We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lugano Dante has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
westminster, md.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lugano Dante has it all!”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This past visit to Lugano and the Dante was our third. We love the area and the Dante is just right. Location, location, location...If you want to visit the other lakes it is an easy drive. If you want a day trip to Milan and/or Belinzona it is an easy drive.
The quality of the Dante starts and ends with their people..they are all there to serve you. Lina and her staff are there to greet you every morning with the greatest breakfast you ever imagine and the rest of the staff are there to make your day a great one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aw&bcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    309
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
346
661
160
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Second time at Lugano Dante. Booked a last minute on their website and was upgraded to a larger room. For me this is the perfect business and leisure hotel.
Location : old town, next to the small funicular which brings you to the railway station in 1 minute.
Rooms : classical italian style (cherry wood), very good beds (although not as good a a boxspring combination such as marriott, W or Pullmann), high quality bedlinnen with various types of pillows. Bathrobe provided. Rooms are extremely well soundproofed and the darkening drapes really keep any light out at night. (When travelling I want a room to be quiet and dark!)
Amenities : mini-bar with free non-alcoholic drinks , free Wifi
Level of service : possibility of web check-in thus avoiding waiting at check-in, free snacks and bonbons at the lobby, free shuttle service to airport, they offer you a snack-bar on departure to "ease your trip"
Staff : always smiling and eager to help but without being obnoxious, you sense that they are really happy when you are happy.
In short, I think there is hardly a better place in Lugano. Only if you really need a swimming pool, you will have to look elsewhere (Lugano Paradiso)
Thanks to the team of Lugano Dante

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfbambvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The Dante is an old-school hotel,spotless,with charming and attentive staff. Rooms are traditional and not too large but they have everything you need. The breakfast is beyond compare. There is no way to describe the quantity and quality of the choices. The display of cakes alone is mouth-watering and it isn't just the look of it. In addition,there are thoughtful extras,tea and coffee and sweets in the lobby at all times and newspapers in many languages. The Dante is generous to a fault. We all enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londononmymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appenzell
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This is the 6th time we stayed at this hotel since 2005, and we always were extremely satisfied. Very friendly and attentive staff, superb breakfast, the funicular from Lugano station takes you right to the hotel doot, , everrything within close reach on foot,
Will be returning

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao paulo
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I stayed at th hotel only for one night, but I checked in early in the morning and I could enjoy a bit. The hotel is very adorable, the staff is very nice, the breakfast was absolutely FANTASTIC! full of options and fresh food. the bathroom is nice, not small at all ( that is a great issue, in Europe lots of bathrooms are tiny).
I am definitely going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica_PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I stayed with my wife and 18 year old daughter for one night as we dropped her off for university. The staff were excellent with e-mail and telephone contact as soon as I made the booking to check on our preferences. The desk staff helped with an very good restaurant booking to suit my vegetarian wife. Breakfast buffet was excellent though one could get very fat in this hotel due to all the free snacks around.
Situated right in the middle of town a short walk from the lake.
The hotel is relatively expensive but this was in high season in a popular holiday resort. Car parking is clean and incredibly efficient but again was expensive. If I hadn't of had a GPS I would have had trouble finding the hotel. I will be coming to Lugarno again and would be interested in staying longer next time if my credit card can take the strain.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00JRB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Excellent location, seconds away from the funicular railway which brings you directly from the station in 1 minute! All the staff operate as a brilliant team to make your stay pleasurable. Location in the centre of town is great but despite this it is very quiet. Coffee/ tea & bits of food like croissants available all day/evening in the foyer. Very minor concern would be that it appears the air conditioning only goes down to 19C, so if it was humid/hot outside, that may be an issue. Otherwise, would recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 46 in Lugano
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 46 in Lugano
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 46 in Lugano
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing