We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great view”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have been familiar with Lugano as our daughter attended college there for four years. On the occasion of her graduation, we splurged and stayed at the Hotel de la Paix, which conveniently was also the venue for the ceremony and reception after. The room was spacious and clean. They have a very nice bar area with a friendly staff. The location is convenient to all Lugano has to offer....shopping, sightseeing, strolling around beautiful Lake Lugano and people watching! We did travel more than a year ago but have heard from others that it's still a top notch place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest available floorwith a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellanonna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Visited for one night in August. Front desk staff was nice. Room was older but well kept and the air con worked well. There is an outdoor pool. Location is in Paradiso, about a 15-20 min walk along the lakefront from the main square, but I would stay again for the right price. Breakfast was standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Small swimming pool was refreshing and not many people. Parking was free of charge. It was good.
An old man who works at reception was very unfriendly. I don't feel like going back to this hotel and will not recommend to my friends. Breakfast was nothing special.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lotosblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for reviewing Hotel De La Paix on Tripadvisor.
We already had a phone contact with you to personally check if you referred to a particular episode and talked about your comment.
We are very sorry about the perception you had and we hope we could have the chance to welcome you again, to show how is our standard service.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A friend of mine booked this hotel for us from booking.com and got flash deals for CHF150 per night including breakfast for 2. My friend got a better room with a balcony at the 5th floor. Our double room is spacious also but without balcony. The room is outdated not like we saw in the website (maybe they only renovated the suite rooms) but very clean and has a comfy bed, large flat TV. The bathroom has a bath-tub and nice bath amenities. The location is not very central though, around 10-15 minutes walk to the city center but there is a bus stop nearby for going to the train station or city center. And they have spacious parking area if you go there by car. Free wifi only in public area. The staffs are friendly yet helpful. When we checked out, I forgot to take some of our clothes in the wardrobe, then I emailed them and they responded quickly and mailed our stuffs the next morning to our home, without any charge! Credit to them. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask a room with balcony, has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanpradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for reviewing the Hotel de La Paix Lugano on TripAdvisor.
We are very glade you found a very special offer and that you enjoyed your stay!
Our rooms are divided in categories and in 2 different styles, modern and classic, in order to meet all our client’s preferences.
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you and your friend again very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Good business hotel that gets the basics right. Bed, breakfast are perfect. It's clean and the rooms are just above average in size. Decorations throughout the hotel are outdated. Although they serve a great espresso, the regular coffee is bad. But then again, what hotel gets it's coffee right? All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie_P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with a tour group. After bad experiences at previous hotels on the tour, this place was a godsend. Lovely modern room. Very small room / only enough space for 1 person to move around, however I assume this was a "single room", and it was perfectly OK for me. Good breakfast. Easy walk to the lake/promenade. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sawnbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are glade you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and the services as well as the breakfast.
We hope to welcome you very soon again in our Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip to Lugano. I can recommend it to anyone. Friendly and helpful staff, has a great restaurant on site for dinner and the service and food were both excellent. Breakfast was good and had a good choice. I had booked at another hotel in the city center they failed to get me booked for 2 nights, so I selected this hotel as an alternate. Glad I did, will definitely stay there in the future on business or pleasure.

I was surprised at how many corporate regulars they had that spoke English being from US, UK, Ireland, etc. Is a busy but friendly place with excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#15 of 45 in Lugano
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: viale Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £139 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Paix is located close to Lake Lugano and at a walking distance from the city center, 5 km from the Lugano-Agno airport, 1 km from the train station and offers exclusively to its guests a large private parking. Its multilingual staff will be delighted to welcome you with warmth and cordiality. Each of our 131 rooms and suites is furnished in an elegant style and equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, Minibar and Wireless Internet connection in order to meet the highest expectations both of our holiday and business guests. The garden-terrace with its heated swimming pool in the summer time and the portico are ideal places to spend relaxing moments and admire the magnificent amphitheatre formed by the surrounding mountains. There are two restaurants offering Italian and international cuisine. The NEPTUNE opens into the garden terrace and offers a refined and relaxing atmosphere. At the popular AL BARILOTTO, designed in the rustic and casual local style, you will enjoy our grill specialties and our pizzas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing