We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed for only one night and my overall impression is that is an ok hotel.
The location is very good, close to the center. The receptionist was pleasant and quick in checking in. The room was spacious, looking good and clean. The bathroom gave away the older look of the place.
The only minus i could say was the poor sound isolation, I could hear very well the street noise and I is think is kind of overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Adina M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked our great location. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel claims that it was newly renovated. While the room was "modern," the hotel itself is really out dated.

First, the positives. It is extremely well located, especially in regards to public transportation. It's a fast bus ride into the city center (even on Sundays!) and the main station. The room itself was clean, and pretty. The bed was soft, and there is not carpet on the floor (which is a plus in my book!). The staff was helpful, and even let us check in early.

The negatives: the outdoor pool wasn't open, even though the weather was extremely hot. The elevator is straight from the 60s, and doesn't work very well. The maids were a bit noisy in the hallway in the morning. And weirdly, the bathroom didn't have a vent. When showering, the damp kind of lingers.

Overall, the hotel was average. I can recommend it, but the hotel really needs to be renovated before I can say the price is worth the services offered.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamanthaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear SamanthaNichole,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the common areas of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Vincenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Intini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: l'ascenseur est bruyant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 277sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#14 of 45 in Lugano
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#17 of 45 in Lugano
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#13 of 45 in Lugano
370 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.7 mi away
International au Lac Historic Lakeside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: via Geretta 15 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lugano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £84 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Admiral Lugano welcomes you to Ticino!The hotel is located in the residential area of Lugano Paradiso, a few steps from the lake shore and the city centre. Its proximity to the highway exit Lugano South (only 200 m.), Agno Airport and the Exhibition ground is an unquestionable plus.Situated just behind the hotel, the funicular of San Salvatore climbs upward to the summit allowing wonderful views over the landscape. A typical train slogs up Monte Generoso which is an ideal starting point for excursions at altitude. Monte Lema is perfect for skiers and Monte Tamaro houses an Adventure Park for reckless sportsmen.The neighbourhoods offer plenty of chances for amusement, such as the three Casinos of Lugano, Campione d Italia and Mendrisio, attached to the shopping centre Fox Town housing several outlets with over 250 famed brands (Adidas, Armani, Dior, Gucci, Nike...). Shopping buffs can satisfy their cravings strolling around Via Nassa.Hotel Admiral has 96 standard and superior rooms, family rooms and handicap rooms provided with air conditioning, Pay TV and FREE WI-FI in all the building. Guests can make the most of a gym, an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool on the panoramic terrace, a sauna and a solarium, as well as the Nelson Restaurant and the Admiral Bar. A well-equipped meeting room can accommodate up to 20 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre Hotel Lugano
Lugano Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing