers' comments on how wonderful the hotel was. We were not disappointed! The ever so friendly and helpful staff, fantastic breakfast, cleanliness and location made our trip to Lugano unforgetable. Lugano is a lovely town, very clean & safe, with great shops (very few chains), small cafés and wine bars. Would recommend staying a couple days: take the boat over to Gandria, walk back along the olive track, take the bus up to Carina and walk around the botanical gardens San Grato. Lake Como is only 30' drive away - well worth the trip too!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauterne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
Dear Sauterne1980,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante. We were delighted to read your comments about our hotel and staff.

We are a four star hotel situated in the pedestrian city center of Lugano. The dimensions of our rooms are on the smaller side and we do not have a view of the lake but, are only a 3 minute walk to lake Lugano. We are located near many restaurants and shops.

We are also adjacent to the funicular that takes you to and from the train station and the airport shuttle bus drop is on our doorstep. We also offer a secure underground garage to our guests that come to us by car.

We were thrilled you liked our location, breakfast and cleanliness. We truly hope you felt welcome and comfortable the second you walked through our doors. As this is always our main goal for all of our guests.

Based on your comments, it seems you made the most out of your short stay in Lugano. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

As before this hotel is an absolutely excellent example of how to combine superb, effortless hospitality (or so it seems to the guest), with a flawless product. I cannot commend the hotel high enough in all regards - and believe me I am a critical traveller! Top marks.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AndyFrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appenzell
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Very convenient to the Funicular and railway, also to the main city attractions. Excellent breakfast, nice rooms. Very good friendly staff. The hotel is now 100% no smoking which is a very big plus.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I've stayed at several upscale hotels in Lugano and this by far is the best for location, service and accommodations. I always stay at the Dante because they make me feel at home. The Breakfast Buffet is outstanding, the staff warm, friendly and very helpful. I recommend this hotel highly!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymiejo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Its a great hotel with very friendly staff, who go out of their way to be helpful . The selection at breakfast was superb. There is never any reason to be hungry as the staff leave bowls of chocolates, sweets and cakes for guests to help themselves. When we left the hotel by car we were given a bottle of water to take with us on the journey. This summed up he attitude of all the staff. I have no reservation about recommending this hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 46 in Lugano
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 46 in Lugano
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 46 in Lugano
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing