We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Our experience at the Hotel Dante was perfect from check in to check out. We were there for a wedding a few weeks ago and stayed 3 nights. Breakfast was incredible. The location couldn't have been more convenient since it is at the bottom of the funicular which takes you to and from the train station. Don't forget to enjoy the Nespresso machine in the lobby. Tip: this was our first trip to Italy and we didn't know that you return your key every time you leave the hotel. It was hard to get used to at first but once we learned how to say our room number in Italian we got the hang of it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 2,003 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2010

We only had a couple of days in Lugano on our way to Bellagio so we didn't have great expectations but we were delighted by the quality of the rooms and the service of this hotel.
We researched this hotel on tripadvisor and everyone talked about the breakfast and guess what we were not disappointed the breakfast spread was fantastic.
Everywhere we went in the hotel there were chocolates and lollies.
The location was fantastic right in the middle of town and close to the lake.
We were driving a rental car and therefore needed a car parking spot which meant we had to book a car space at the hotel, this was fine but when we first drove to Lugano we had to find the hotel and that was not easy even with our GPS, the hotel is hidden in the middle of town, it took us a long time to find the hotel so I would suggested some signage to allow guests to find you,
Over all we were not disappointed and we would certainly recommend the Hotel Dante.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilandCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed at Lugano Dante Swiss for 2 nights during our recent trip to Switzerland. The rooms were quite small, but clean and well appointed. We had the view of one of the church towers from our room. The hotel is right in the middle of the market, but we did not hear any noises in our room and slept very well. Its opposite the funicular station which is right outside the railway station, so no pain at all in reaching the hotel.
We liked the hotel lounge as it was very comfortable and hotel guests could have tea/coffee with some chocolates and light snacks through the day here.
In the evening the bar was open to guests and some of the wine served was on the house. There was free internet use available and the breakfast was very good. There was a very good spread and the guests were well taken case of by the staff.
The reception was friendly and helpful and overall made our stay very pleasent and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuptaDebjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

good location , nice cofortable rooms , good service , all you need for a business travel............

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uday27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The hotel has the largest breakfast selection in my entire stay in Europe. Located next to the funicular that connects to the train station, the hotel is located at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ri_Sun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

Dear Mrs. Ri_Sun8,

Thank you very much for having preferred Hotel Lugano Dante and for reviewing about your experience.

We have seen that you are frequent leisure and business traveler and typically stay in 5 star hotels all around the world.

It’s important to say, that we are not a chain hotel where all the rooms are the same. We are a small family run 4 star hotel, and we offer different room typologies to be able to meet different customers needs (from Quality room to Suite). Next time our Staff will be more than willing to assist you in finding the best solution.

We are really grateful for your comments and 3 out 5 rating you gave to us, since we discovered this is the same rating you also gave numerous other 4 and 5 stars hotels in Europe.

We were happy to read that you, a very experienced traveller, appreciated our central location in the heart of Lugano and all the complimentary services (unlimited WiFi access, free in room minibar, breakfast extended opening hours, etc.).

Finally, we were delighted to read you appreciated the range and quality of our breakfast buffet, we hope it gave you lots of energy and vitality to the start your day off!

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

we liked the front desk and restaurant people, they were friendly and welcoming, the room was extra clean, my preference which was a surprise to my wife was there as I asked for, ,, the concierge help was great, the check out man was like an old friend of us, making us 2 cup of coffee before leaving while waiting the Taxi, there people are unbelievable, I loved them all and I loved that warm clean hotel

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This was our second stay within the past year and it was wonderful as usual. The staff, reception, room, breakfast, location, etc., was perfect. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: £161 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing